Covers and Stuff

New coverI was in the bookstore the other day, and saw the new cover for Dawn Cook’s “First Truth” (on the left).  Now that Kim Harrison has officially come out as Dawn Cook (or is it the other way around?), Ms Harrison’s name is prominently displayed on the cover. 

Old coverIt’s been a while since I read the Truth books and while I can’t quite remember the plot now (put this down to my dismal memory as opposed to a non-recommendation for this series), I do recall hunting down all the books in the Truth series after reading the first.  I’m a bit lukewarm about the new covers – I think the slightly nostalgic part of me prefers the original old-school fantasy covers (see right), but I’ve a feeling the rebranded covers will reach a new audience.

 

Speaking of covers, I am massively impressed with The Book SmugglersCover Matters essay on whitewashing – it’s evident that a lot of thought, effort, and passion has gone into this, and it is, well, inspiring.  I’ve been more or less absent from blogland for the past month or so, and am not up to speed with the ins and outs of the recent “Magic Under Glass” cover controversy, but their essay is well worth a read and I am certainly going to visit the links listed in their post when I’ve a moment.

4 thoughts on “Covers and Stuff

  1. Oh, I wasn’t aware that Kim harrison wrote under another name… Are those Truth books any good, Li? 😛

    By the way, did you received Kelley Armstrong’s newsletter? She’s going to the UK this month and will probably have a signing in London!

    By the way, when are you taking those couple of days off? 😛

  2. Hey Nath – The Truth books, I recall liking them when I first read them but it has been a good few years. I may dig them out and read them for your Re-Read Challenge one month – but don’t hold me to that 😉

    And no, I hadn’t heard the Kelley Armstrong news! How cool. I’ll have to keep an eye out for that. Charlaine Harris is coming to London next month, but it’s £9 a ticket – not sure if I’m up for that.

    And I really need that holiday…

  3. Check out Kelley Armstrong’s website. She doesn’t have the details yet for London, but she knows her publishers are organizing something.

    LOL, it’d be fun if you re-read one 🙂 how many books are they in this series?

Leave a Reply

