Books for August

Taking a break from the agonising about whether to buy the eARC for Lois McMaster Bujold’s new book or not, here are the books on my To Buy list for this month:

 

51D8GyqI7FL._SL160_ Tamora Pierce’s “Melting Stones” (YA fantasy): Now this was first released quite a while back in audio form, IIRC – however, I’ve never quite managed an audiobook before, and have waited for the paperback release.  The story’s set in her Circle universe, which partly explains my patience – I would probably have caved and bought the hardcover, had this been a Tortall book.  But I like the Circle books well enough, and have already ordered my copy of “Melting Stones”.

Four years have passed since Evvy left the streets of Chammur to begin her training as a stone mage. At fourteen, she’s unhappy to be on a new journey with her mentor, prickly green mage Rosethorn, who has been called to the Battle Islands to determine why the plants and animals there are dying. Evvy’s job is to listen and learn, but she can’t keep quiet and do nothing. With the help of Luvo, the living stone heart of a mountain, Evvy uncovers an important clue. Now, with the island on the brink of disaster, it’s up to Evvy to avert the destruction that looms ahead.

While we’re on the subject of Tamora Pierce, I was thrilled to read about her upcoming collection of short stories, “Tortall and Other Lands: A Collection of Tales”, out next February.  It collects previously-published short stories – I suspect I’ve already read a few, but it would be fantastic to have all of them in a single volume.

Out now (excerpt)

 

fair_game Josh Lanyon’s “Fair Game” (m/m romantic suspense): Josh Lanyon is pretty much an auto-buy author for me, after his very excellent Adrien English series.

A crippling knee injury forced Elliot Mills to trade in his FBI badge for dusty chalkboards and bored college students. Now a history professor at Puget Sound university, the former agent has put his old life behind him—but it seems his old life isn’t finished with him.

A young man has gone missing from campus—and as a favor to a family friend, Elliot agrees to do a little sniffing around. His investigations bring him face-to-face with his former lover, Tucker Lance, the special agent handling the case.

Things ended badly with Tucker, and neither man is ready to back down on the fight that drove them apart. But they have to figure out a way to move beyond their past and work together as more men go missing and Elliot becomes the target in a killer’s obsessive game…

As an added bonus, “Fair Game” is released by Carina Press, the new(-ish) Harlequin e-imprint – I have been curious about them, and therefore this is an excellent opportunity to try out their books as well.  I have to say I am incredibly impressed with the covers on their site – I have not seen a bad one yet.  Could do with longer excerpts though.

Out now (excerpt)

 

51U-XU2WbiL._SL160_“Kiss Me Deadly”, edited by Trisha Telep (YA fantasy): This anthology looks to be made out of win – contributors include some of my favourite authors (yes, I mean Diana Peterfreund and Sarah Rees Brennan), and I’ve been meaning to read some of the other authors forever. 

If you can possibly thirst for more mysterious metaphysical accounts of love, Trisha Telep has organized some of the greatest and most thrilling tales of paranormal paramours since The Eternal Kiss.  She presents the acclaimed literary talent of thirteen unique authors, creating a collection of stories that will undoubtedly capture the imagination of every soul who dares to read them. Werewolves, ghosts, zombies, vampires, and fallen angels drive the plot of these riveting romances.

Out now

 

512A7hoGL._SL160_

Mary Robinette Kowal’s “Shades of Milk and Honey”  (fantasy): This popped up on my radar a couple of weeks ago, and after having read her short story “First Flight” on tor.com, I’ve pretty much made up my mind to get this.

Shades of Milk and Honey is an intimate portrait of Jane Ellsworth, a woman ahead of her time in a version of Regency England where the manipulation of glamour is considered an essential skill for a lady of quality. But despite the prevalence of magic in everyday life, other aspects of Dorchester’s society are not that different: Jane and her sister Melody’s lives still revolve around vying for the attentions of eligible men.

Jane resists this fate, and rightly so: while her skill with glamour is remarkable, it is her sister who is fair of face, and therefore wins the lion’s share of the attention. At the ripe old age of twenty-eight, Jane has resigned herself to being invisible forever. But when her family’s honor is threatened, she finds that she must push her skills to the limit in order to set things right–and, in the process, accidentally wanders into a love story of her own.

Out now (excerpt)

 

And my maybes for August?  Linda Howard’s “Veil of Night” (romantic suspense) – her books have been more miss than hit for me lately (and on a side note, I can’t believe she still does not have a website).  I may also get “Death’s Excellent Vacation”, another of the UF anthologies edited by Charlaine Harris and Toni LP Kelner, at some point – or wait for the paperback. 

5 thoughts on “Books for August

  1. I’m waiting for reviews for Veil of Night. Almost got it last week and restrained myself 🙂

    I’ve been seeing the cover of the Josh Lanyon around blogland. I still need to try him to Ames biggest dismay LOL.

    Interesting about the YA fantasy anthology. Hope you enjoy it 🙂

  2. Nath – The Adrien English books are excellent. He also has a few standalones I really like, but the AE series wins hands down. I’ve finished Fair Game and liked it very very much too.

    And well done on holding off on VoN 😀 I haven’t seen any reviews yet myself.

  3. OOoh! I’ve had my sights on that YA anthology myself! Thanks for the reminder about that release. I think I’m going to buy that one! 😀

    And I think you should get a hold of the LMB eARC! Clearly you are a big fan. Go for it!

  4. Christine – I love the concept behind the anthology and it’s had some pretty positive reviews, so is definitely a buy for me. I haven’t seen it on the shelves yet though. And yes, I’m thinking if I end up with some free time this weekend, the LMB eARC will definitely end up on my reader 😉

  5. Pingback: Bank Holiday Musings « Me and My Books

Leave a Reply

