Books for December

A post slightly on the late side, but that’s probably because there aren’t that many December releases on my To Get list.  Umm… three if you want to be exact.  And I’ve read one of them already.

51tQt3vs5tL._SL160_ First up is Jim Butcher’s “First Lord’s Fury” (fantasy), the sixth and final in his book in his Codex Alera series (and the one that I’ve finished reading). 

Previous books in this series have delivered consistent entertainment, and “First Lord’s Fury” was no exception.  Tavi’s all grown-up now and returning to his homeland to defend his people from the evil Vord.  There was full-on action from the word go, with battle scenes galore, and trust me, Mr Butcher excels in this.  Yes, it’s predictable in the “good guys are going to win” sort of way (which is not necessarily a bad thing, I like happy endings), and like his Dresden Files series, it’s a lot more plot-driven than character-focused.   However, I thought it was a fitting conclusion to a pretty good fantasy series and I spent a few hours happily absorbed in this book.

Excerpt here (out now)

 

515Wv6GPzKL._SL160_ Next is Mercedes Lackey’s latest Valdemar anthology, “Changing the World” (fantasy). 

What can I say?  I’m a sucker for Valdemar stories.  I was such a massive Lackey fangirl in my teens (I mean, speaking white horses, wow) and it’s a habit I can’t shake.  Yes, last year’s “Foundation” wasn’t vintage Lackey, but I am so going to get this anyway.  Apart from Ms Lackey herself, contributors include Tanya Huff, Judith Tarr, and Mickey Zucker Reichert, from what I can gather.

No excerpts available (out now)

 

the_dark_tide And last, but certainly not least, Josh Lanyon’s “The Dark Tide” (m/m mystery), the final book in his Adrien English series.  I stumbled across these books last year, and Mr Lanyon immediately jumped onto my auto-buy list.  I adore his writing, and the characters – ah, the angst.  I don’t even care about the main mystery plot in this one, I just want Adrien and Jake to get their happy-ever-after.

The blurb:

Like recovering from heart surgery beneath the gaze of his over-protective family isn’t exasperating enough, someone keeps trying to break into Adrien English’s bookstore. What is this determined midnight intruder searching for?

When a half-century old skeleton tumbles out of the wall in the midst of Cloak and Dagger Bookstore’s renovation, Adrien turns to hot and handsome ex-lover Jake Riordan — now out-of-the closet and working as a private detective.

Jake is only too happy to have reason to stay in close contact with Adrien, but there are more surprises in Adrien’s past than either one of them expects — and one of them may prove hazardous to Jake’s own heart.

And you know, just in time for Christmas.  Perfect.

Excerpt here (out Dec 22)

4 thoughts on “Books for December

  1. Hey Li 🙂 Can you tell me if Tavi ends up with Kitara? LOL

    I have the first 4 books in my TBR pile and I’ve skimmed through one or two… I’m glad to know that this series is over (that it won’t be going on forever)… maybe now, Jim Butcher will have time to write 2 Harry Dresden a year? 🙂

    I so need to read Josh Lanyon, seriously.

  2. Nath – Yes 😀

    Two Dresden books a year? One can only dream! I would be all for him starting a new series though. I have to say, there are times when Tavi becomes very Harry-like.

    And yes, you have to give Josh Lanyon a go!

  3. I read somewhere that the Dresden Files series was going to be like 20-something books. We’ve only reached #11!!! 10 more books = 10 years. Seriously, no. So I’d be very happy if he could write two a year 😛

Leave a Reply

