2010: Lists and Numbers

Without further ado, here are the various lists and numbers that encapsulate my 2010 reading:

My very favourite books of 2010

You’ve probably guessed most of these, but the ahem… official list, roughly in the order in which I read them:

  • Diana Gabaldon‘s “An Echo in the Bone” (2009)
  • Sean Kennedy‘s “Tigers and Devils” (2009)
  • Steve Kluger‘s “Almost Like Being in Love” (2004)
  • Sarah Dessen‘s “The Truth About Forever” (2004)
  • Jennifer Echols‘ “Going Too Far” (2009)
  • Lisa Lutz‘s “The Spellmans Strike Again” (2010)
  • Patricia Briggs‘ “Silver Borne” (2010)
  • Ilona Andrews‘ “Magic Bleeds” (2010)
  • Sarah Rees Brennan‘s “The Demon’s Covenant” (2010)
  • Josh Lanyon‘s “Fair Game” (2010)
  • Seanan McGuire‘s “An Artificial Night” (2010)
  • Lois McMaster Bujold‘s “Cryoburn” (2010)

I struggled to keep it down to twelve (okay, I tried for ten and couldn’t) and ended up limiting myself to one book per author.

New-to-me authors I’m glad I read this year

  • Sean Kennedy
  • Steve Kluger
  • Sarah Dessen
  • Seanan McGuire
  • Jennifer Echols
  • Sarah A Hoyt
  • Meg Burden
  • Harper Fox
  • Suzanne Collins
  • Jaclyn Moriarty

Again roughly in the order in which I read them.

Author most glommed during 2010

I didn’t go mad and read dozens of backlist books this time around – it was a tie between Sarah Dessen and Diana Wynne Jones, with five books each.

Warning: The final two sections are probably of no interest to anyone but myself…

The stats

2010 2009 2008
# of books read during the year 141 115 155
# published during the year itself 77 (55%) 55 (48%) 73 (47%)
# of authors read 88 71 88
# of new-to-me authors 29 (33%) 22 (30%) 27 (30%)
# of library books 20 (14%) n/a n/a
space space space space

I wasn’t consciously aiming to read more than I did in 2009, and to be honest, I’m surprised I did.

The proportion of 2010 v. pre-2010 books remained pretty constant, as did the number of new-to-me authors.  I am trying to read more new-to-me authors so I’m glad that number went up – I’m looking forward to more in 2011.

A new stat I started tracking this year was number of library books read.  I’m determined to make better use of my local library, and while I only read 20 books from there, they were a mixture of new-to-me authors I’m glad I tried (and will probably buy their books in the future) and also authors on the verge of jumping the shark, so I’m glad I saved my money for another book!

And finally, the graph…

Because I like it, and not because it actually says anything.

And that is it for 2010!  I will do a 2011 post at some point about blogging resolutions and all that (which, to be honest, can probably be summed up as “blog more”) but looking back at the year as a whole, there were some really good books I’m delighted to have read – and I’m excited about what’s coming out in 2011.

Previous 2010 wrap-up posts

4 thoughts on “2010: Lists and Numbers

  1. Hi! Was wondering if I could have a copy of your spreadsheet tracker for 2011. I’m going to try recording again. 🙂 Thanks!

  2. Woohoo for Steve Kluger making it in the top 12 🙂 I agree with Magic Bleeds, but not sure about Silver Borne 🙂 and by the way, it’s a very nice number of new authors 🙂

    2010 for you was pretty similar to 2008 🙂 Nice numbers 🙂 I actually love the graphs, especially with Excel 2007 LOL. I need to figure out the graphs… although I’m not sure I’m patient enough to generate then LOL.

    By the way, nice end of the year – you really finished strongly! 🙂

    • I recall really liking Silver Borne back when I read it – slightly less of an impression now, but my notes say I liked it very much, so… 😉

      Feel free to nick my charts spreadsheet if you want – as I said, it is now a bit of a hack because I couldn’t be bothered to add my 2010 figures properly and just overwrote the previous years! I will probably regret doing that this time next year.

      And holidays are always good for blogging…

Leave a Reply

