Books for January

Or maybe book.  I’m not sure why, but January tends to be a really slow month for new releases that interest me.

So there’s only one book this month that I’m thinking of getting (and note the thinking, because previous books in this series have been a bit hit-or-miss for me:

Julie Hyzy‘s AFFAIRS OF STEAK (cosy mystery): I love the White House setting of this series, but the characters sometimes grate on my nerves.  I’ll still probably get a copy when this books comes out though.

Blurb:

White House chef Olivia Paras and her arch nemesis, White House Sensitivity Director Peter Everett Sargeant, must work together to solve the double murder of one of the First Lady’s assistants and the Chief of Staff-before they become the next victims of a merciless assassin with a secret agenda.
Out Jan 3
*
And yeah – that’s it.  However, I’ve recently discovered Fantasy (and now Lightspeed Science Fiction & Fantasy) online magazine – I’m enjoying browsing their free stories.  The Naomi Novik one (“Vici”) was previously published in THE DRAGON BOOK anthology and I’ve read it already, but it was a lovely funny re-read.  And there’s a Seanan McGuire contribution, “Crystal Halloway and the Forgotten Passage”, which combines loving pokes at old-school fantasy adventures with a bit of a haunting twist. And well, lots more which I haven’t gotten around to reading yet.
11 thoughts on “Books for January

  1. Affairs of Steak — I’ll be getting a copy tomorrow (assuming it ships from Amazon — should check my email). I should get to it this weekend (hopefully). Should be interesting — Ollie and Sargeant are supposed to be cooperating with each other, that alone has me curious to read it as soon as possible.

    • Yes, that is the main reason I’m tempted too! I’m hoping she makes Sargeant more 3D. I’ve checked and it is available on Kindle, so I will probably cave and buy it soon-ish.

  2. That’s it, Li? Really? I know I said this month was slow, but not that slow 🙂 I think you need to look up a few authors 🙂

    I’m really, really interested in this series… but I tried reading the first book and never gotten far. Cosy mystery just doesn’t seem to grab me 😦

  3. Have you gotten/read/started Affairs of Steak?
    I think you won’t be disappointed regarding Peter. I only started it today but in my attempt to find out on what page the story ended (not counting the recipes), something caught my eye on the last page and I had to read it.

    • Oh really? Yep, I bought and it’s on my Kindle. I may just have to start it this weekend!

      (And I am totally with you with the recipes – I like them, but I need to know when the story *actually* finishes)

  4. Pingback: Jamie-Love (and Other Links) | Me and My Books

Leave a Reply

