Now Reading…

LM Montgomery’s short stories, except I will have to put them down soon-ish and go dig up a category romance for Keishon’s TBR Day challenge.  Ms Montgomery’s probably best-known for her Anne of Green Gables series, though I much preferred her Emily trilogy.  I do have to say that “Rilla of Ingleside” (the last of the Anne books) had enough romance and heartbreak to satisfy the romantic in me and I recall reading and re-reading the last chapter many times.

Anyway, I can’t remember what inspired me to go look for her short stories, but I’m glad I did.  They’re making me slightly nostalgic, because I read so many of her books when I was younger.  Revisiting her world, where girls named Nan and Theodosia are studying to be teachers or making up dresses for a social, and when letting a man walk you home from prayer meeting is an indication of serious interest, is a very refreshing break from the more recent paranormals or urban fantasy that I’ve been reading.

I’m amazed at how much “story” she can pack into a few pages, how she so quickly makes you care for her characters, whether they be whimsical or practical, on the brink of womanhood or approaching middle-age.  Some of them can get a bit same-y after a while (I suspect I’m not meant to read around fifty-plus at one go), and there are some misses amongst the many hits, but most of them are fantastic feel-good stories and a lovely peek into a bygone era.

4 thoughts on “Now Reading…

  1. I remember reading “Rilla of Ingleside” over and over, too! Sadly, all I can remember now is a baby and her love being away at war… I do love L.M. Montgomery’s writing though.

  2. Rachel – Ah, now I’m wondering if I should re-read Rilla. It packs a bit of a emotional punch because of the WWI setting, much more so than her other books, IMO.

  3. Pingback: Not Exactly a Reading Slump « Me and my books

  4. Pingback: 2009: Recap of My Reading Year Part I « Me and My Books

Leave a Reply

