Help – I’m in a Reading Slump*

The last book I finished was Janet Evanovich’s “Plum Lucky”, which at 166 pages barely counts as a book (and yes, I borrowed it from the library – I’ve finally kicked the habit of buying her Between-the-Numbers books).

I have a number of unfinished and half-started books lying around, “a number” being very possibly into double-digits.  I’m just struggling to get into a book – partly due to the tennis (yay for Wimbledon!), but still, I don’t think I’ve read more than five books this month, which is pretty abysmal.

So… I need suggestions – what was the last book that made you go “wow”?  Any genre.

* Also a blogging slump, but that’s probably a topic for another post.

15 thoughts on “Help – I’m in a Reading Slump*

  1. The last book that made me go really wow? The King of Attolia! You gotta read it, Li 🙂 If not, why don’t you read an old favorite? That might get you out of the slump…

    Maybe you can get rid of the blogging blahs by actually blogging about it 😀

    Yay for Wimbledon indeed! 🙂 Murray vs Federer in a finale would be cool. I hope Hewitt gets far! 🙂 All I wish though is that it’s not a Williams sisters finale! Please!!!

  2. The life of Pi – by yann martel. it is a fun fiction, lots of philosophy….funny and insightful- both at the same time.

  3. THE FOREST OF HANDS & TEETH by Carrie Ryan. I also just finished SANTA OLIVIA by Jacqueline Carey and thought it was very good. Hope your slump ends soon!

  4. Magic Strikes by Ilona Andrews. 😉

    I know, I know — not helpful in the least. But you did ask what was the last book that made me go “wow”.

    Hmmm.

    Karma Girl by Jennifer Estep was a fun read (dealt with superheroes)

    The book I’m currently reading (and should finish this weekend), Lie to Me by Starr Ambrose is pretty good, too

  5. If you want fantasy, read Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman! (or have you read it yet? Checking… nope!) That story is what hooked me onto him in the first place. It’s a curious, strange story in the Neil Gaiman story-teller style. Not to mention its so quotable. It’s dangerous to have. I read it as I was commuting to work and school, and it just whisked me away and had me chuckling out loud. Normally I can keep it in, but I couldn’t and therefore received unreadable stares from other commuters. Read it and let me know what you think!

  6. the women by t. c. boyle
    the no. 1 ladies detective agency series
    the didius falco series by lindsey davis

    sarah dunant’s red tent and other books
    any of the tracy chevalier books (the gal who wrote girl with a pearl earring)

    like you, i am a reader and i will be checking your site in order to inspire myself.

    thanks!

  7. Wow, thanks all for the recs! I’ve quite a few suggestions to try now.

    Nath – “The Thief” is one of those half-started books, I should probably get back to it, huh?

    And I suspect I will be paying more attention to the BBC live text commentary than work Monday afternoon.

    Geetanjali Jha – I remember hearing a lot about “The Life of Pi” back when it won the Man Booker prize, I’ll have a look for it the next time I go to the library.

    Marg – I just read your review and you make “The Winter Sea” sound fantastic. I’ve never read any of Susanna Kearsley’s books before, will look out for them!

    KarenW – I’ve been planning on buying “Santa Olivia” but haven’t yet seen it out in stores.

    Misscz – LOL, now the next Kate Daniels book would definitely pull me out of my slump. I’ve never heard of Starr Ambrose before, I’ve just checked out the excerpt on her website and it’s pretty good!

    Angie – Okay, okay. You and Nath have convinced me – back to Thief! 😀

    Sharry – Oooh, “Neverwhere” is probably on my TBR shelf. Ermmm… buried at the back, I suspect.

    Peggy – Apart from the No.1 Ladies Detective Agency, I’ve never read the other authors you mentioned, thanks!

    Kailana – I’ve just looked it up and it sounds interesting. I’m really fascinated by Japan, so I will have to check it out as well.

  8. It’s non-fiction but I’ve been loving Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver.

    (new profile picture, same Lisa from Books Lists Life)

  9. I recommend Mara, Daughter of the Nile by Eloise Jarvis McGraw. It’s one of my favorite books of all time (ever since I was in the sixth grade) and I reread it at least once a year. Romance, adventure, ancient Egypt…it’s perfection and bound to get anyone out of a reading slump!

    Of course, there’s always Naamah’s Kiss too 😉

  10. Lisa – Love the new pic! And I’ve been into growing my own herbs lately, so that does sound like a good read.

    Thea – You know what? I actually bought Mara ages ago based on your rec, but never got around to reading it. Another of those books languishing on my TBR shelves. Okay, Thief first, then Mara.

    And I can’t find “Naamah’s Kiss” in stores, I’m so tempted to order online!

  11. ‘The Gargoyle’ by Andrew Davidson is fantastic, as are the first two books in the Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs (‘Moon Called’ & ‘Blood Bound’).

  12. Sarah – I adore Patricia Briggs. I have all her books and the second Anna & Charles books comes out quite soon, IIRC. But I’ve not heard of “The Gargoyle” before, thanks for the rec!

Leave a Reply

