More Mini-Reviews

Here are more books I read last year (June!) cross-posted from Goodreads, with some additional thoughts in italics.

 ************

House of SilenceHouse of Silence by Linda Gillard (gothic contemporary)

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I picked this up because I’ve read good reviews of Linda Gillard’s other books, plus a British setting is always a bonus.

Lovely, strong writing, but I just didn’t connect with the story and the setting, possibly a bit too Gothic for me – I would try another Gillard, but this one didn’t work for me.

I wanted to love this one.  But I didn’t.  However, plenty of other readers did – go read Angie‘s and Holly‘s reviews. 

 ************

Archangel's Consort (Guild Hunter, #3)Archangel’s Consort by Nalini Singh (paranormal romance)

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I’ve got a feeling I’m just not clicking with this series.

When you start noticing the number of different colours mentioned throughout – the angels’ wings, their hair, their eyes… it’s probably a sign that the story isn’t keeping your attention. I can’t put my finger on why exactly, but the numerous sex scenes probably didn’t help.

I’m going to stick to her Psy/Changeling books from now on – unless the next one gets very good reviews, obviously.

I used to find it difficult to stop reading a series even when the recent books didn’t really work for me – however, I’m finding it much easier nowadays.  Perhaps it’s because there are so many more books out there… or that I’m just more picky nowadays?  Anyway, as much as I love Nalini Singh’s Psy/Changeling books, I’m done with her Guild Hunters series.

 ************

Hunt the Moon (Cassandra Palmer, #5)Hunt the Moon by Karen Chance (urban fantasy)

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m a big Karen Chance fangirl, so this was on my Must Buy list.

I wasn’t massively keen on how Cassie’s love life played out over this book – I’m not a fan of love triangles (understatement). I’ve got to say here that I feel Cassie was cheating on Mircea and if the situation had been reversed, Cassie would have had an absolute fit. Relationship developments aside, I liked this book – while fast-paced as always, this book didn’t go at a breakneck pace which I appreciated! I loved finding out more about Cassie’s heritage and it was great to see her growing into her powers.

And oh, an excellent setup for the next book.

I love Karen Chance’s writing – the only downside is the long-ish gap between books.  I’ll have to double-check but I think she has a new Dory book (related series) out this year – looking forward to it!

 ************

Kiss of Snow (Psy-Changeling, #10)Kiss of Snow by Nalini Singh (paranormal romance)

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Wow. I’ve been waiting for Hawke/Sienna’s book for a long time and this lived up to expectations.

I was engrossed in this story from the very first page. I’m not normally one for super alpha males – and trust me, Hawke is one – but this was just right. Sienna’s really grown up since the first time we met her, and this story showed how perfect they were for each other. Sizzling tension and lovely romance. I enjoyed the glimpses of previous books’ characters (just enough page time!) and the secondary romance was sweet and satisfying as well.

I stayed up until 2am to finish this even though I had to get up at 7am – and you know what? It was worth it.

One of my favourite books of 2011 – it’s rare when you have such high expectations for a book, and it delivers on all fronts.  This is the UK cover, by the way – does the picture fit your image of Hawke?

 ************

Come Unto These Yellow SandsCome Unto These Yellow Sands by Josh Lanyon (m/m romance)

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Josh Lanyon’s contemporaries usually hit the right spot with me and this was no exception.

I have a thing for damaged heroes so Swift’s troubled past pulled me in quickly. And I loved the relationship between Swift and Max – angst mixed in with a whole lot of attraction and caring. The mystery and its resolution struck me as being stronger than some of Lanyon’s other stories, which was a plus!

Small niggle, but I was confused over Swift using his last name when we were in his POV – it was explained later on in the book but I spent the first one-fifth of the book thinking it was slightly jarring. I also would have loved to have spent some time in Max’s perspective, but overall, satisfying read.

I just like Josh Lanyon’s writing.  I’m not sure if precise is exactly the right word, but he manages to set the scene and bring the story alive in so few words. 

 ************

Last LineLast Line by Harper Fox (m/m romance)

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was a rather dark read – Michael came across as extremely damaged and I closed the book not entirely sure about the h/h’s HEA. There were too many shades of grey in this one – the story felt slightly inconclusive and I never quite got the supernatural elements.

But I loved Harper Fox’s writing as always, and I read this in one sitting – mixed feelings here, obviously. This is apparently the first of a trilogy, which may explain some of the above – I’m keen to see how this story plays out.

This was probably a bit too grim for me.  Harper Fox is very much an auto-buy author for me – the hits far outweigh the misses, and even when it is a miss, it’s still a pretty good read.

4 thoughts on “More Mini-Reviews

  1. Interesting Li, we had the same response to some of these books/series. I absolutely LOVED Kiss of Snow and it also made it to the top of my list for 2011.

    I’m also NOT clicking with Singh’s Guild Hunter series and am done with it. It’s quite easy for me to give up on series too… there are too many books that I want to read out there!

    We agree on Come Unto These Yellow Sands by Lanyon. I don’t love all of Lanyon’s books, but I seem to enjoy them enough to want to read them ALL. LOL! And, I have not read Last Line by Fox, even though I love her work, because there’s something about the blurb that is not pulling at me.

    • I would approach LAST LINE with caution – yes, it drew me in, but was so ambiguous. I’m reserving judgement *because* I think there will be a sequel (and that indicates how much I love her writing) – I think I would have had less of a positive reaction if it was purely a standalone.

      And good to know we had similar responses! Always useful when exploring recs 😉

  2. You know, Li, I think it’s a combination of both. More books out there and us being more picky. I agree with you, it used to be hard to stop reading a series, but now, it’s much easier.

    I think it’s a good decision you didn’t read Archangel’s Blade… For me, there’s just something off in the Guild Hunter world. Although I have yet to stop entirely the series, but soon I think LOL.

    At least, I’m glad it’s the series and not Nalini Singh that was the problem for you 🙂 Yay on Kiss of Snow, right? 😛

    • KISS OF SNOW was really good! I’m looking forward to the new Psy/Changeling book coming out soon.

      I remember when I used to pick up every new UF book out there, just because it was UF and there was so few of them… now we’re spoilt for choice.

Leave a Reply

