If You Like…

Juliet Marillier, whose books would you enjoy as well?  I was thinking about this on and off throughout the day, which probably shows how much I loved Ms Marillier’s “Daughter of the Forest”.

Sharon Shinn is the obvious pick, because romantic fantasy is the perfect description for the books both of them write.  However, I’m not entirely sure that this is accurate, because Ms Shinn writes more traditional fantasy, whereas Ms Marillier’s books tend to be based in the real world (err… please bear in mind I’ve only read “Daughter of the Forest” so far and have no idea what her other books are about).

So I’m more inclined towards suggesting Diana Gabaldon, because like Ms Marillier, her books are rooted in historical fact, and they have the same sweeping epic feel, with very strong characters and relationships.

Your thoughts?

4 thoughts on “If You Like…

  1. Sigh. I have had a hard time coming up with good recommendations for people who love Marillier. I’ve definitely had the most success with Shinn. Also some with Lynn Kurland’s fantasy books: STAR OF THE MORNING and THE MAGE’S DAUGHTER and Guy Gavriel Kay’s Fionavar books. I like BEGUILEMENT by Lois McMaster Bujold. But Marillier is really in a class of her own, IMO. If you can believe it, I’ve never read any Gabaldon.

  2. Hmm. I’ve only read the first of Sharon Shinn’s Twelve Houses books, and her Summers at Castle Auburn…and while they are romantic fantasy, its certainly more straightforward than Juliet Marillier. I’m kind of tempted to say Jaqueline Carey…but that’s not quite right either. Gabaldon is a good call though!

    Angie. Dude. Read Outlander. STAT. 😀 Given your reading tastes, I’m pretty sure you will fall in love with Clare and Jaime…and will be MIA while you catch up on the bajillion pages or so of the series :p

  3. Angie – I’ve never read Lynn Kurland or Guy Gavriel Kay, will have to check them out. And totally second Thea – you must read Diana Gabaldon. They all sort of run together into one (very) long story for me, I’ve to admit I don’t have a favourite. Though I do love her spin-off series Lord John.

    Thea – Yes, agree Shinn is more straightforward, though just as romantic as well. I love her Samaria series. I’ll have to go and stare at my bookshelves a bit more to see if I can come up any more similar authors.

Leave a Reply

