Books for May

May = TWO Bank Holiday weekends.  And these new releases.  What’s not to love?

*

12106940Charlaine Harris‘s DEAD EVER AFTER (urban fantasy): The final Sookie Stackhouse book.  It feels a bit like the end of an era; Sookie was one of the first UF heroines out there, and I still remember devouring the first few Bon Temps books when I first stumbled across them.  But if I’m honest, it also feels like Charlaine Harris has run out of steam in the more recent books, so I’m more than ready for Sookie’s story to come to an end.  I’m avoiding spoilers, BTW (or at least trying to), but I’m also trying to prepare myself based on the rumours.

Sookie Stackhouse has one last adventure in store.

Life has taken her from a waitress in Merlotte’s Bar, Bon Temps, to part owner; from social outcast to the heart of her community; from a vampire’s girlfriend to the wife of one of the most powerful vampires in the state. She has survived earthquakes, revolutions and attempts on her life. Sookie has endured betrayal, heartbreak and grief… and she has emerged a little stronger, and little wiser, every time.

But with life comes new trials…

The question is, in the end: who will love, who will live, and who will be dead ever after?

Sookie finds it easy to turn down the request of former barmaid Arlene when she wants her job back at Merlotte’s. After all, Arlene tried to have Sookie killed. But her relationship with Eric Northman is not so clearcut. He and his vampires are keeping their distance…and a cold silence. And when Sookie learns the reason why, she is devastated. Then a shocking murder rocks Bon Temps, and Sookie is arrested for the crime.  But the evidence against Sookie is weak, and she makes bail. Investigating the killing, she’ll learn that what passes for truth in Bon Temps is only a convenient lie. What passes for justice is more spilled blood. And what passes for love is never enough…

Out May 7

*

13108289Eloisa James‘s ONCE UPON A TOWER (historical romance): Eloisa James is an auto-buy author for me, so a definite yes to this one, even though I haven’t been reading that much historical romance lately. Having said that, I’ve just bought Tessa Dare’s novella ONCE UPON A WINTER’S EVE as it was only £0.40.  I need to watch that impulse buy thing.

Once upon a time…

A duke fell in love

Gowan Stoughton of Craigievar, Duke of Kinross, values order and self-control above all else. So when he meets a lady as serene as she is  beautiful, he promptly asks for her hand in marriage.

With a lady

Edie—whose passionate temperament is the opposite of serene—had such a high fever at her own debut ball that she didn’t notice anyone, not even the notoriously elusive Duke of Kinross. When her father accepts his offer… she panics.

And when their marriage night isn’t all it could be, she pretends.

In a tower.

But Edie’s inability to hide her feelings makes pretending impossible, and when their marriage implodes, she retreats to a tower—locking Gowan out.

Now Gowan faces his greatest challenge. Neither commands nor reason work with his spirited young bride. How can he convince her to give him the keys to the tower…

When she already has the keys to his heart?

Out May 28

*

17453991Melissa Scott and Amy Griswold‘s DEATH BY SILVER (LGBT fantasy/mystery): Hilcia’s review @ Impressions of a Reader piqued my interest – it sounds right up my alley.

His practice newly established, metaphysician Ned Mathey can’t afford to turn away any clients. But the latest Londoner to seek Ned’s magical aid gives him pause: Mr Edgar Nevett, an arrogant banker, is the father of the bully who made Ned’s life hell at boarding school. Nevertheless, Ned accepts the commission to ensure the Nevett family silver bears no ancient or modern curses, and then prepares to banish the Nevett family to unpleasant memory again. Until Edgar Nevett is killed by an enchanted silver candlestick—one of the pieces Ned declared magically harmless.

Calling on his old school friend Julian Lynes—private detective and another victim of the younger Nevett—Ned races to solve the murder, clear the stain on his professional reputation, and lay to rest the ghosts of his past.

Assisted by Ned’s able secretary Miss Frost, who has unexpected metaphysical skills of her own, Ned and Julian explore London’s criminal underworld and sodomitical demimonde, uncover secrets and scandals, confront the unexpected murderer and the mysteries of their own relationship.

In Death by Silver, veteran authors Melissa Scott and Amy Griswold introduce a Victorian London where magic works, influencing every aspect of civilized life, and two very appealing detectives.

Out May 25

*

16130663FEARSOME JOURNEYS edited by Jonathan Strachan (fantasy): Jonathan Strachan describes FEARSOME JOURNEYS as “…an anthology of adventure fantasy, with a slight emphasis on military fantasy and swords and sorcery” (and has the full table of contents at his blog).  It sounds fantastic, with a great mix of new-to-me authors and familiar names.

An amazing array of the most popular and exciting names in Fantasy are set to appear in the first in a brand new series of Fantasy anthologies featuring original fiction, from the master editor Jonathan Strahan. The authors appearing in the launch volume include Trudi Canavan, Elizabeth Bear, Daniel Abraham, Kate Elliott, Saladin Ahmed, Glen Cook, Scott Lynch, Ellen Klages, Ellen Kushner & Ysabeau Wilce, Jeffrey Ford, Robert Redick and KJ Parker.

Out May 28

*

17834453

ETA: Totally forgot to add this digital-only release from Entangled Publishing!

WHEN HONEY GOT MARRIED by Kimberly Lang, Anna Cleary, Kelly Hunter, and Ally Blake (contemporary romance): I wasn’t expecting anything new from Kelly Hunter so soon, so finding out she was a contributor in this anthology was an excellent surprise (and I’ve already bought and finished the book). It’s the romance equivalent of a shared-world anthology (I’m pretty sure there’s a specific term for it, but can’t remember for the life of me) – the other three authors are new-to-me, but as you’d expect, I loved Ms Hunter’s contribution and am already searching out more by Ally Blake.

Four high school friends and a high society bride reunite to celebrate the wedding of the year with the sexy, successful men who steal their hearts and set their skin aflame… A wedding planner should never mix business and pleasure, but Grace couldn’t resist breaking rule number one for a hot night with her high school crush!

Eve hoped to make one last play for the groom-who-got-away…but instead the down-on-her-romantic-luck actress instead found herself in dark corners with his successful, seductive cousin.

The sister of the bride needed a date of convenience and who better than her hazel-eyed, mysterious co-worker? If only Nina could keep her hands off his perfect body until she learned his true identity…

The groom proposed to her eight years earlier, but it was the steamy kiss that Pippa shared with his brother the night she left town that haunted her memories.  Now she’s back and sharing much more than just kisses.

Nothing was going to ruin Honey’s wedding to the man of her dreams.  And she has just the wedding surprise for her beloved groom!

Out now

6 thoughts on “Books for May

  1. I have a couple of the same books on my May list (Charlaine Harris and Eloisa James). Fearsome Journeys sounds good, too. I hadn’t heard of it.

    • I’ve a weak spot for anthologies (especially those with great themes), even though I rarely come across one where all the stories work for me. But I love trying new-to-me authors so I figure that balances it out.

  2. Well now that the Sookie saga is finished, perhaps it’s time I start reading the series? I may as well… I have the first 7 books on my shelf, I think. LOL!

    • Ha – in which case, yes, most definitely! I’m like that sometimes though – especially if the series is known for cliffhangers, I wait until all the books are out…

  3. Oh, thank you thank you thank you for bringing When Honey Got Married to my attention Li! I’m going through Kelly Hunter withdrawal! Seriously, we need more books by her this year!

    Hope you enjoy the last Sookie book 🙂 and the Eloisa James… I have mixed feelings towards it as Ms James is hit and miss for me. I don’t know, the blurb is kind of weird. Let me know what you think of it!

    • You’re welcome! I needed a Kelly Hunter fix myself 🙂

      I’m avoiding Sookie spoilers like the plague (and now there are Nalini Singh’s HEART OF OBSESSION spoilers around too – ???!!!). I didn’t care for the last Eloisa James’ book, IIRC, but I’ve already pre-ordered this one.

Leave a Reply

