Short Story Linkage

ETA: Here is the link to Lois McMaster Bujold’s “The Warrior’s Apprentice” in the Baen Free Library.

 

A couple of weeks ago, I said I was tempted by Mary Robinette Koval’s debut novel “Shades of Milk and Honey” but wasn’t sure about spending the money on a hardcover release for a new-to-me author.  So it must have been fate when I noticed she had a free short story up on Tor.com

“First Flight” is an excellent and charming time-travel story – I highly recommend it, even if you’re not generally a SF fan.  Or time-travel.  Trust me.  I don’t want to give too much away, but Eleanor Louise Jackson (aged well over a hundred, but not senile, thank you very much) is a delightful protagonist, the plot has just enough twist, and it ends on a wonderfully heart-warming note.

And if you’re wondering, yes, I’m pretty sure I’ll be buying “Shades of Milk and Honey” now.

 

Also, Lois McMaster Bujold, who is the author of what is possibly my all-time favourite series, the Miles Vorkosigan books (with a new book out in October!) has pointed out that not only is the novella “Mountains of Mourning” available in the Baen Free Library, but another novella “Borders of Infinity” is also available free online as the “first” chapter in her Miles Errant omnibus at Baen’s Webscriptions.  I love both of these novellas – they may not be full-length novels but pack quite a punch, and I like to think that the events in both are defining moments in Miles’ life, something that becomes clearer in subsequent books. 

Also, in the same post, Ms Bujold says there are apparently plans afoot to release the first book “The Warrior’s Apprentice” in the Baen Free Library – this is all sorts of wonderful because it will make it easier to hook new readers on this series *rubs hands in glee*

7 thoughts on “Short Story Linkage

  1. I’ve had Shades of Milk and Honey on my radar since I reviewed Seanan McGuire’s A Local Habitation audiobook. Mary Robinette Kowal is, aside from an author, a voice actor and did a great job with the audiobook narration!

    I’m hoping to do an arc review for Shades of Milk and Honey (still waiting to receive it) for Tor. I love the idea of an Austen-meets-fantasy novel.

    So glad to hear her short story is that good!

    You’re also reminding me that I have Mountains of Mourning on my nook (from the Baen library). I loved Warrior’s Apprentice and need to read some more Miles Vorkosigan!

  2. Hey Renee – I had forgotten about the audiobook narration, I remember you saying how much you enjoyed the ALH audiobook. How cool, talk about multi-talented!

    And you so need to read more Miles 😉

  3. Oh, I think of that as her fantasy romance series 🙂 It’s very different in tone from her Miles books, but good as well – hope you get around to it soon!

  4. Pingback: Books for August « Me and My Books

Leave a Reply

