Books for July

The July new releases I have on my list…

16130105Lisa Lutz‘s THE LAST WORD (mystery): It’s been a while since the last Spellman book – I wasn’t sure if there would be another one, so was delighted to see this new installment pop up.  The Spellmans are just on the right side of crazy-hilarious, and I love how the story is told through transcripts, case notes, and numerous other devices.  I also have a massive soft spot for Izzy, and this is one of the very few books I’ve pre-ordered this year.

Isabel Spellman is used to being followed, extorted, and questioned—all occupational hazards of working at her family’s firm, Spellman Investigations. Her little sister, Rae, once tailed Izzy for weeks on end to discover the identity of her boyfriend. Her mother, Olivia, once blackmailed Izzy with photographic evidence of Prom Night 1994. It seemed that the Spellmans would lay off after Izzy was fired for breaching client confidentiality, but then Izzy avenged her dismissal by staging a hostile takeover of the company. She should have known better than to think she could put such shenanigans behind her.

In The Last Word, Izzy’s troubles are just beginning. After her hostile takeover of Spellman Investigations, Izzy’s parents simply go on strike. Her sister, Rae, comes back into the family business with questionable motivations. Her other employees seem to be coping with anxiety disorders, and she has no idea how to pay the bills. However, her worst threat comes from someone who is no relation. Within months of assuming control of the business, Izzy is accused of embezzling from a former client, the ridiculously wealthy Mr. Slayter, who happens to have Alzheimer’s, which Izzy and he are diligently trying to keep under wraps. Not only is Slayter’s business and reputation on the line, but if Izzy gets indicted for embezzlement, she’ll lose everything—her business, her license, and her family’s livelihood. Is this the end of Izzy Spellman, PI? The answer makes The Last Word, hands down, the most thrilling book in this bestselling, award-nominated series.

Out July 9

*

17237161Juliet Marillier‘s RAVEN FLIGHT (YA fantasy): I’ve been enviously eyeing the early reviews appearing on this one. The first book, SHADOWFELL, may not have been my favourite Marillier, but it’s still a Marillier, and I need my fix.

Neryn has finally found the rebel group at Shadowfell, and now her task is to seek out the elusive Guardians, vital to her training as a Caller. These four powerful beings have been increasingly at odds with human kind, and Neryn must prove her worth to them. She desperately needs their help to use her gift without compromising herself or the cause of overthrowing the evil King Keldec.

Neryn must journey with the tough and steadfast Tali, who looks on Neryn’s love for the double agent Flint as a needless vulnerability. And perhaps it is. What Flint learns from the king will change the battlefield entirely—but in whose favor, no one knows.

Out July 9

*

Magicrises_UK-184x300Ilona AndrewsMAGIC RISES (urban fantasy): I don’t really think I need to explain why this book is on my list at all.  The authors say they will be uploading the ebook version for the UK market as soon as the US version is released, which makes me happy.  Love the UK cover as well – that’s one fierce Kate.

Atlanta is a city plagued by magical problems. Kate Daniels will fight to solve them—no matter the cost.

Mercenary Kate Daniels and her mate, Curran, the Beast Lord, are struggling to solve a heartbreaking crisis. Unable to control their beasts, many of the Pack’s shapeshifting children fail to survive to adulthood. While there is a medicine that can help, the secret to its making is closely guarded by the European packs, and there’s little available in Atlanta.

Kate can’t bear to watch innocents suffer, but the solution she and Curran have found threatens to be even more painful. The European shapeshifters who once outmaneuvered the Beast Lord have asked him to arbitrate a dispute—and they’ll pay him in medicine. With the young people’s survival and the Pack’s future at stake, Kate and Curran know they must accept the offer—but they have little doubt that they’re heading straight into a trap…

Out July 30

*

16078584Ben Aaronovitch‘s BROKEN HOMES (urban fantasy): If you’re looking for a proper British UF, this series is probably it.  His London feels real and I’m looking forward to more.

A mutilated body in Crawley. Another killer on the loose. The prime suspect is one Robert Weil; an associate of the twisted magician known as the Faceless Man? Or just a common or garden serial killer?

Before PC Peter Grant can get his head round the case a town planner going under a tube train and a stolen grimoire are adding to his case-load.

So far so London.

But then Peter gets word of something very odd happening in Elephant and Castle, on a housing estate designed by a nutter, built by charlatans and inhabited by the truly desperate.

Is there a connection?

And if there is, why oh why did it have to be South of the River?

Out July 25

6 thoughts on “Books for July

  1. Some of the same books are on my list this month! I haven’t read Lisa Lutz’s books, but they sound good. Ben Aaronovitch’s book would be on my list, but it doesn’t come out until the beginning part of next year in the States. 😦

    And I agree the British cover for the Ilona Andrews book is great…better than the U.S, book in my opinion!

    • The model for the US book is different this time around, isn’t it? I think Ilona Andrews did the UK covers themselves so it’s probably a relatively accurate portrayal.

      I saw that Ben Aaronovitch got a different US publisher – boo to the longer wait! I love the Spellman series, though I think it was the second book that really hooked me.

  2. I really have no words for how excited I am about Magic Rises. Also, I finished up Raven Flight…it was better than Shadowfell for me, but still disappointing as a Marillier book. *sigh*

    • I’ve been eyeing your GR updates on RAVEN FLIGHT! Good to know it worked better than the previous book than you – I took a while to warm up to Neryn & co in the first book, so hopefully the groundwork is laid now…

  3. A short list, but a good one Li 😉

    I need to get back to the Spellmans if you have pre-ordered it! 🙂 To me, Izzy was just all over the place, especially romantically. Is she still with Henry?

    Looking forward to the new Kate Daniels book and I agree, the UK cover is nice! Much better than the US I think.

    I didn’t know you read Ben Aaronovitch! I’ve been eyeing his books a while, not sure what to do. what do you think? Should I give it a try?

    • Quality not quantity obviously 😉

      Izzy and Henry were not together in the last book, but I have hopes… What I love about the series is that Izzy (and her sister) really grows up – they’re not stagnant characters.

      I’m really pleased the Andrews have decided to self-pub in the UK – think the series wasn’t marketed very well to start with (can’t remember the publisher now).

      See if you can get Ben Aaronovitch’s books from the library? That’s how I got into them in the first place. I love the sense of place I get from the books – it’s recognisably modern-day London – but it is on the grittier side of UF.

Leave a Reply

