Books for October

New month, new releases – here are the ones I’m getting:

*

ANGELS OF DARKNESS anthology (fantasy): It’s rare when you’ve read all four authors in an anthology; it’s even rarer when you like all four.  But that’s the case with this one – Ilona Andrews, Nalini Singh, Meljean Brook, and Sharon Shinn all in one book. *happy dance*

I get my Shinn fix for the year (I don’t think she has a full-length novel out this year?) as she returns to the world of Samaria.  Ilona Andrews’ contribution is from the world of the Alphas mentioned on their blog every now and again – looking forward to finally reading it.  Nalini Singh contributes a Guild Hunter novella and Meljean Brook a Guardian one – I admit to stalling somewhat on both these series, so this may give me the impetus to continue.

The (slightly boring) blurb:

Tales of alpha angels…from four alpha authors.  They soar through the night, unearthly creatures of legends and lore. Four masters of urban fantasy and paranormal romance explore the rapture of the heavens above, and the darkness below in four all-new stories of angels and guardians, and good and evil.

Out Oct 4

*

Erin McCarthy‘s SLOW RIDE (contemporary romance): I pretty much glommed the first three books in one go when I came across this stock-car racing series – it was the perfect combination of testosterone-filled settings and steamy romance.  However, the fourth and most recent (THE CHASE) didn’t really do it for me – I just didn’t get the relationship and found the plot a bit OTT.  Having said that, I’m still planning on getting this one just because of how much I liked the first three.

Blurb:

As a tribute to her late journalist father, Tuesday Jones is planning a career benefit, auctioning off racing memorabilia and meet-and-greets with drivers. Ex-racing star Diesel Lange has had his own brush with death, and is determined not to waste another minute of his life- especially when he meets Tuesday. He wants nothing more than to shift their romance into high gear, but he knows she’s still grieving. Can Diesel do the one thing he could never do on the track and take it slow?

Out Oct 4 (excerpt)

*

Catherine Asaro‘s CARNELIANS (SF): Speaking of series stalling, I never quite got around to finishing the prequel to this book, DIAMOND STAR – not because it wasn’t good, but because I had a feeling it was going to go somewhere rather painful.  And I didn’t want to read that.  I know – stupid, huh?  Anyway, I now have to bite the bullet and finish that story because I really want to read the latest in her Skolian series.

Blurb:

Two emperors navigate an uneasy peace, while a powerful trader guild does everything in its power to bring on war. And as if Kelric, the Skolian Imperator, didn’t have enough problems, his own brother—who happens to be a rock star of galactic proportions—has a hit song that calls the traders out as the hidebound blueblood jerks they are, and pleads for an end to centuries of war. Kelric and his Eubian Trader Empire counterpart Jabriol attempt finally to meet in a public summit and sign a treaty that will save billions of lives and end the grinding, millennium-long war. But assassins lurk everywhere, and intrigue is afoot as the baroque old order has no intention of giving up its war-bought privilege and power without a fight to the death—and they don’t care if they take the rest of galactic civilization down with them.

Out now (excerpt)

*

DOWN THESE STRANGE STREETS anthology edited by George RR Martin and Gardner Dozois (urban fantasy): These two editors have a talent for attracting big names to their genre-crossover anthologies, and DOWN THESE STRANGE STREETS is no exception.  There’s Patricia Briggs, Diana Gabaldon (new Lord John Grey novella!), and Charlaine Harris amongst others.  And this time around, the theme is mysteries, so of course I’m going to cave and buy.

Blurb:

All new strange cases of death and magic in the city by some of the biggest names in urban fantasy.

In this all-new collection of urban fantasy stories, editors George R.R. Martin and Gardner Dozois explore the places where mystery waits at the end of every alley and where the things that go bump in the night have something to fear…

Out now

*

Tamora Pierce‘s MASTIFF (YA fantasy): The previous book was published back in April 2009 – talk about a long wait for this trilogy to be wrapped up.  I’ll be honest – none of Tamora Pierce’s later books have yet displaced the original Alanna quartet from the top of my favourites list, but I’m always up for another visit to Tortall, especially when it’s set in the past and gives us tantalising peeks at how Alanna’s Tortall was shaped.

Blurb:

Beka and her friends will face their greatest and most important challenge ever when the young heir to the kingdom vanishes. They will be sent out of Corus on a trail that appears and disappears, following a twisting road throughout Tortall. It will be her greatest Hunt—if she can survive the very powerful people who do not want her to succeed in her goal.

Out now

12 thoughts on “Books for October

  1. I totally hear what you’re saying about Carnelians. I feel the same way about every book in the series. I love them all to pieces and it’s my favourite series, but I’m afraid before I start every book. I buy them immediately – I have the ebook for Carnelians and the hardcover is waiting at my indie bookstore for me to have time to pick it up – but I usually put off actually reading them for a while until I feel brave enough. But I always love them when I do read them.

    • Good to know I’m not the only one who feels this way! I guess it goes to show how much we have invested in the series 😉

      I’ve bought the ebook too – now to finish DIAMOND STAR…

  2. I won Angels of Darkness at a giveaway at Meljean’s blog – so happy chortle here. However now I have to wait until Book Depository sends it to me, I expect.

  3. Hey Li! What did you think of Angels of Darkness? 🙂 I agree, it’s so rare to find an anthology with authors that you all liked! Although these 4 have worked together before, so yay!

    Did you read Slow Ride? I skipped The Chase. Unfortunately, I had issues with Slow Ride.

    Ohhh, I wonder what the Patricia Brigg’s entry in the anthology is about. Sigh, February and Fair Game can’t come fast enough!!

    • I liked the Alphas novella best, I think… I was pretty surprised at the Sharon Shinn inclusion as she’s not someone I would normally consider urban fantasy/paranormal romance (as I would for the other three), but I guess she has a UF coming out next year. Plus the theme was angels and she is pretty well-known for her angel books AND she is probably published by the same publisher (I think).

      I’m in the middle of SLOW RIDE at the moment. I like it better than THE CHASE, but I’m not completely won over yet.

      And the Briggs story has Warren in it. It’s not very long, IIRC (why yes, I’ve read it already 😉 ).

      • Warren!?!? Okay, I’m definitively getting it then!! LOL.

        I don’t know, IIRC, it’s not the first time the 4 of them get together for an anthology (Andrews, Shinn, Singh and Brook).Or perhaps I’m mistaken… i know definitively that Andrews, Singh and Brook have done it a few times before this.

      • Ha – I remember you have a soft spot for Warren 😉

        Yes, you’re probably right – think I recall the three of them contributing to various anthologies.

    • It was the new Lord John Grey novella that tipped it from “I’m going to get it at some point” to “I want it now” for me. Can you tell I’m very excited about the new Diana Gabaldon next month 🙂

Leave a Reply

