Library Musings

I’m feeling very lazy on this lovely Saturday afternoon.  I was going to post on the March new releases, but I took one look at the looooong list of books on my I WANT NOW list and decided to do it another time.  Who me, procrastinate?

I did stop by the library earlier today though, and have checked out some books I am looking forward to.  Can’t remember if I’ve mentioned it on here before, but I’ve decided to (a) start using my library more and (b) use it in a slightly different way. 

The books I used to borrow from the library were those that I didn’t really care whether I got them immediately or after a few months.  Not books written by new-to-me authors, those written by authors who I’d read previously, but were no longer on my auto-buy list.  And then I ended up returning most of the books unread, or forcing myself to finish the book.  Yes, it took me a while, but I finally figured out that the fact I couldn’t be bothered to actually buy the book in the first place should have been telling me something – bear in mind most of the books I read, I buy new.  It’s an indulgence.  Or vice.

So I needed to change my library habits.  At the same time, I also discovered my library’s online reservation pages, which also allows me to request books from other local libraries.  What I’m now doing is borrowing books by new-to-me authors that have been recommended by other bloggers.  And this is actually working out very well.

 

Ramblings over – the books I currently have on loan:

513H6V2xYiL._SL160_ Ariana Franklin’s “Mistress of the Art of Death”: Keishon loves this historical mystery series, IIRC, but I have never managed to get around to buying the first book because I have only seen it in trade paperback, and it is very rare I buy a new-to-me author in trade.  There were quite a few copies of this book in the library system, so I’m guessing this is quite a popular series.

 

 

41dSvk0aUwL._SL160_ Jennifer Echols’ “Going Too Far”: A YA book that has been getting rave reviews around the blogosphere.  And when Angie tried but didn’t love Sarah Dessen’s “The Truth About Forever”, this book was one of those she listed as similar but better in her opinion.  I loved TTAF, and therefore made a mental note to try Echols. 

 

 

 

51wSX7YZ7xL._SL160_ YS Lee’s “Spy in the House”: It’s been a while since I added it to my reservations requests, so I have to admit that I can’t remember what spurred me to request this.  It was definitely an online mention somewhere – anyone?  It’s a historical mystery and first of a trilogy called “The Agency”, and the blurb from the author’s website is excellent:

It is May 1858, the beginning of London’s “Great Stink” — a blend of river pollution and heat wave that paralyzes the city. Tucked in the attic of a nondescript girls’ boarding school is the Agency, an intelligence service with a difference: it’s an elite, all-female group of private investigators with a reputation for getting things done. And it’s just hired a hotheaded, 17-year-old ex-thief whose on-the-job training goes completely wrong…

New agent Mary Quinn’s task is to pose as a lady’s companion and observe a merchant suspected of smuggling. But this straightforward assignment goes awry when Mary gets impatient and exceeds her mandate. Almost immediately, she finds competition in the shape of James Easton, an arrogant young man who’s doing some snooping of his own. They first tangle — literally — in a closet.

When pressed, Mary reluctantly joins forces with James. But as useful as the partnership may be, it’s also dangerous: their mutual attraction threatens to distract them from the real secrets of the merchant’s household. Eventually, they reveal a plot that threatens James’s life, as well as Mary’s own dark secrets…

 

So three books by three new-to-me authors to read in the next three weeks, and I’m looking forward to each one in different ways.

Any thoughts on any of the above, or libraries in general?

5 thoughts on “Library Musings

  1. I LOVED TTAF. I liked Gone too Far. I read it because of all the hype and was kinda let down… I thought it was just ok. Wasn’t blown away or anything!

  2. I’ll be interested to see what you think, Li. Interestingly, I just finished another one that’s being compared to Sarah Dessen–THE SKY IS EVERYWHERE by Jandy Nelson. I’ve been reading reviews online and it sounds like Dessen fans do not think it’s up to her level and non-Dessen fans love it. So fascinating to me. I really enjoyed it, so there may be some truth to that assessment. Who knows.

  3. Mollie – Ooooh, interesting. Well, I definitely have certain expectations about GTF after all the excellent reviews, so am probably approaching it the same way you did.

    Angie – A Dessen/non-Dessen divide! You may be right in your theory about the Dessen gene 😉 I haven’t heard of this book, but will have to keep an eye out for it.

  4. LOL, if your wanted books list is as long as mine, I know why you chose procrastination! LOL

    Ohhh, I’m looking forward to your thoughts of Gone Too Far. I read one Jennifer Echols and enjoyed it… but I’m not too sure about this one. The storyline sounds iffy to me…

  5. Nath – I just hit publish 🙂 You know it’s a great month for new releases when you get distracted reading blurbs and excerpts all over again. And I’ve never read Echols before but am looking forward to it…

Leave a Reply

