Books for June

There are quite a few June new releases on my radar, and they’re all due to be released in the first week of the month (according to Goodreads, anyway).

*

17701728Nalini Singh‘s HEART OF OBSIDIAN (paranormal romance): The big build-up to the reveal of The Ghost’s identity in this 12th Psy-Changeling book was punctured when spoilers started floating around the interwebs – and yes, I was inadvertently spoiled.  At first, I was all %^^&*, but then I realised I didn’t really care.  The identity of the hero isn’t exactly a spoiler as to the plot, is it?

While we’re on the subject, Nalini Singh is doing a London signing (June 14th @ Forbidden Planet, if you’ve missed the news) for this book – I’m on the fence as to whether I’m going or not.  On one hand, it’s extremely rare that an author I love actually makes an appearance in my home city; on the other, I remember my pathetic fangirl showing when Kelley Armstrong did a signing here – I turned up at the bookstore, saw the (very) long queue, and promptly decided that I had better things to do that evening.  I know.

Step into New York Times bestseller Nalini Singh’s explosive and shockingly passionate Psy-Changeling world…

A dangerous, volatile rebel, hands stained bloodred.
A woman whose very existence has been erased.
A love story so dark, it may shatter the world itself.
A deadly price that must be paid.
The day of reckoning is here.

Out June 6

*

12591719James SA Corey‘s ABADDON’S GATE (SF): James SA Corey is the pen name for Daniel Abraham and Ty Franck, and it’s a pretty seamless pairing, writing-wise.  I’ve enjoyed the first two books in their space opera series (trilogy, possibly?), and I’ll be surprised if I don’t end up saying the same about the third book – they do that page-turning kind of story-telling rather well, and the second book ended on an interesting note.

For generations, the solar system – Mars, the Moon, the Asteroid Belt – was humanity’s great frontier. Until now. The alien artefact working through its program under the clouds of Venus has emerged to build a massive structure outside the orbit of Uranus: a gate that leads into a starless dark.

Jim Holden and the crew of the Rocinante are part of a vast flotilla of scientific and military ships going out to examine the artefact. But behind the scenes, a complex plot is unfolding, with the destruction of Holden at its core. As the emissaries of the human race try to find whether the gate is an opportunity or a threat, the greatest danger is the one they brought with them.

Out June 4

*

13477883Richelle Mead‘s GAMEBOARD OF THE GODS (SF): Richelle Mead sets out in a new direction here, switching from urban fantasy to something a bit more futuristic.  I’ve actually liked her adult UFs better than her previous/current YA books, so I’m looking forward to this one.

In a futuristic world nearly destroyed by religious extremists, Justin March lives in exile after failing in his job as an investigator of religious groups and supernatural claims. But Justin is given a second chance when Mae Koskinen comes to bring him back to the Republic of United North America (RUNA). Raised in an aristocratic caste, Mae is now a member of the military’s most elite and terrifying tier, a soldier with enhanced reflexes and skills.

When Justin and Mae are assigned to work together to solve a string of ritualistic murders, they soon realize that their discoveries have exposed them to terrible danger. As their investigation races forward, unknown enemies and powers greater than they can imagine are gathering in the shadows, ready to reclaim the world in which humans are merely game pieces on their board.

Gameboard of the Gods, the first installment of Richelle Mead’s Age of X series, will have all the elements that have made her YA Vampire Academy and Bloodlines series such mega-successes: sexy, irresistible characters; romantic and mythological intrigue; and relentless action and suspense.

Out June 4

*

15702280Wen Spencer‘s EIGHT MILLION GODS (UF): I’m a big fan of Wen Spencer’s writing, although I don’t talk about her books a lot here (she’s not a massively prolific author, which may also play a part) – I like how her stories are distinctly different to other UFs out there.  This one is a standalone UF set in Japan, and I’ve already read it (as Baen releases the e-version the month before) – like all her other books, she drew me into her world from the start and I finished the book in a couple of sittings, though I thought the side-romance verged on the insta-love side of things.  The setting certainly felt authentic to me, but I admit to not knowing very much about Japanese culture, and I will be very curious to read reviews from Japan-based readers to see if they think it’s an accurate reflection.

A contemporary fantasy of mystery and death as American expats battle Japanese gods and monsters to retrieve an ancient artifact that can destroy the world.

On Saturday afternoon, Nikki Delany thought, “George Wilson, in the kitchen, with a blender.” By dinner, she had killed George and posted his gory murder to her blog. The next day, she put on her mourning clothes and went out to meet her best friend for lunch to discuss finding a replacement for her love interest.

Nikki is a horror novelist. Her choice of career is dictated by an Obsessive Compulsive Disorder that forces her to write stories of death and destruction. She can’t control it, doesn’t understand it, but can use it to make money anywhere in the world. Currently “anywhere” is in Japan, hiding from her mother who sees Nikki’s OCD as proof she’s mentally unstable. Nikki’s fragile peace starts to fall apart when the police arrest her for the murder of an American expatriate. Someone killed him with a blender.

Reality starts to unravel around Nikki. She’s attacked by a raccoon in a business suit. After a series of blackouts, she’s accompanied by a boy that no one else can see, a boy who claims to be a god. Is she really being pursued by Japanese myths—or is she simply going insane?

What Nikki does know for sure is that the bodies are piling up, her mother has arrived in Japan to lock her up for the rest of her life—and her novels always end with everyone dead.

Out June 4 (ebook already available @ Baen Ebooks)

*

15714476Cassandra Rose Clarke‘s THE PIRATE’S WISH (YA fantasy): This is the second in a duology – I read and liked the first book THE ASSASSIN’s CURSE last year, though I obviously haven’t blogged about it.  Anyway, based on my notes, I really liked the heroine (ticked the bright, independent, and brave boxes), the hero got on my nerves occasionally (intriguing, yes, but also verging on too-petulant at times), and although I thought the last third of the book dragged somewhat, I was looking forward to seeing their story wrapped up.  Plus, I like duologies.

After setting out to break the curse that binds them together, the pirate Ananna and the assassin Naji find themselves stranded on an enchanted island in the north with nothing but a sword, their wits, and the secret to breaking the curse: complete three impossible tasks. With the help of their friend Marjani and a rather unusual ally, Ananna and Naji make their way south again, seeking what seems to be beyond their reach.

Unfortunately, Naji has enemies from the shadowy world known as the Mists, and Ananna must still face the repercussions of going up against the Pirate Confederation. Together, Naji and Ananna must break the curse, escape their enemies — and come to terms with their growing romantic attraction.

Out June 4

*

Other June books I may get:

  • Sarah Dessen‘s THE MOON AND MORE (YA romance): I loved the first Dessens that I read, but they lean towards the formulaic side (to be fair, similarities probably jump out more when you read five or so in a row, say).  Probably a library reservation for this one.
  • Kaje Harper‘s SOLE SUPPORT (m/m romance): I will probably buy this (unless reviews are totally meh). I enjoy her Life Lessons series, but her non-LL books haven’t really worked for me.

*

17907041ETA: Elizabeth Wein‘s ROSE UNDER FIRE (companion to CODE NAME VERITY) is also out in the UK (June 3). Very much an auto-buy – CNV was a winner.

Rose Justice is a young American ATA pilot, delivering planes and taxiing pilots for the RAF in the UK during the summer of 1944. A budding poet who feels most alive while flying, she discovers that not all battles are fought in the air. An unforgettable journey from innocence to experience from the author of the best-selling, multi-award-nominated Code Name Verity. From the exhilaration of being the youngest pilot in the British air transport auxiliary, to the aftermath of surviving the notorious Ravensbruck women’s concentration camp, Rose’s story is one of courage in the face of adversity.

6 thoughts on “Books for June

  1. I too would really like to go to the Nalini Singh signing – like you’ve said it’s so rare for a writer (I really like) to make it to the UK. But I just can’t get to London at the moment.

    So glad I’ve started getting out and about in the internet again – I didn’t even realise Wen Spencer had a new book out – that’s how out of touch I am. 🙂

    • I’m glad to see you back in the blogging world too! Wen Spencer fell off my radar for a while, but then I caught up on her Tinker books when the most recent came out last year, IIRC.

      The Nalini Singh signing is next week – I figure I have several days to decide one way or the other…

  2. You’ve got some good books on your June list…I have several of them on my June list, too! I downloaded Leviathan Wakes a few months ago, but still haven’t read it. I will have to move it up in the queue so I can catch up in this series! I’m going to look at all these books on your list. They look good.

    • It’s a great month for new releases! I was late to the party with LEVIATHAN WAKES as well, but at least it meant I could read the second book straight after… which is always a bonus when you do start a series a bit later.

  3. Hey Li!

    So today is the day! What did you decide? I hope you enjoy the book! I thought Heart of Obsidian was a great one 🙂 And it seems this was the only one we had in common this month.

    For me, it really depends on how the signing is done. Most of the ones I’ve attended, the authors usually talk a little before. So that makes it worth going in my opinion. If it’s only standing in line and having the book sign and only a few seconds to gush, I’d be like you. More on the fence.

    • Hey Nath – I ended up passing, had a very long week at work and just wanted to collapse in front of the TV when Friday evening rolled around…

      Yes, I like reading about signings where the author speaks beforehand, but the ones I’ve seen locally have been of the latter format. I think.

Leave a Reply

