More Books for the TBR Pile

The upside of having unreliable post is that you forget what you’ve ordered and then when it does arrive, it’s like an early Christmas present. 

51921cI86bL._SL160_ Which was what happened with my not-so-recent purchase of Ellen Emerson White’s “White House Autumn” and “Long Live the Queen”.  I ordered them after I finished “The President’s Daughter” (thank you Angie for the rec!), which I read back in October.  And like all of Angie’s recs, it was a good one! 

41cTc9KizIL._SL160_ I don’t think I’ve mentioned this book on the blog, but I did like many elements of the story, not least the peek into life on the campaign trail and in the White House.  Obama’s presidential campaign this time last year caught my imagination, and I admit that certainly contributed towards my fascination with this book.  I have to say that EEW came across as knowing her stuff very well; while I don’t claim to be an expert on politics, the endless press coverage of the US elections meant that we all pretty much became armchair pundits and all the tidbits of political info rang true to me. 

411i9cGvZoL._SL160_One of the things that did throw me though, was that I opened the book knowing it was written back in the 80s, and then suddenly there was talk of the internet.  I figured out pretty quickly that the book had been rewritten to make it less dated, but this actually disappointed me slightly because one of the things I love about reading older “contemporary” books is absorbing the accepted norms and behaviours of those times.  I would love to know what changes EEW made, and would do a re-read if I could get my hands on the original version.

I am all excited about diving back into Meg’s world and finding out how she grows up in the public spotlight – another two books go on my reading list for the Christmas holidays!

6 thoughts on “More Books for the TBR Pile

  1. Hmmm, I don’t think any of these books are for me, but I’m glad you were happy to receive them!!

    LOL, for me, unreliable post would be a downside. First, I’d always be online checking the status of my order. Plus, I’d probably break down and just go buy the books in-store 🙂

  2. I was happy to get them 😀 They are incredibly addictive reading, the sort that makes you think “Just one more chapter…”.

    These books aren’t stocked in my local bookstores, so I couldn’t “accidentally” buy them (which I have done with other delayed orders, just because my memory’s like a sieve and I forgot I ordered them!).

  3. Woo-hoo! I’m so glad you’re reading these, Li. And I’m sorry I didn’t make it clear about the updated re-issues. She spent quite a long time updating them as the old ones were, as you mentioned, pre-internet and filled with fun, but probably obtuse to today’s YAs, references to things like Tab, 21 Jump Street, etc. I have the originals but I know they can be hard to find.

    Can’t wait to hear what you think of these two. And the fourth one–LONG MAY SHE REIGN. 🙂

  4. Angie – I have whizzed through them, so much for saving them for the Christmas holidays! The third really took me by surprise, I was expecting something much more like the first two story-wise. The narrative of the first two was really around an ordinary girl thrust into an extraordinary situation, but the third one was so different. I’m glad there’s now a fourth (and am definitely going to get that) but it’s interesting that there’s been such a gap between the third and fourth as well. I wonder why she revisited the series?

    And 21 Jump Street?! I want. Have you read the re-issued versions? If so, what did you think of the changes?

  5. Pingback: 2009: Recap of My Reading Year Part II « Me and My Books

  6. Pingback: Still Here, Really | Me and My Books

Leave a Reply

