A Short Reading Month

Picking up where we left off, here are books I read in August last year.   And I only read four during the ENTIRE month.  Huh.  It also looks to have been a bit of a romance month.

As always, reviews were posted on Goodreads originally, but with additional comments in italics this time around.

************

Regency StingRegency Sting by Elizabeth Mansfield (regency romance)

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I really like Elizabeth Mansfield’s historicals – she gives good romance within the length constraints dictated by categories. This was a traditional regency with an American heir being the main plot point. It was a decent read – I liked the relationship between the h/h and how the story eventually played out. Yes, it was a bit predictable and the secondary romance didn’t do anything for me, but overall, I enjoyed this.

And the rating of three stars probably holds true, i.e. I liked.  Or in other words, I enjoyed it while I was reading it, but only have a vague memory of the plot and characters eight months later.

************

Just Like Heaven (Smythe-Smith Quartet #1)Just Like Heaven by Julia Quinn (historical romance)

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Well, it’s a Julia Quinn so it has to be a fun read – it delivered on that front, her trademark Quinn humour made me smile. I liked revisiting the Bridgertons (it’s been too long!) and loved seeing the Smythe-Smiths from another angle. However, I struggled somewhat trying to remember the h/h a couple of weeks later. Fun and frothy, but not necessarily memorable.

Julia Quinn is still an auto-buy author for me, but I don’t rush out to buy her books on the first day of release any more.  Her Bridgerton books are still my favourites. 

************

Life Lessons (Life Lessons, #1)Life Lessons by Kaje Harper (m/m romance)

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A slightly convoluted murder mystery with a rather unbelievable villain. However, while the story started slowly, it built up to an ending that had me buying the next book, Breaking Cover, to find out what happens next.

This was my first Kaje Harper, and I suspect I picked this up based on a rec on a review site somewhere.  I liked it, but it was the second book (below) that sealed the deal.

************

Breaking Cover (Life Lessons, #2)Breaking Cover by Kaje Harper (m/m romance)

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The setup reminded me slightly of Josh Lanyon‘s Adrien English series – and comparisons against the AE series always leave the other books looking slightly lacking. Having said that, I thought the suspense was balanced well against the romance elements in this book. Generally, the relationship was more angst-y than the prequel Life Lessons, which is always a plus for me!

I did like this book, and have added Kaje Harper to my list of authors to read.

I think there’ll be another book in this series coming out soon – I hope so, as this is shaping up to be a good romantic suspense type of series.  Then again, my weak spot is relationships that develop over the course of several books, as opposed to insta-love + HEA in one book.

8 thoughts on “A Short Reading Month

  1. Pretty quiet month for you. Were you very busy or on vacation? 😛 Too bad there’s not one book that stood out more.

    I agree with you in the Julia Quinn. It was cute, but not really memorable. I just like seeing the Smith-Smythe 😛

    I still run after the new releases, more because it gives me something to read than for the authors lately…

  2. LOL. At least, I’m doing better on new releases 🙂

    Okay, yes, it does make my dilemma a bit more difficult, but at least, it makes more sense!!! Now, this could be pretty 🙂 Prettier without the outer vellum, but hey, can’t have everything!

  3. Ooo that is a quiet month. I used to devour Julia Quinn’s books, but unfortunately, I can’t get into them anymore. 😦 I think I burned myself out on Historicals a couple of years ago. Sorry that none of the books this month were really memorable for you!

    • I think I’m (very) slowly getting back into the historical swing of things. It’s rare that I read a new-to-me author (in fact, I can’t remember the last one), but I still get around to my old favourites eventually.

Leave a Reply

