A Realisation and Some Blog Housekeeping

I have been updating my woefully-neglected list of books read this year and realised that I’ve only just hit the 100 books mark.  This time last year, I was forty books ahead. 

Oh well.  I’m not massively surprised.  I certainly felt that I hadn’t been reading as many books this year than I have had in previous years.  Partly because I have been rather busy (also reflected in my blogging activity), but also because I have been reading more short stories and novellas (which I don’t usually count – not consistently though) or magazines, as opposed to full-length books.

It was a bit of a massive update because I hadn’t added books to my master list since September.  Instead, I’d been adding notes to a Google Docs document (in lieu of an actual notepad), which actually worked quite well in terms of reminding me of my reads.

How do you keep track of books you read?  Or rather, do you track them in the first place?

5 thoughts on “A Realisation and Some Blog Housekeeping

  1. I keep track of all the books I own on LibraryThing. I write brief thoughts about each one to help me remember the books I read on a thread in the 75 Book Challenge group (though I read many more than 75 books a year).

    This is a relatively new thing for me. I have only been keeping track of how much I read for the last couple of years. We started a club at my HS Media Center two years ago that encourages HS kids to read 2000 pages during the school year. So I decided to see how much I read. (I am at 16000 pages and 51 books so far this school year.)

    This system is working well for me.

  2. Well this year, I’ve been keeping track of my books read in a Google doc. I’ve tried Shelfari and notebooks earlier, but it’s hard when you fall behind ^_^;

    I’m going to be about 30 books behind this year too. I don’t know, just have not been reading as much 😦 Sucks.

  3. Kathy – Oh, I hadn’t really considered LibraryThing or the other one (GoodReads?). I may have to look into that. And hmmm… I’ve never tracked page count before. That’s an interesting one.

    Nath – I’m with you on the catching up once you fall behind. So much easier to stick random jottings into a document.

    I’ve decided to focus on the fact that on average I’ve read one book every four days this year, which is a pretty good achievement 🙂

  4. Kailana – 364 books?!! I am massively impressed. I also would love to have a blog layout with two sidebars, but none of the free WordPress ones appeal to me (and yes, I’m cheap!).

Leave a Reply

