Debra Doyle & James D Macdonald’s THE PRICE OF THE STARS

363059I’ve been skirting the question of blogging and reading slumps recently, but I’m been wondering if I just needed to take a proper break.  And then I stumbled across this book in my TBR pile.

It was an impulse selection – having finished a not-very-exciting YA*, I thought SF would be a nice change of pace, and I recalled Debra Doyle & James D Macdonald‘s THE PRICE OF THE STARS being mentioned in several SF recommendation threads.  And I realised I had bought the ebook** some time back.  So I clicked on it and…

Best decision I’ve made this year.  Seriously.  (Though that may say more about my year so far than this book, admittedly.)

THE PRICE OF THE STARS feels like the first book that I’ve read in ages which had me really excited about reading the next book – maybe more so because I actually thought it was a standalone book (much like Helen Wright‘s A MATTER OF OATHS – sequel please?) and then found out not only was this the first book of a trilogy, but there was FOUR more books in the series (plus two short stories)***.  At which point, I undertook a good old-fashioned glom and have been surviving on the bare minimum of sleep required because I needed to finish the story, dammit.

And then I obviously had to get on my blog to tell all of you about it. What blogging slump?

Right, after all that build-up – here’s the (accurate) back cover blurb:

Freebooter at heart, spacer by trade, Beka Rosselin-Metadi doesn’t want to hear about how her father whose rugged generalship held back the Mageworlds — or her highborn mother whose leadership has held the galaxy together since. Beka pilots spacecraft — as far from her famous family as possible. Then Beka’s mother is assassinated on the Senate floor, and her father offers her the title to Warhammer, prize ship from his own freebooting youth — if she agrees to deliver the assassins to him “off the books”.

Looking for assassins has a tendency to make assassins look for you. In doing so, Beka’s arranged her own very public death and adopted a new identity; now all she has to do is leave a trail of kidnappings and corpses across five star systems, and blow the roof off the strongest private fortress in the galaxy.

Firstly, it’s space opera.  It’s a sub-genre I love (and I kind of feel that it’s seen as the non-trendy thing nowadays with very few new releases****) so I’m thrilled that I discovered this series.  There’s full-on adventure and non-stop action as Beka, her siblings, and their companions race around the galaxy and try to stay alive while figuring out who the bad guys are and getting their revenge.  There’s a bit of romance, lots of derring-do, and even some old-fashioned sword and staff fights amidst the starship battles.  And it’s not pure SF – there’s equal action there on the magic front with some rather sneaky Adepts.

It’s very much a ensemble cast-type of story – there are multiple POVs and subplots, but I was never lost.  I didn’t really have a particular favourite amongst the many characters, so I was perfectly happy just going with the flow and jumping between the different storylines. Maybe that was a weakness, in the sense that no one character completely won my heart, but this style worked for me.

It’s not perfect writing, but the story’s immensely fun and doesn’t take itself too seriously.  It is satisfying story-telling, and if certain things stand out as being too obvious, there are also some out-of-nowhere twists that left me blinking – and needing to know more.  Having finished the final book of the trilogy, I love the way the authors set up certain things in the first book to come to fruition in the third.  THE PRICE OF THE STARS works rather well as a standalone, but there is some good payoff if you stick with the series.

So there you have it – one of my favourite reads of the year so far.  I’m off to read the rest in the Mageworlds series now.

************

*Sarah Dessen’s new release THE MOON AND MORE – okay but a bit on the bland side

**This is why I love ebooks.  This was published in 1992 – without ebooks, what are the chances I would actually have this to hand?

***And the authors have written more series!

****Unless I’m missing out, and in which case, recs please?

15 thoughts on “Debra Doyle & James D Macdonald’s THE PRICE OF THE STARS

  1. Oh, this book sounds good! And even better when I went to check about buying it I discovered I already have the ebook! Thanks for this review!

  2. I think you’re missing some. My collection includes:
    – The Price of the Stars, Starpilot’s Grave, and By Honor Betray’d (the original trilogy)
    – The Gathering Flame (prequel, but do NOT read it first because it may spoil the end of the trilogy)
    – The Long Hunt (Beka’s and Ari’s sons go on a coming-of-age quest)
    – The Stars Asunder and A Working of Stars (deep back-story about the Professor)

    Rumor hath it that there’s another one in process, working title Commander Gil and the Mageworlds. I wait impatiently.

    • I would *love* a book about Commander Gil – fingers crossed!

      Thanks for info about the reading order – I always debate the whole series chronological order v. publication order thing, but I’m glad to know I started in the right place 🙂

  3. Woohoo, so glad you found a new series to enjoy! 🙂

    You know I’m not into sci-fi, but I don’t know, I’m tempted. Been overdosing on a lot of genres, so I guess it’s time to pick up a new one…

    • Hey Nath – yes, I love that feeling! I know what you mean about reading TOO much in one genre, regardless of how much you normally enjoy it – you could always ease into SF via the YA route… 😉

      • I *always* have suggestions…

        Diana Peterfreund’s FOR DARKNESS SHOWS THE STARS – futuristic retelling of Austen’s Persuasion (with swoon-worthy romance)

        Sharon Lee & Steve Miller’s FLEDGLING – not entirely sure this would work for a new reader to the Liaden series, but the authors suggest this as a “portal” book and it has a YA slant, even if not specifically marketed as one.

        Andrea K Host’s Touchstone trilogy – first book is STRAY, the Kindle edition is only £0.76 on Amazon UK (right now). Or her AND ALL THE STARS, which I also liked but I preferred the former.

        Angie recs Marissa Meyer’s SF fairytale retellings – I’ve not read them yet, but they’re certainly on my list: http://www.angie-ville.com/2013/07/cress-cover.html

        There is always the Hunger Games trilogy (can’t remember if you’ve read it, but it kept me hooked). Veronica Roth’s DIVERGENT is the only other much-hyped dystopian YA that I’ve read – not a full-hearted rec, this one. I liked it well enough and will probably borrow the second/third book from my library when the full trilogy is out, but didn’t think it was a standout.

        I bet you’re sorry you asked now 😉

  4. Pingback: Review: The Price of the Stars by Debra Doyle & James D. MacDonald | Notes from a Readerholic

  5. Pingback: Link Round Up | Me and My Books

  6. Pingback: 2013: The Summary | Me and My Books

  7. Pingback: Review: The Price of the Stars by Debra Doyle & James D. MacDonald | Notes from a ReaderholicNotes from a Readerholic

  8. Pingback: Three ummm… Lists Make a List? | Me and My Books

Leave a Reply

