Favourite UFs and a PR Question

I did this a while back, but never posted about it (probably because I was planning on making the page slightly prettier – yes, that didn’t happen).  But Angie and Jan posting their top ten favourite UF books reminded me that I’d collated my favourite books over the past six years and split them out by genre. Unfortunately, my UF list is kind of boring as it’s based on my annual favourites which obviously isn’t restricted by author – so it basically has the same four authors repeated over and over again.

************

45713_900Speaking of favourite UF authors (note the neat segue), Seanan McGuire did an AMA at Reddit.  You can read the entire AMA thread here or just her responses (click on context for the question).  For Toby fans, this response to a question about Quentin’s parentage jumped out at me:

I’m not telling. 🙂 Quentin is a blind foster, which means that the identities of his parents have been concealed for a good reason. I will tell you, however, that the question of his parentage will be conclusively answered in the next book, Chimes at Midnight, which comes out in September.

I am so excited. And while we’re on CHIMES OF MIDNIGHT, you have seen the new cover, no?  Pretty.

************

I didn’t realise Kelley Armstrong had a Tumblr.  She talks about a new 2013 novella in her Otherworld series a bit here.  It’s set after 13, and is titled “Brazen”.  Subterranean Press has done all her previous novellas in ebook format, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed that this will be the case as well.

************

Nalini Singh put up a cute short story set in her Psy-Changeling world a while ago (I really need to blog more often).  Any thoughts on the secrecy and big build-up to her next Psy-Changeling release?  I get that it’s a big book (heck, it’s the Ghost reveal) and I love the Psy-Changeling books, but I’m on the fence around the drip-drip approach to revealing the cover, back cover description etc.  It’s not a specific gripe about HEART OF OBSIDIAN – any kind of PR campaign that is meant to make me more curious about the book normally has the opposite effect.

6 thoughts on “Favourite UFs and a PR Question

  1. LOL! I get turned off by the PR campaign stuff… so I’m not following the Heart of Obsidian campaign at all! I don’t want to spoil it for myself. I’ll have to look up that short story by Singh! I missed it. 🙂

    • It’s a sweet short – nice bonus read for her fans!

      Yeah, I’d just rather have a “normal” book launch. I think having a massive launch builds up so much expectation, and the book doesn’t live up to the hype as a result.

  2. I got kind of tired of the Psy-Changling a couple of books ago so I haven’t been following the PR, but I agree that too much build-up may backfire. I think her fans are excited to have the book come out and the PR isn’t needed. Maybe if this was her first book or the first book in a new series, but this is a book fans have been waiting for, I think.

    • Speaking as a fan, yes, definitely! The books have been a bit uneven IMO so understand why you’ve not been into the past few, but I really want to know the resolution of the Ghost storyline.

      The other hotly-anticipated book in the series was Hawke’s story IIRC – I can’t remember what the PR push was like now, it was probably the same…

Leave a Reply

