Splurge… and a Squee

I’ve been incredibly good lately – no major shopping sprees, despite the sale signs in practically every other shop and various discount vouchers making the rounds.  However, I caved in over the weekend and bought the following from BooksonBoard:

  • Jim Butcher’s “Princeps’ Fury” (fantasy): Fifth in his Codex Alera series.  Very different to his Dresden Files UF books, but equally enjoyable.
     
  • Jenna Black’s “The Devil’s Due” (urban fantasy): Third in her Morgan Kingsley series.  I liked the first, was a bit meh about the second, so this could determine whether I continue with the series or not.
     
  • Eloisa James’ “When the Duke Returns” (historical romance): Fourth in her Desperate Duchesses series.  This is the Squee.  See below.
     
  • Brent Weeks’ “The Way of Shadows” (fantasy): First in the Night Angels trilogy.  I’m totally blanking on who and where I saw the rec for this, but this was based on an online recommendation.
     
  • “The Magical Christmas Cat” (paranormal romance):  Anthology with Lora Leigh, Nalini Singh, Erin McCarthy, and Linda Winstead Jones.  This came out a while back in trade paperback, and the ebook version is now available.  I wish they were released simultaneously, but oh well.  And yeah, I obviously bought it for the Nalini Singh story.
     
  • Deborah Chester’s “The Pearls” (fantasy): First in a duology.  I have a few Deborah Chester books on my bookshelf, and was curious about her latest release.  And a duology instead of a long-running series?  Why not.
     
  • Lynne Graham’s “The Greek Tycoon’s Disobedient Wife” (series romance):  I’m ignoring the title on this one.  But Lynne Graham is my one autobuy M&B author.  Formulaic?  Oh yes.  Comfort read?  Totally.

And the squee?

I had to read Eloisa James’ “When the Duke Returns” immediately, because of Ana’s rave over it.  And… I totally loved it.  Loved.  I thought Isidore’s and Simeon’s courtship was wonderfully romantic and sexy, with some really humorous moments.  And the scenes with Jemma & Elijah and Elijah & Villier?  Perfect.  I can’t wait for Jemma and Elijah’s book “This Duchess of Mine” (out May 2009). 

If I had to be really picky, I would say I think Villiers is turning out to be ever-so-slightly too good to be true.  But hey, this is romance, and we’re going to get a HEA for him (“A Duke of Her Own”, July 2009), so I’m willing to ignore that little niggle.

Ana did a “I love this series” post at The Book Smugglers earlier this week that provides a great overview of this series, btw.

12 thoughts on “Splurge… and a Squee

  1. Hey, you read it! Just saw your comment back at my place.

    I love this book as well, (in fact it may be in my top 10) but I still prefer Jem and Harriet. Out of all of the heroes (not counting Villiers and Elijah, obviously) , Jem is my favourite.

    And I agree she has swon the seeds of Elijah’s redemption, but I want, I really want him to grovel, and a lot. and I believe Jemma is waiting for that too. I simply can’t wait, Li.

  2. Hi Li 😀

    So you’ve read Jim Butcher Codex Alera series? What do you think of it? I’m thinking of perhaps starting it, but I’m not too sure.

    LOL, I haven’t read Eloisa James yet, but you make me want to buy her newest, even if I have a couple of hers waiting in my TBR pile!!!

    I just read The Pearls by Deborah Chester. Did you read her before? I thought I’d be in for a romantic fantasy, but meh… didn’t enjoy it 😦 It’s bad because I just bought The Crown, the next book… hey, if you want it, let me know, it’s yours 😀

    Glad someone else’s been splurging on books besides me LOL 😛

  3. Ana – I obviously *had* to read it straightaway, after your tantalising Jemma/Elijah/Villiers comment! Okay, now the trouble is that I have such high expectations for the Jemma/Elijah book…

    Nath – I do like the Codex Alera series, def worth a try. And I’m a total EJ fangirl, especially this series. If you have “Desperate Duchesses” in your TBR pile, try starting with that. The Jemma/Elijah story arc starts right from the first book. Just saw you graded The Pearls a D at your blog, ouch. I will let you know what I think of it 🙂

  4. I was looking for book 1 of the Codex Alera series, but didn’t find it 😦 Then, I forgot to order it just now when I did my online order. UGH me 😦

    I’ll give it a try. I think I have 3 books out of 4 of the Desperate Duchesses series ^_^;

    and yes, didn’t really like The Pearls ^_^; and the Crown doesn’t seem to have more romance 😦

  5. Hmm, you might have changed my mind on the Eloisa James. I was going to try to get it from the library, but now I think I’ll have to buy it. I did like the first two in the series. 🙂

  6. Ana – LOL. May isn’t really that far away…

    Nath – I had to rescue your comment from the moderation queue. No idea why they keep on ending in there – I’ll have to see what I can do.

    If you had an ebook reader, you could be sitting down with “Furies of Calderon” right now 😉

    Jennie – It’s definitely my favourite in the series. Both romances – Simeon/Isidore and Jemma/Elijah – really worked for me, unlike previous books when I think there was a slight imbalance one way or other.

  7. I don’t know why my comments need moderation. never happened before 😦

    and LOL, tempting, but not tempting enough for me to get an e-reader. Also, I can’t imagine all the book binging I’d be doing ^_^;

  8. Pingback: Books for December « Me and my books

  9. Nath – Well, that comment made it through okay, so it looks as though the problem’s fixed 😉 You’re right, I think I’ve spent so much more on ebooks this year… it’s just so easy!

  10. Pingback: The Fourth Quarter of 2008 « Me and my books

  11. Pingback: Books for May « Me and my books

Leave a Reply

