Books for May

Yes, I know there’s only about a week left in May, but gosh, I feel as though I’ve been playing catch-up for the whole month.  Especially today, when I didn’t actually hit Snooze on my alarm clock this morning.  Yep, I turned it right off.  I did make it into work at a reasonable time (ahem), but I’m now going to be incredibly paranoid about hitting the right button in the mornings!

 

Anyway, here’s the list of May releases on my radar:

41o2vJWxcYL._SL160_ Richelle Mead’s “Spirit Bound” (YA urban fantasy): Fifth in her incredibly popular Vampire Academy series.  It’s like the new Twilight.  Well, not quite, but the impression I get is that she has a massive fanbase.  I’m getting this book, because I want to know what happens next, but I think her Georgina Kincaid books win out for me.  She’s a pretty prolific writer (I mean, three series on the go), rather impressive.

Out now (excerpt here)

 

51Sc1e-DC3L._SL160_ Kelley Armstrong’s “The Reckoning” (YA urban fantasy): Final book in her Darkest Powers trilogy, though she is going to write a spin-off trilogy, IIRC.  I have this one already, but I haven’t read it yet.

Out now (excerpt here)

 

51RhfpnfQ8L._SL160_ Charlaine Harris’s “Dead in the Family” (urban fantasy): Latest in her Sookie Stackhouse series, how many books is it now?  I’m probably going to buy, but I haven’t had the urge to run out and get it on release date. 

I’m hoping that’s not the UK cover, though it is what came up on Amazon UK.  I know some people think the US covers are a bit cute-sy, but I love them.  Especially the glittery bits 😉

 

Out now (excerpt here – PDF)

 

51EUA1gwnTL._SL160_ 518mPPRSpcL._SL160_ And then two historical romances that I want to get, but I still have the previous book sitting in my TBR pile, which means I really shouldn’t: Julia Quinn’s “Ten Things I Love About You” (out May 25) and Lisa Kleypas’s “Married By Morning” (also out May 25). 

Ack.  I may actually even be two books behind in the Kleypas series.  Sigh.  I think I may have to wave the white flag at my TBR pile.  The good news is that I love the UK covers for both of these, and the UK release dates are June and October respectively.  I never thought I would be glad for a later UK release date.

6 thoughts on “Books for May

  1. LOL, I never thought I’d heard someone say they are glad that the books are released later!! 😀 The covers for the Quinn and Kleypas are definitively interesting. I’m not happy they changed the cover theme for the Lisa Kleypas series. ugh.

    The Reckoning! The Reckoning! Can’t wait to see what you’ll think of it 😀

    As for Richelle Mead, she is indeed a very prolific author… I didn’t realize how popular she was till RT… but I have yet to read her books. Sigh.

  2. Angie – LOL, I knew I couldn’t be the only one! But the US version retails for around £20, while Amazon has the UK one for £7.50, so as much as I like the US covers, I may have to be practical…

    Nath – I really like the UK covers for all of Lisa Kleypas’s books. Piatkus (the publisher) is releasing her Wallflower books as well with a completely different cover style – if I have time, I’ll have to blog about them!

    And yes, I read Richelle Mead’s blog and her signings look like madness.

  3. Pingback: Ack – I Forgot « Me and My Books

Leave a Reply

