Holidays!

After a really hectic month or so, I am now officially on holiday until the New Year!  Even better, my Amazon order with Juliet Marillier’s “Son of the Shadows” finally arrived yesterday.  Perfect weekend reading.

I’ve been rubbish at blogging recently, but here are some not-so-recent reads that I’ve liked:

I enjoyed Jenna Black’s “The Devil’s Due” (third in her Morgan Kingsley UF series).  I had a couple of issues with the second book (mainly around a slightly unsympathetic protagonist and TSTL secondary characters), but this one totally worked for me.  Probably one of the few mainstream UF series out there with a secondary m/m romance with BDSM leanings as well – though feel free to prove me wrong  ;-)  I’m looking forward to the next.

Also really liked Julie Hyzy’s “Hail to the Chef” (second in her White House Chef cosy mystery series).  I would have liked a bit more romance (okay, a lot more – it was practically MIA here), but I love the way she incorporates White House traditions and protocol into her books.

Jim Butcher’s “Princeps’ Fury” (fifth in his Codex Alera fantasy series) was also an enjoyable read.  I was thinking about this series the other night, and came to the conclusion that it is “safe” fantasy – you know that the good guys always eventually win and no one you’ve invested in will be killed off.  Which means that you can read it late at night and know you’ll sleep soundly afterwards.  Does that sound silly?  Anyway, entertaining as always.

So plans for my first day of hols?*  Watching the Strictly Come Dancing final, followed by “Son of the Shadows”.  I’m probably growing old, but at the moment, that sounds like the perfect Saturday night.

 

*Yes, I know technically the first day is Monday, but still!

9 thoughts on “Holidays!

  1. Hi Li!!!

    How’s your holiday so far? You’re so lucky!! hopefully, this will mean you have more time to blog 🙂 haha!

    I can’t find the first book of the series by Juliet Marillier. I know it’s somewhere, ugh. However, i did read Furies of Calderon by Jim Butcher! It was good, but it’s not as funny as the Dresden Files series ;P

    It’s disappointing that the Julie Hyzy doesn’t have as much romance in it 😦

  2. I’ve been catching up on sleep mostly 🙂

    Glad you enjoyed Furies of Calderon. Although both series are good, the characters are quite different from each other, IMO, so I’m not thinking about Harry when reading about Tavi and vice versa.

  3. Angie – I completely loved the Sevenwaters trilogy (finished Child of the Prophecy as well). Can’t believe it has taken me this long to discover these books. And yes, Heir to Sevenwaters is on order now!

  4. I didn’t think of Harry either when reading the series… However, I don’t know… I feel like you said, the Codex Alera is a bit more safe and predictable series than the Dresden Files.

  5. “Predictable” is probably the word I was looking for – not in the sense you’ll figure out how Tavi and gang will get out of the situation, but predictable in that you know it will work out all right in the end.

  6. I’ve been reading “Son of Shadows” and am almost finished with it. I don’t know if I like it better than the first one. At first I did but now, mmm…. Well, I look forward to the third book anyway! Have a great New Year!

  7. Alisa – Happy New Year to you too!

    Having finished the Sevenwaters trilogy, I think I rank “Child of the Prophecy” first (because of the way all the loose ends are tied up, and also how she made me empathise with Fainne despite everything), followed by DotF and then SotS. I can’t wait to read “Heir to Sevenwaters” now.

  8. Pingback: Books for July « Me and my books

Leave a Reply

