Books for April

For some reason, I thought there were more new releases in April that I wanted – anyway, here are the four I’m getting:

*

Sharon Shinn‘s THE SHAPE OF DESIRE (urban fantasy): I was madly excited when I found out Sharon Shinn was writing an urban fantasy.  I’ve always loved her more traditional fantasy books (which are wonderfully romantic and are just written beautifully), and having her write in one of the more popular sub-genres just excited me.

I’ve finished THE SHAPE OF DESIRE now and to be honest, I’m in two minds about it.  More so about the story and Maria/Dante’s relationship, as opposed to the writing (which was as evocative as always).  I’ll probably get my Goodreads review up shortly, but has anyone else finished it yet?  I think I need to discuss!

Blurb:

For fifteen years Maria Devane has been desperately, passionately in love with Dante Romano. But despite loving him with all of her heart and soul, Maria knows that Dante can never give all of himself back-at least not all the time.

Every month, Dante shifts shape, becoming a wild animal. During those times, he wanders far and wide, leaving Maria alone. He can’t choose when he shifts, the transition is often abrupt and, as he gets older, the time he spends in human form is gradually decreasing. But Maria, who loves him without hesitation, wouldn’t trade their unusual relationship for anything.

Since the beginning, she has kept his secret, knowing that their love is worth the danger. But when a string of brutal attacks occur in local parks during the times when Dante is in animal form, Maria is forced to consider whether the lies she’s been telling about her life have turned into lies she’s telling herself…

Out now (PDF excerpt)

*

Sherwood Smith‘s BANNER OF THE DAMNED (fantasy): A standalone (yes!) story set in Sherwood Smith’s Inda universe – I am reading this now and am totally absorbed.  It’s shaping up to be a very good one.

Blurb:

Princess Lasva is about to be named heir to her childless sister, the queen. But, when the queen finally bears an heir, Lasva’s future is shattered. Grief-stricken, she leaves her country of Colend and falls into the arms of Prince Ivandred of Marloven Hesea. His people are utterly different-with their expertise in riding, weaponry, and magic- and the two soon marry.

When the sensational news makes its way to Lasva’s sister, the queen worries for Lasva at the hands of the Marlovens, whose king’s mage is in league with the magical land of Norsunder-considered by Colendi to be their enemy. The queen orders Emras, a scribe, to guard Lasva.

But it may be too late-Lasva is already deeply involved with the Marlovens and their magic. War wages on, and all are forced to redefine love, loyalty, and power…

Out now (excerpt)

*

Holly Black‘s BLACK HEART (YA urban fantasy): This is the conclusion to her Curse Workers trilogy.  It’s funny – I take ages to pick up the latest in this series (okay, the past two) and then I always wonder what took me so long because I end up enjoying the twistiness and double-crossing of Cassel’s world.  It’s urban fantasy with a bit of bite to it, and I’m wondering how Holly Black is going to conclude Cassel’s story.

Blurb:

Cassel Sharpe knows he’s been used as an assassin, but he’s trying to put all that behind him. He’s trying to be good, even though he grew up in a family of con artists and cheating comes as easily as breathing to him. He’s trying to do the right thing, even though the girl he loves is inextricably connected with crime. And he’s trying to convince himself that working for the Feds is smart, even though he’s been raised to believe the government is the enemy.

But with a mother on the lam, the girl he loves about to take her place in the Mob, and new secrets coming to light, the line between what’s right and what’s wrong becomes increasingly blurred. When the Feds ask Cassel to do the one thing he said he would never do again, he needs to sort out what’s a con and what’s truth. In a dangerous game and with his life on the line, Cassel may have to make his biggest gamble yet—this time on love.

Out now (book page)

*

Kelly Hunter‘s CRACKING THE DATING CODE (category contemporary romance): Kelly Hunter’s now an autobuy author for me – I’ve enjoyed every single one of her books.  This is the latest – loosely connected to her previous book, FLIRTING WITH INTENT.

Blurb:

A Crash Course in Flirtation…

Poppy West – genius and legendary code-cracker – needs a hideaway. Her borrowed desert island seems perfect – until she discovers the owner is the most dangerously sexy man she has ever laid eyes on… Now she’s out of her depth!

Sebastian Reyne never intended to teach Poppy all the delightful, enticing mysteries of flirtation. Poppy needs a nice man, not a rogue. A patient man, not one who can’t be controlled. But her clueless attempts at cracking the dating code bring out the rescuer in him, the teacher in him, even the gentleman in him. For a while.

Until Poppy’s skills start to exceed his own…

Out now (excerpt)

9 thoughts on “Books for April

  1. I have the first two on my TBR mountain but I don’t know when I’ll get to them. I accepted 9 books for review in April which will keep me pretty busy. I haven’t tried Holly Black’s series yet either. I had the first one in the pile until I donated it to my High School Media Center. I’m also looking forward to Crystal Gardens by Amanda Quick. Luckily I got a review copy. I’ll actually be able to read that one in April. Have a great month!

    • I’m really enjoying BANNER OF THE DAMNED, but it’s a looong book – I’ve still about a quarter to go. I think Holly Black’s series would do well in your school’s Media Centre!

      I’ve not been keeping up with the Quick books, only the ones she writes under Jayne Castle – will look out for your review!

  2. Seems like it’s quiet April month for you, Li! My list of new releases was as long as my arm!

    I’m curious about the Sherwood Smith book. I know you enjoy that author. I’m looking forward to your thoughts of Banner of the Damned.

    Also, I’m going to keep an eye on the Kelly Hunter 🙂

    • It is a quiet month, but I’m still making my way through the March releases!

      Like I said to Kathy, I’m liking BANNER – only thing is that because it’s set in her Inda universe (and it’s been ages since I’ve read the books), there are details that escape me. Not necessary for the story as a whole, but I think I’m missing a bit of the history.

      The Kelly Hunter was fun – I really like her books!

  3. I only just bought The Shape of Desire, but I’m a bit nervous about it. I love Shinn absolutely and she’s an autobuy for me, but urban fantasy just doesn’t work for me. There have been a couple of exceptions (in fact, the only one that comes to mind is the Ukiah Oregon series), but on the whole, I tend to be all “meh”. And I’ve tried all the ones everyone likes, so I don’t think it’s a matter of not choosing the right authors. Hopefully Shinn will be one of the exceptions.

    • The Shinn book read more like romance to me, TBH. I’ll keep an eye out for your review! And umm… as for UF series, have you read Seanan McGuire’s October Daye books? I *think* that may be more akin to your tastes.

Leave a Reply

