Books for May

I can’t believe it’s May already – on the other hand, yay for the May releases finally arriving!

Ilona Andrews“Magic Slays” (urban fantasy): Well.  Insert inarticulate gurgling noises here.  Yeah, I’m madly excited about this one, could you tell?  I love this UF series, it’s up there with hmmm… Seanan McGuire‘s Toby Daye and Patricia Briggs‘ Mercy Thompson and Alpha & Omega books for me.  Have you read the Curran POV for the last scenes in “Magic Bleeds” on the authors’ blog, by the way?  It’s whetted my appetite very nicely for this.

Blurb:

Plagued by a war between magic and technology, Atlanta has never been so deadly. Good thing Kate Daniels is on the job.

Kate Daniels may have quit the Order of Merciful Aid, but she’s still knee-deep in paranormal problems. Or she would be if she could get someone to hire her. Starting her own business has been more challenging than she thought it would be—now that the Order is disparaging her good name, and many potential clients are afraid of getting on the bad side of the Beast Lord, who just happens to be Kate’s mate.

So when Atlanta’s premier Master of the Dead calls to ask for help with a vampire on the loose, Kate leaps at the chance of some paying work. Turns out this is not an isolated incident, and Kate needs to get to the bottom of it—fast, or the city and everyone dear to her might pay the ultimate price…

Out May 31 (excerpt)

*

Nalini Singh‘s “Kiss of Snow” (paranormal romance): Second set of inarticulate gurgling noises.  And if you’re going “Huh?”, you obviously haven’t been reading the Psy/Changeling books.  We finally get Sienna and Hawke’s story, and I cannot wait to see how their romance plays out – they have pretty much stolen all the scenes where they’ve made an appearance in previous books.

Blurb:

Since the moment of her defection from the PsyNet and into the SnowDancer wolf pack, Sienna Lauren has had one weakness. Hawke. Alpha and dangerous, he compels her to madness.

Hawke is used to walking alone, having lost the woman who would’ve been his mate long ago. But Sienna fascinates the primal heart of him, even as he tells himself she is far too young to handle the wild fury of the wolf.

Then Sienna changes the rules-and suddenly, there is no more distance, only the most intimate of battles between two people who were never meant to meet. Yet as they strip away each other’s secrets in a storm of raw emotion, they must also ready themselves for a far more vicious fight…

A deadly enemy is out to destroy SnowDancer, striking at everything they hold dear, but it is Sienna’s darkest secret that may yet savage the pack that is her home-and the alpha who is its heartbeat.

Out May 31 (excerpt)

*

Charlaine Harris“Dead Reckoning” (urban fantasy): It’s the eleventh book in the Sookie Stackhouse series, and well, I’m still reading.  IMO, the last three or so books have been slightly uneven, but there’s something about Sookie’s world that reels me in.  I am loving the quirky and charming US cover art as always, and will probably go out of my way to get my hands on this edition – I don’t think I have yet bought any of the UK editions (which feature the “True Blood” cast).  Also, did Ms Harris say she was wrapping up the series soon, or did I just make that up?

Blurb:

With her knack for being in trouble’s way, Sookie witnesses the firebombing of Merlotte’s, the bar where she works. Since Sam Merlotte is now known to be two-natured, suspicion falls immediately on the anti-shifters in the area. But Sookie suspects otherwise and she and Sam work together to uncover the culprit – and the twisted motive for the attack. But her attention is divided. Though she can’t ‘read’ vampires, Sookie knows her lover Eric Northman and his ‘child’ Pam well – and she realises that they are plotting to kill the vampire who is now their master. Gradually, she is drawn into the plot -which is much more complicated than she knows. Caught up in the politics of the vampire world, Sookie will learn that she is as much of a pawn as any ordinary human – and that there is a new Queen on the board . .

Out May 3 (excerpt)

*

Julia Quinn‘s “Just Like Heaven” (historical romance): A new Julia Quinn is always something to look forward to, and I admit that part of me is happy she’s returning to her Bridgertons world.  Or okay, officially this is the start of The Smythe-Smith Quartet.  I was going to have a moan about the UK version (cover on the right) being out later, and then realised it was only a couple of days (May 31 v. June 2 for the UK edition) – yeah, need some sleep.

(Cute) blurb:

HONORIA SMYTHE-SMITH IS:
A) a really bad violinist
B) still miffed at being nicknamed “Bug” as a child
C) NOT in love with her older brother’s best friend
D) All of the above

MARCUS HOLROYD IS:
A) the Earl of Chatteris
B) regrettably prone to sprained ankles
C) NOT in love with his best friend’s younger sister
D) All of the above

TOGETHER THEY:
A) eat quite a bit of chocolate cake
B) survive a deadly fever AND world’s worst musical performance
C) fall quite desperately in love.

It’s Julia Quinn at her best, so you KNOW the answer is…

D) All of the above

Out May 31 (excerpt)

*

And my maybes for May – Kevin Hearne‘s “Hounded”, which I heard of when Nath added it to her wishlist, and Thea Harrison‘s “Dragon Bound”, which has had the romance blogosphere buzzing.

6 Comments

Filed under New Releases

6 responses to “Books for May

  1. What great choices! I have ordered all of them too. Thanks for pointing me toward Dragon Bound. I hadn’t heard of that one. Happy reading!

  2. LOL Li, your wishlist is so short!! I have all the books on my wishlist except the Charlaine Harris.

    I think the Quinn has such a cute blurb!! Really looking forward to it. Kiss of Snow, well you know LOL. The Kate Daniels, I’m looking forward to Kate and Curran and the Pack… not so sure about the case.

    Got Hounded. Going to read it and let you know :)

    by the way, Li… You gotta pick up Warcry! :) Gotta.

    • Heh – I’m still reading through your lists at Breezing Through! I know I’ve only four books, but I’m really looking forward to all four ;-)

      And you’ve convinced me, I’ll have to get Warcry.

  3. LOL. I gotta agree your list though was the must-have of May :) Plus Warcry of course :)

    I just finished Hounded and it’s pretty good with a lot of potential :) I’m going to try to review it soon.

Leave a Reply

