Around the Web – The Cover Edition

I am not handling this back-to-work thing well.  Especially since it’s pretty full-on at the moment.  So many things to do, so little time…

I want to review Eileen Wilks‘ “Blood Challenge”, which I will, but probably not today, as I’m finding myself yawning at odd intervals, and will probably cave in and have a bit of a nap soon.  So in lieu of actual content, here are some links:

Jennie has posted new Mary Stewart covers at her Mary Stewart Novels fansite, and I am totally in love with them.  I am very tempted to get another copy of the “The Ivy Tree”, which is possibly my favourite Stewart!

At Sounis, the Megan Whalen Turner livejournal fan community, they’ve put up the concept art for the cover of  “A Conspiracy of Kings”, which is all kinds of fascinating.

And sticking with the cover art theme, here’s a new-to-me group blog called Muddy Covers, by some of the cover artists I love, and again, it’s really interesting behind-the-scenes stuff.  For instance, Dan Dos Santos (who does the fantastic Mercy Thompson US covers, amongst others) blogs about his covers for Gini Koch‘s Alien SF books, which I am meaning to read at some point.

10 thoughts on “Around the Web – The Cover Edition

    • I did end up taking a nap – bliss 🙂

      You know what? No female cover artist comes to my mind instantly – then again, I’ll be the first to admit that I’m fairly ignorant on the cover art world. I know Dan Dos Santos because of his fairly distinctive UF cover art, and John Palencar because he does the US Juliet Marillier and Sharon Shinn Archangel books.

      I’d struggle to name any others, male or female – which is a shame, because I am always fascinated with covers. Maybe something to start focusing on this year…

      • Oh, good one, how could I forget Jody Lee! I probably did the same as she did the art for Mercedes Lackey’s Valdemar books, which I read until they were falling apart…

        I don’t really recognise Kinuko Craft’s work though – has she done some of Juliet Marillier’s YA covers?

        And actually, here’s another one – Stephanie Pui-Mun Law, who did Catherine Asaro’s Luna fantasy covers. I thought they were really pretty, in a dreamy delicate kind of way.

        http://www.shadowscapes.com/

      • Yes, Kinnuko Craft does lots of US Marillier covers and also lots of Patricia McKillip covers.

        Oh, didn’t know those fantasy Asaro covers were by a female.

      • I’ve not read a lot of Patricia McKillip, but now you mention that, I recognise the style…

        I loved Catherine Asaro’s Luna covers, but never quite got into the stories.

  1. Very cool links, Li 🙂

    Oh, I love reading about the concept of the cover for A Conspiracy of Kings. I’m really happy they went with what they went with, instead of Sophos being all depressed and focusing on him being a slave ^_^; and LOL, it does look like Orlando Bloom as Legolas!

    • I totally loved seeing the other ideas as well! I think the final choice worked really well, but I sort of liked the one with Sophos all dressed up in his embroidered robes.

Leave a Reply

