Books for April

I’m so late with this post that I’ve already read quite a few of the April releases!  However, better late than never…

51bvHykvU2L._SL160_ So first up was Karen Chance’s “Curse the Dawn” (urban fantasy), fourth in her Cassandra Palmer series.  Excerpt here

41LrhzCUb9L._SL160_ I’m a big fan of this series, and this installment didn’t disappoint.  Cassie’s trying to figure out how to be Pythia with zero training, and she’s got to learn fast.  Very fast.  I’ve gotten used to Ms Chance’s writing style of non-stop action, where you pretty much hit the ground running from the first page onwards, and this story was no exception.  I think fans of the mage Pritkin will be pleased with this one as there is much Pritkin.  I’m on Team Mircea myself, and I like the way things are developing.  I admit if I were extremely picky, I wish Ms Chance would slow down at times and let me catch my breath.  Still, I really enjoyed this and it was a B+ for me.  I’m very much looking forward to her Fall release “Death’s Mistress”, the second in the Dorina Basarab series.

 

51Vk0dfT6IL._SL160_ The next book I read was Sarah Monette’s “Corambis” (dark fantasy), the fourth and final book in her Doctrine of Labyrinths series.  Podcasts of the first two chapters here.

“Corambis” is an incredibly satisfying finale to a rather complex and dark series.  In a way, I think this is the most accessible book in the series – it’s probably the most focused of all four and possibly the most conventional?  I’m not sure, will have to think about that a bit more.  Also, not hugely relevant, but I am constantly impressed by how Ms Monette writes different POVs so effortlessly.  In “Corambis”, we get Felix and Mildmay’s POVs, as well as a new character’s, and each is just right for the character.  This was an A- read for me.

 

51kP1Vk4PoL._SL160_ And last night, I finished Jim Butcher’s “Turn Coat” (urban fantasy), the eleventh in his Dresden Files series.  Excerpts here.

I pretty much glommed the entire series late last year, and really couldn’t wait for this one.  I’ve said it before, but what makes this series for me is the fact that there is no sense of either characters or plot stagnating, and that’s saying quite a bit for a series with eleven books in it.  I guessed the traitor quite a bit in advance, but not the how.  “Turn Coat” advances the overall series plot by quite a bit, and I can’t believe we’ve to wait another year for the next Dresden book.  A strong B+.

 

And then the other April releases I haven’t yet read but definitely plan on getting:

Tamora Pierce’s “Bloodhound” (YA fantasy): Second in her Beka Cooper series.  I love Tamora Pierce, and “Terrier”, the first book, came out way back in 2006.  It’s been too long.  Out April 14.

Jo Beverley’s “The Secret Wedding” (historical romance):  Part of her long-running (and loosely-connected) Malloren series.  I read a lot less historical romance nowadays, but Ms Beverley is on my autobuy list.  Excerpt here, out now.

Ann Aguirre’s “Blue Diablo” (urban fantasy):  First in a new series and with a cover blurb from Patricia Briggs.  And of course, glowing reviews all over the web.  Excerpt here, out now.

Kelley Armstrong’s “The Awakening” (YA urban fantasy):  Second in the Chloe Saunders trilogy.  The first book “The Summoning” ended on a cliffhanger and I hate, hate that.  I’ll forgive Ms Armstrong for a lot of things, however.  Excerpt here, out April 28.

51GEHs2RO-L._SL160_

513bdkdz2pl_sl16051-GgSvTwuL._SL160_51BWNTt3D6L._SL160_

5 thoughts on “Books for April

  1. Ohhhh, nice reading so far!!

    I have books 1 and 2 of the Doctrine of Labyrinths series… am planning to read them one day, LOL 🙂 but I’m glad to see you’ve enjoyed them 😉

    I’m still waiting for my copy of Turn Coat, I hope I get it tomorrow!! However, I’ve been able to skim through my friend’s copy. Very good indeed and the plot does advance! I’m excited 😀 Apparently though, the author plans the series to be 20-ish books long. Hmmm, I think he should start writing faster! 🙂

    Oh, and I’m definitively looking forward to the kelley Armstrong 🙂 By the way, you don’t plan to get the new Maria V. Snyder?

    Oh and I just finished White Star by Elizabeth Vaughan. I think it’s better than Dagger Star, but still not a wowzer. At this point, I can’t wait her to finish this trilogy and start something new ^_^;

    • Nath – I’ve had a really good run recently. I also just finished Ilona Andrews’ “Magic Strikes”, which I loved as well – so four good books in a row!

      20-odd books? Hmmm… lots of story then.

      I haven’t really connected with Maria Snyder’s books. Hard to explain, but I don’t *feel* the characters nor their relationships. I’m not there in the story, it’s more like I’m seeing their actions through a glass pane. I stopped after “Magic Study”.

      And yeah, I was waiting for the reviews for “White Star” before getting it – “Dagger Star” didn’t really work for me as you probably know!

  2. Ohhh, I read the Kate Daniels books over the week-end, all three of them 🙂 The two first books were so-so, but Magic Strikes was great! 🙂 and yeah, I think you’ll find White Star so so as well 😦

  3. Curran is a great character… and I’m getting fonder of Kate by the books. i’m definitively giving book #4 a go… hoping that the series improves with each book 🙂

Leave a Reply

