Ebook Reader Envy – and a Tiny Haul

I was killing time in Waterstones today, and started playing around with the Sony Reader Touch they had on display.

Bad, bad move.  I now really want.

I had convinced myself that I was perfectly fine with my PRS-505 but oh, the touchscreen.  It was beautifully responsive, and I found navigation completely intuitive (although bear in mind I’ve been using a Sony Reader for almost two years now).

My main concern was the display quality because I’d heard that the trade-off for the touchscreen was a decrease in e-ink clarity (as the touchscreen adds a layer above the e-ink display).  But there was a Sony Reader Pocket right next to the Touch, and comparing the two screens, yes, it is probably just that wee bit less sharp, but really, not a massive issue if you’re reading in a well-lit room. 

£230.  Maybe at Christmas.

 

41K28wvJBOL._SL160_ Oh, and I did leave with some paper books.  There was a 3-for-2 offer, so I spent a very enjoyable half an hour choosing my books, ending up with “Fire” by Kristin Cashore, a Susanna Kearsley (I think it’s “The Shadowy Horses”, as it was on the New Releases table) and George Mann’s “The Osiris Ritual”.

51LHNPGyZCL._SL160_ The latter two are new to me – I picked up the Kearsley because so many people have rec’d her books and her recent interview at Word Wenches intrigued me. 

61zPMJrnxpL._SL160_ And I’ve been meaning to get a Mann book ever since I read his short story “The Shattered Teacup” (link via tor.com) on his publisher Snowbook’s website.  Steampunk’s the in thing, isn’t it?  It is unfortunately the second book (the first is “The Affinity Bridge”, which wasn’t included in the offer), but I’m thinking (and hoping) it works as a standalone.

9 thoughts on “Ebook Reader Envy – and a Tiny Haul

  1. Oh, noooooo! The only reason I haven’t been wanting one of the new readers is because of what I’d heard about the screen clarity. Now you’ve killed that excuse 🙂

    I love, love, love The Shadowy Horses. It’s my favourite Kearsley ever, and considering how absolutely amazing her other books are, that’s saying a lot.

  2. I am sure if I got close enough to an ebook reader I would NEED one right that second too!

    I have really enjoyed the Kearsley books I have read so far. The Shadowy Horses isn’t one of the ones I have read. My favourite so far is Sophia’s Secret/A Winter Sea.

  3. Angie – Oh, decisions! Fire or the new Juliet Marillier? Exactly the kind of dilemmas I love.

    Rosario – If you’re near a Waterstones, go in and play with one. I swear, I fell in love with that touchscreen. Maybe it’s just me, but I also thought the screen refresh rate was a tad bit faster than my PRS-505 (the older model).

    And wow, I’m really excited about The Shadowy Horses now. I read the first few pages in the bookstore, and really liked the British tone.

    Marg – LOL, you would! I had to force myself to back away. And yes, I was definitely thinking of you and Rosario (and Jennie) when I saw the Kearsley.

  4. LOL, I love when bookstores have promotions 😀 My wallet, no so much ^_^;

    Did you read Graceling? Fire is it’s pre or sequel right? I heard a lot of about the Kearsley and I think I have one or two, but still haven’t read them… One day 😀

    Ps – are you done with Frostbitten?

  5. Nath – Umm give me a few more days! Have been distracted…

    Fire is a prequel, IIRC. I was trying to hold out until it was released in mmp, but I caved when I saw the 3-for-2 offer.

  6. Hi Li!
    I’ve been really curious about the Sony Touch. That’s cool that you got a chance to “test drive” it.
    I’m looking forward to seeing your impressions of the Geo Mann, and if it works as a standalone. I also checked out The Shattered Teacup, though I listened to the audio version, which was pretty good!
    Speaking of steampunk, have you read Soulless by Gail Carriger yet? I just finished it a few days ago and loved it! It is steampunk with paranormal (vamp/were) characters.

  7. Renee – The Sony Touch was so good 😀 I think the display models are really useful as you get to play with them as much as you like!

    And I have been really curious about Soulless. I read the review at The Book Smugglers that referenced the Amelia Peabody series, which I totally adore, so I think I will have to read it to make up my mind. Thanks for the reminder!

  8. Pingback: I’m Still Here, Really… « Me and My Books

Leave a Reply

