Random Stuff

I’ve been re-reading Jane Austen‘s “Pride & Prejudice” on my phone in stops and starts recently.  I’ve always resisted reading on my phone, but after downloading the Kindle app a couple of months ago, I’m quite getting into reading while commuting.  I don’t think I would read a new-to-me book on it just because I need uninterrupted reading time to get into a book, but the twenty-odd minutes on the Tube is perfect for reading a couple of chapters.

And I had forgotten how romantic P&P is.  Swoon.

Apart from P&P, I’ve also read Richelle Mead‘s two latest releases – “Succubus Revealed”, the last in her Georgina Kincaid series, and “Bloodlines”, the first in her new Vampire Academy spin-off series.  I really liked Succubus – it’s been a book I’ve been waiting for quite a while, not least because I had no idea how she was going to pull off an ending that worked.  Without giving too much away, yeah, it was satisfying.

And I borrowed “Bloodlines” from the library with some trepidation – I wasn’t quite sure if revisiting an existing world was going to work (no names being mentioned here…).  But it proved to be an easy and entertaining read if not a ground-breaking one.  I’d pick up the next book in this series.

Some links:

9 thoughts on “Random Stuff

  1. I’ve read novellas and parts of books on my iphone before… it’s surprising how easy it is to do so considering the small screen. I guess once you get pulled into the story and you’re accustomed to swiping the pages, it just flows.

    I’ve read both Sarah Rees Brennan [Demon’s Lexicon] and Justine Larbalestier [Liar] the latter of which was quite the mind bender!

    • LIAR made quite a splash – both because of the cover and the story, IIRC – but I never got around to reading it. I’ve only heard good things about Justine Larbalestier though.

      It’s certainly convenient to have a book on your phone – when I finish P&P, may consider novellas next, good one.

  2. You would love Justine Larbalestier. LIAR is actually her fifth novel. And TEAM HUMAN Is great.

    I thought I’d never read on my phone, and then I had a baby and needed to read in a dark room in the middle of the night while rocking said baby. I decided phones are great.

    • Heh – never say never. I’m slowly becoming a convert myself. And I’ve been checking out Justine Larbalestier’s backlist – I think I will have to get my hands on HOW TO DITCH YOUR FAIRY, love the excerpt!

  3. It’s great when a series is end to satisfaction 🙂 I still haven’t read the Succubus series… sigh. I have the first one in my TBR pile. Now that the series is done, perhaps I’ll give it a go…

    Need to give a try to Ms Brennan as well…

  4. Are you still looking for space opera? I just discovered (and then stayed up many late nights finishing) a fantastic new space opera series. The series is by Nathan Lowell (it starts with Quarter Share). It’s not your normal space opera in that there are NO military, battles or aliens etc. The stories are based around trade ships and the life of Ishmael Horatio Wang. There are 6 books in the series (the first 3 are available on kindle plus all 6 books in the series have free audio books at http://www.podiobooks.com). Anyway, I’m still in the gushing phase when you discover a new author (and characters) that you love.

    • I am always on the lookout for space opera! Thank you for the rec – I have been there with the many late nights due to the “just one more page…” syndrome. Off to check this out on Kindle…

Leave a Reply

