Books for December

Okay, a bit late with this one, but here are the new releases I’m planning on getting this month:

51ZUCDyoG6L._SL160_ Jim Butcher’s “Princeps’ Fury” (fantasy):  Book 5 in his Codex Alera fantasy series.  Technically a November release, and one I bought in my BooksonBoard splurge last week.  I’m a couple of chapters in at the moment, and am hoping to finish it over this weekend.  It’s a completely different setting to his Dresden Files books, but just as enjoyable, if not more.  The last book finished with a couple of major events and revelations, so it’ll be interesting to find out what happens next.

Excerpt here (out now)

51 FXbZ9y2L._SL160_ Julie Hyzy’s “Hail to the Chef” (cosy mystery):  I loved the first book in this mystery series (“State of the Onion”) when I read it at the beginning of this year, and have been waiting impatiently for the second book to come out.  Olivia (Ollie) Paras is a White House chef, so you get food and mystery combined in this series, with a sprinkling of White House trivia.  Oh, and a dash of romance.  The perfect recipe.

No excerpts, but more series info here (out now)

 

518YU2V5HxL._SL160_ “Moving Targets and Other Tales of Valdemar” (fantasy): This is a collection of short stories set in Mercedes Lackey’s Valdemar world.  Contributors include Tanya Huff, Judith Tarr, Rosemary Edghill, and many others, plus there is an original short story by Ms Lackey herself.  I’m a sucker for all things Valdemar, so yes, I think I will probably get this.

No excerpts (out now)

 

 

51RDQ7KDGdL._SL160_ “Unusual Suspects” (mystery/fantasy):  I got this the other day, it’s a follow up to the “Powers of Detection” anthology that came out a couple of years ago, IIRC.  Contributors include Charlaine Harris (with a Sookie story) and Sharon Shinn (contemporary ghost story).  I’m about three-quarters through and have enjoyed most of the stories so far, only skipping one because the way the dialogue was written gave me a headache.  The Sookie story is much better than the one in the “Mistletoe and Wolfbane” story, btw – but then again, I thought the MaW one was a bit of a letdown.  I liked the Donna Andrews story, and oh, I’ve just looked her up and she writes straight cosy mysteries – I may have to check them out!

No excerpts (out now)

 

So it’s a quiet month for new releases, especially full-length novels.  A couple of other releases that I’m considering are “Fast Ships, Black Sails”, a pirate anthology with Sarah Monette and Naomi Novik amongst the contributors, and “The Vorkosigan Companion”, a reference book for Lois McMaster Bujold’s Vorkosigan series.

7 thoughts on “Books for December

  1. What a great list of books. I love mysteries, fantasies, romances or a mix of the two- for instance, Patrick Davis’ book, “The Silent Note,” a great mystery romance novel. I think I will try reading, “Unusual Suspects” next. Thank you for the great tip!

  2. I bought the first Julie Hyzy… will have to dig it out and re-read it 😀

    I got the first two Codex books 😀 Let see how I enjoy them 🙂

    oh and I like the snowflakes 😀 nice touch for the holidays 😀

  3. Becky – Thanks for the rec, I’ll have to look out for his book.

    Nath – The snowflakes come with WordPress 🙂 I definitely want to know how you find the Codex Alera books. I finished “Princeps’ Fury” last night, it was good! And I bought the Julie Hyzy yesterday, so it’s next on my TBR pile.

  4. When I read your comment on “Princeps’ Fury”, I was very curious. I mean I loved the Dresden File series and was wondering what Jim Butcher started new. And, I LOVE the series! I really enjoyed the first book, although I skipped over some of the details because I was sooo caught up with the plot that I didn’t need them. I just started the second book and can’t wait to see what will happen. So far, so good! I heard that the next book will be coming out late 2009. I hope I can read Priceps’ Fury by then!

  5. The new book, Murder Game by Christine Feehan in her Ghostwalker series comes out next Tuesday, December 30th. It is for a January 2009 release. However, a wal-mart in Canada already had it on its shelf. Since I was there for a business trip, I picked it up 1 week ago. I read it last week. It is an okay read. We start to learn more about the mysterious father of Lily’s. They start to paint him grey again, instead of pitch black. I don’t think I would have purchased it if it hadn’t been out before the authorized publication date. I find it to be more of a loaner.

Leave a Reply

