2011: The Summary

I could say that it’s taken so long to pull this post together because of the rigorous analysis and detailed research that has gone into it… but that would be a lie.  2011 has probably been the year of procrastination for me.

*

My very favourite books of 2011 (more or less in the order in which I read them)

Links are to my Goodreads reviews (warning – I do tend to descend into fangirl gushing when I fall in love with a book, so don’t expect massively coherent thoughts).  And I will add links to the final two one when I (finally) finish writing up all my 2010 reads.

*

New-to-me authors I’m glad I read this year

  • Stephanie Perkins
  • Antony John
  • Kirsty Eagar
  • Sara Creasy
  • James Anderson
  • Jordan Sonnenblick
  • Kaje Harper
  • Kelly Hunter
  • Sonya Bateman
  • Madeleine E. Robins

*

Author most glommed this year

Unlike last year when I had to check, I knew this one instantly – Kelly Hunter.  I fell in love with her writing in the last quarter of the year and probably read her entire backlist within a month – that would be 11 books.  Now I’m stalking her new releases page.  She’s gotten me back into category romance – something which I would have sworn was impossible a year ago.

*

The statistics

Trend analysis time!  Heh.  I know, I know.  Humour me.


2011 2010 2009 2008
# of books read 144 141 115 155
# published during current year 73 (51%) 77 (55%) 55 (48%) 73 (47%)
# of authors read 91 88 71 88
# of new-to-me authors 26 (29%) 29 (33%) 22 (30%) 27 (30%)
# of library books 24 (17%) 20 (14%) n/a n/a
space space space space space

No major changes in habit there really…  I read (just a bit) more in 2011, the proportion of 2011 v. pre-2011 releases stayed roughly the same as in previous years, with a slight drop in the number of new-to-me authors.  I could do better on the library numbers (I’ve four books checked out as I type this) but, well.

*

And finally… in keeping with tradition – here’s my graphical breakdown of 2011 by month and genre:

Of the 144 books I read in 2011, a lot of them were romance.  And while I was on holiday in December, I wasn’t during October – in fact, I was spending most of my waking hours at work.  I blame that on the Kelly Hunter glom.

15 thoughts on “2011: The Summary

  1. Oh that’s a great list, Li. Harper Fox and Nalini Singh made it to my lists too. 🙂 And while Sarah Creasy didn’t make it, I really enjoyed her books too! I have Lola and the Boy Next Door in my TBR… still! I have to get to that book this next year.
    I love how eclectic your list turned out to be! Hope your 2012 is great too.

    BTW, great graph and trend analysis! One of these days I’ll really take a look at my #’s (I don’t have the patience for it). LOL!

    • I loved going through my favourites and remembering just how much I enjoyed each of them – good times! I think quite a few (sadly, not all) have 2012 releases planned, so I’m excited about them.

      I don’t like actually collating the numbers, but I love looking at changes year-on-year – it’s a trade-off!

  2. Love the post, Li! And wow, you’re such a consistent reader! 🙂 It’s pretty impressive how your numbers (%) are similar to previous years!

    I’ve read 4 books in your top reads list 🙂 Plus I have the Kelly Hunter. Going to have to read that one 😉

    • Yes, definitely try the Kelly Hunter – I’d love to know what you think. It’s pretty interconnected with the previous book though, so would rec you read that first.

      I think I’m a creature of habit 😉 I don’t purposely aim for those %s, so it’s interesting that they don’t vary much year on year!

  3. I know it’s late of me to comment, but I freaking LOVE your graph. Love, because I’ve been thinking that I want to break down my reading in a graph with genres, but I’ve been too lazy to do it. I just did a breakdown of books read per year. You have inspired me! Awesome graph! This probably outs me as a Giant Nerd.

    • Nerds unite! 😉 I actually wanted to stick in trend lines for the previous years as well, but it was getting too messy so I canned them.

      Please post your graph – I would LOVE to see it!

  4. Pingback: More of What I Read Last Year | Me and My Books

  5. Pingback: Kelly Hunter’s Bennett Family series: Mini-reviews | Me and My Books

  6. Pingback: 2012: The Summary | Me and My Books

Leave a Reply

