New Look

So what do you think?

I’ve been bored with my previous blog theme for quite a while, not helped by WordPress releasing a number of tempting new themes over the past few months, but never quite had the time to play around and see what suited me until now.

I wanted something with two sidebars so that I could give my blogroll a bit more prominence without losing my monthly releases widget.  A custom header area.  Fonts that I could live with and block quotes that didn’t look funny and ummm… some spacing around my pictures.  I’m not picky.  Really.

Anyway, this theme, Fusion, appealed to me most – it met all the criteria above, and although it doesn’t offer a custom colour scheme, that really fell under the banner of very-nice-to-have. So after a minor panic attack (I thought I lost my entire blogroll at one point) and a few swear words (the Categories widget almost defeated me by refusing to disappear from where I didn’t want it to be), I think I have the new blog template pretty much there.

Except the header. Sigh. I’m not 100% happy with it, but it’ll do until I have more time to spend on sorting it out. I used Wordle to create the graphic based on my blog – however, it only takes the most recent posts so it is rather biased towards what I have been posting about recently, which made me laugh. Fortunately you have the option of deleting words you don’t want included…

So, does this look okay on your screen?  This is the free version of WordPress, so I am pretty limited in what I can change – I can change my header and widgets on the sidebars, but that’s pretty much it.  I may give TypeKit a go, which allows you to customise some fonts, but that will have to wait until I have more time to figure out how!

21 thoughts on “New Look

  1. LOL, sure is different, but I like it 🙂

    For me, as long as you don’t go crazy about background (can make it hard to read) and the main post area is large enough, I’m happy 🙂 I think that this template uses the screen/whole area very well 🙂

    • Heh. I’m glad you said that – I dithered over whether I should keep the column widths fixed (which came up as narrower on my widescreen monitor) or flexible, but finally went with flexible because I liked how there was more white space.

      Can you tell a lot of thinking went into this?! 😉

      • LOL, Li. It’s only natural!! I mean, it’s your blog… not only does it reflect you, but it’s something you have to like 🙂

  2. I like it. I found the “suscribe by email” bit a little weird at first (at first sight I thought it was one of those pop-up things you need to close to be able to read the content below), but I like it!

    • Ah thanks Rosario! Yeah, I’m not quite sure about the position and ordering of the various widgets on the sidebars – I may swap or rename some of them… we’ll see if I get any brainwaves!

  3. I’m afraid I do not like the new font at all. It just looks, I’m sure how to describe it, somwhat spotty, kind of like a printer that’s just about to run out of ink. I took a (partial) screen shot, so you can see what I am talking about: http://yfrog.com/86unbenanntsvzj

    It is the same on both Firefox and Internet Explorer, but I did’t have the opportunity to test it on an other system.

  4. I like it except for the fact that the font colour seems to be dark grey on white. This is hard for my old eyes to read. The comment box is more readable than the main entry, heh.

      • However now that I look at your reply function it seems that only three comments can be nested. Heh. Well I can always go back to clicking on the last possible reply link. I think I did this here before, anyway. I’m used to the infinite nesting at LJ ^^.

      • Thanks for confirming the text works better for you, I am glad! I’ve gone back to the default text for this theme – I guess there’s a reason why it’s used as the default one…

        You’re right – I limited nested comments to three levels. I’ve never quite settled in with the comment threading function – I like having the ability for individual comment threads, but I’ve found that if too many levels are used, the comments get squashed very quickly. So three is my compromise!

Leave a Reply

