2009: Recap of My Reading Year Part I

This time last year, I posted an epic series of posts about my reading year (okay, five – that counts as epic for me).  This time around, not that many, I swear.

Looking back at the first half of 2009:

 

January

31JSQpzMt2L._SL160_ I started the year off with a bang, falling in love with Juliet Marillier’s “Heir to Sevenwaters” (warning: very spoiler-y post) and officially becoming a Marillier fangirl.  I then somehow started on LM Montgomery’s short stories and really, couldn’t stop – I pretty much spent the latter half of January immersed in LM Montgomery’s turn-of-the-century Prince Edward Island.

Eleven books read in total, counting the six LM Montgomery short story collections – I did say I was addicted, didn’t I?

 

February

4114F4Y9TuL._SL160_ Standout book of the month was Patricia Briggs’ “Bone Crossed” (urban fantasy) – did you even have to ask?  She has a gift for storytelling and I can’t get enough of her Mercy Thompson books.

And it was obviously quality, not quantity, that counted in February, because while I only read five books (seriously, what was I doing?), I also read and loved Lois McMaster Bujold’s “Horizon” (fantasy), which was a note-perfect ending to her Sharing Knife series, and Josh Lanyon & Laura Baumbach’s “Mexican Heat” (romantic suspense m/m), which I thought delivered both romance and suspense in spades.

 

March

51kxH6Hh-AL._SL160_ Not a massively exciting month reading-wise, with seven books read over the course of the month.  I mostly read the latest books in various ongoing series, including Deanna Raybourn’s “Silent in the Moor” (historical mystery, with a wonderfully Gothic atmosphere) and Kelley Armstrong’s “Made to be Broken” (romantic suspense, and a solid read, as per my expectations).

But swept away in a wave of nostalgia after reading LM Montgomery back in January, I started re-reading Elinor M Brent-Dyer’s Chalet School books, and gosh, this brought back so many memories – I adored them as a kid and wanted to go to boarding school so badly.  I loved doing these re-reads, and even invested in some new-to-me Chalet School books – and ouch, these are expensive nowadays.

 

April

Now April was an excellent month for reading. 

51IdzKI1TYL._SL160_Ilona Andrews’ “Magic Strikes” (urban fantasy) wowed me – from a rather so-so first book, the Kate Daniels series has grown into one of the best UF series out there, IMO.  I also loved Sarah Monette’s “Corambis” (fantasy), an incredibly satisfying finale to her Doctrine of Labyrinths series.

51Vk0dfT6IL._SL160_And then there was Karen Chance’s “Curse the Dawn” and Jim Butcher’s “Turn Coat”, both immensely enjoyable installments in the Cassie Palmer and Dresden Files urban fantasy series respectively. 

I read nine books this month, very much dominated by the fantasy genre, but also including two Agatha Christie mystery short story collections, which had a nice mixture of new-to-me stories and old favourites.

 

May

Ah, May.  I read seven books in total, but there were two standouts for me. 

tagfinalcoverDiana Peterfreund’s “Tap & Gown” brought her Secret Society Girl series to a close, and did so in the most perfect manner possible. 

51veKT4RdvL._SL160_And I finally got my hands on Eva Ibbotson’s “Magic Flutes”, thanks to Young Picador re-releasing her backlist in the UK.  Her historical romances are pure joy to read – some of her turns of phrase are almost magical, and I am in love with her ever-so-slightly exotic continental European settings.   And of course, the enchanting characters.

 

 

June

somebody_killed Well.  I did a minor Josh Lanyon glom, reading three of his novellas (“Lovers and Other Strangers”, “Someone Killed His Editor”, and “Don’t Look Back”) in quick succession, all which had his trademark wry humour and wonderful characterisation.

And read two more books, neither of which I fell in love with, and then I sort of went into a reading slump.

 

 

So that was the first half of my reading year: 44 books read in total, with some excellent ones in there, but ending on a bit of a downer.  However, things improved substantially in the next month…

To be continued…

9 thoughts on “2009: Recap of My Reading Year Part I

  1. Seriously great post, Li 😀 I love your recaps 😀

    I agree with you about Magic Strikes… the beginning of the series was only so-so… but Magic Strikes was great! Now, I can’t wait till Magic Bleeds. Sigh. Bone Crossed was another good one… and some events in Turn Coat really surprised me 😀

    April is usually a good month releases-wise in my opinion 🙂

    Can’t wait to read part II 😀

  2. Thanks Nath!

    I’m looking forward to Jim Butcher’s “Changes”, as I’m guessing it’s going to be a pivotal book in the series. And as for “Magic Bleeds”, I’ve heard that there’s a step change in the Kate & Curran relationship, no idea which way it’s going though!

  3. Did you read the synopsis for Changes?!?! OMG, I so do not want Harry to have a kid!!! That would ruin it all! Mouse should be good enough! 😛

    It’ll definitively be interesting. I don’t know if you’ve read the excerpt out for Magic Bleeds… Not sure what’s going on with the relationship, but the story sounds great so far 😀

  4. Pingback: 2009: Recap of My Reading Year Part II « Me and My Books

  5. Great recap. I like that you organized it monthly.

    Can you give me a recommendation for an Eva Ibbotson book to read? I have not read any of her works, but would like to try something. She writes both adult and YA, is that right? I’m game to both, possibly even more partial to YA. No hurries.

  6. Oooh, Eva Ibbotson. My first was The Secret Countess (also titled The Countess Below Stairs), and I blogged about it here:
    https://bookdaze.wordpress.com/2007/09/02/the-secret-countess-by-eva-ibbotson

    It’s still probably my favourite, so I would rec this as a starting point! Very feel-good story.

    I think when her books were first released, they were sold as adult historical romance, but in the UK, they’re being re-released as YA. They don’t go beyond the bedroom door, so I can see why the publisher has chosen to do that.

    She also writes children’s books, I’ve only read a couple, but they’re not as good as the adult/YA romance books!

Leave a Reply

