Around the Web

Steampunk adventure-mystery anyone?  I came across this link to a free short story “The Shattered Teacup” (PDF) by George Mann via Tor.com (follow the link for a bit more background about the detective team of Newbury & Hobbes in steampunk London).  The author has been picked up by Tor in the States, and the first book “The Affinity Bridge” will be released in 2009 in US.

I liked the short story very much, and am definitely going to get “The Affinity Bridge” when I’m next in a bookstore.  Or online, if it’s not in store.

While we’re on the subject of Tor.com, can I just say how much I love it?  Not just because of the periodic free (e)book offers, but because they have some interesting posts by some excellent contributors (authors, editors, etc).  In particular, I’ve been enjoying posts by Jo Walton on SF/F hidden gems (see this one for Fantasy of Manners recs)and Jane Lindskold’s on all things author-ly, including thoughts on some of her book covers.

2 thoughts on “Around the Web

  1. I’ve also liked the Tor site, but haven’t visited in a few months. The steampunk adventure mystery sounds interesting. I’m going to check that out.

    I’ve been enjoying reading about your favorite books of 2008 and have made a list of books I want to read–some I already have and had forgotten about! Thanks!

  2. I’ve the Tor site on my feed reader – I do skim quite a few of their posts, but there are usually some interesting reads there.

    And it’s been fun revisiting 2008, thanks for reading along!

Leave a Reply

