I Have Just Ordered…

51veKT4RdvL._SL160_ 51wsbUOfImL._SL160_ Eva Ibbotson’s “Magic Flutes”, which is being re-released on 1 May.  I couldn’t quite decide between the UK (left) and US (right) cover, but finally went for the UK one since I have the UK edition of “The Secret Countess”  as well.

And as for the different titles – I’ve been perusing the back cover blurbs online, and I can guess why “The Reluctant Heiress” is fitting, but “Magic Flutes”?  Is it an allusion to the opera?

I’m excited about this one – and hoping that it will get me out of my slight reading (and blogging) slump. 

Oh, and for the curious, here is the blurb:

Spring, 1922 Tessa is a beautiful, tiny, dark-eyed princess – who’s given up her duties to follow her heart, working for nothing backstage at the Viennese opera.  No one there knows who she really is, or that a fairytale castle is missing its princess, and Tessa is determined to keep it that way.  But secret lives can be complicated.  When a wealthy, handsome Englishman discovers this bewitching urchin backstage, Tessa’s two lives collide – and in escaping her inheritance, she finds her destiny…

9780330444989 And staying sort of on-topic:

I adore the the covers that UK Picador have created for the Ibbotson books, and aha – I knew I had posted about them previously

I’ve spotted a new “A Song for Summer” cover (left), which is much prettier and more striking than the one in my original post.  It really stands out on the shelves (and I’ve been thrilled to see copies faced out in the Recommended Reads shelves recently).

16 thoughts on “I Have Just Ordered…

  1. Hmm, I would have gone with the US cover. The flower, the hair… it just makes it prettier 🙂 but then, if you have the UK cover of another book, then you made the right decision 🙂

    I still haven’t read her ^_^;

    • I do have the US version of “A Company of Swans”, because the UK edition wasn’t released yet, and I regret it because I like the UK cover better 🙂 Ah, both are equally pretty, IMO.

      And her books are proper feel-good books! Try the library for some, mine has a couple of Ibbotsons in the teen section.

  2. The story is set around the opera company performing “Magic Flutes” which is why the book was originally called that. I prefer that title, but I admit it’s probably because I knew the book that way first (I feel the same way about renaming “A Countess Below Stairs” as “The Secret Countess”). I have an old 80s paperback with a tacky cover (http://www.flickr.com/photos/rocalisa/sets/72157603918868853/) which makes these new reprints very tempting, but so far I’m trying to be strong. 🙂

    It’s so nice to see a whole new group of people able to enjoy these lovely books due to the reprints.

    • Kerry – Heh. Thanks for satisfying my curiosity. And I love old covers – they’re collector’s editions!

      In a way, I’m glad this is the first time I’m reading the Ibbotsons… because I get the pretty covers. Ah, I’m sad.

  3. Ooh, I like that cover of A SONG FOR SUMMER. I have them all in the US reissues and can’t wait to get THE RELUCTANT HEIRESS. She’s always such a lovely read.

    • The “A Song for Summer” cover is really bright and eye-catching, isn’t it? An Ibbotson is always one of my failsafe choices whenever I’m asked for a sweet romance rec.

  4. YAYYY!!! I didn’t know they were re-releasing this!! Yippee!! I am ordering it today. 🙂 It’s the only “adult” Ibbotson I haven’t read yet. I couldn’t find any used copies. I’m so excited. 🙂

  5. I love Eva Ibbotson. She is a brilliant writer, and i love her characters! I just ordered this book online today and actually screamed when i saw it was out. I am SO excited to get it!! Ps your blog is awesome! i love it!

Leave a Reply

