Mary Stewart Revisited

319W34BS01L._SL160_You may recall I went on a Mary Stewart mini-glom last year.  After reading around hmmm… eight Stewarts in two months, I took a bit of a break.

Angie just posted a lovely essay about how she discovered Mary Stewart.  This inspired me to dig up “Stormy Petrel” from the depths of my TBR pile and I am completely enthralled.  Ahhh… I may have to track down the Stewarts I have not managed to obtain yet.

Angie is also giving away a copy of “Madam, Will You Talk?” to one lucky commenter (giveaway closes midnight May 6) – even if you already have a copy, there are some wonderful comments in the post that are totally worth reading.

7 thoughts on “Mary Stewart Revisited

  1. Thanks for linking, Li! And I’m glad you were inspired to do a Stewart re-read. It’s been awhile since I’ve read STORMY PETREL. Which ones do you have yet to find?

  2. Angie – You’re welcome 🙂 I’m loving the stories shared in the comments! I don’t have “Touch Not the Cat” (and this seems to be highly rec’d) and “The Wind Off the Small Isles”. Also, I haven’t read any of her Merlin books, I’m not a big fan of Arthurian retellings so I haven’t really been tempted…

    Jennie – I reluctantly shut the book after the chapter where the storm brings in two mysterious men seeking shelter. I never knew I had such willpower 😉

  3. I used to gobble Mary Stewart’s books up like crazy, but I seem to have missed this one. I haven’t read one of her books in almost 20 years. I should remedy that!
    Thanks for the review, Li! 🙂

  4. “Stormy Petrel” is one of the slimmer Mary Stewarts, but I am still slowly making my way through it – it’s the “I actually have to go to work” thing.

  5. I love her romantic suspense novels. “The Moon Spinners,” “My Brother Michael,” “Airs Above the Ground,” “Madam, Will You Talk?”, “Nine Coaches Waiting,” and so on. I’ve enjoyed her Arthurian series, too. She’s a great example for writers who want to master suspense to study!

Leave a Reply

