Books for August

August new releases on my radar:

*

17158158Tammara Webber‘s HERE WITHOUT YOU (NA romance): The first book in Tammara Webber’s Between The Lines series ended up being one of my favourite reads of 2012, and I promptly glommed the next two towards the end of last year.  So it feels like quite a while since I’ve last had my BTL fix – I’m very much looking forward to this final book in the series.

Everyone has secrets.
Some are buried so deep, their existence is forgotten.
But a secret never told can turn into a lie.
And in love, a lie is one thing:
Poison.

Reid’s in love with Dori, though she hasn’t told her parents that she’s fallen hard for the guy they’d forbidden her to see. Now she’s leaving for college, and Reid’s promise not to push her to go public is wearing thin, especially when she can’t – or won’t – return those three important words he wants to hear.

Five years ago, Brooke and Reid were a Thing. That relationship is long gone, detonated amid allegations of cheating – but they still share a secret that would stun everyone they know and alter public perception of them both if it ever comes out. And it’s about to do just that.

Out Aug 6

*

11431896Rae Carson‘s THE BITTER KINGDOM (YA fantasy): I didn’t love the first book, but the second intrigued me enough that I’ll probably spring for the third (I borrowed the first two from my trusty local library).  Judging by the early reviews of THE BITTER KINGDOM, this trilogy may be ending on a high. On a side note, I have to say that the UK cover is excellent, IMO.

The epic conclusion to Rae Carson’s Fire and Thorns trilogy. The seventeen-year-old sorcerer-queen will travel into the unknown realm of the enemy to win back her true love, save her country, and uncover the final secrets of her destiny.

Elisa is a fugitive in her own country. Her enemies have stolen the man she loves in order to lure her to the gate of darkness. As she and her daring companions take one last quest into unknown enemy territory to save Hector, Elisa will face hardships she’s never imagined. And she will discover secrets about herself and her world that could change the course of history. She must rise up as champion-a champion to those who have hated her most.

Out Aug 27 (UK release 19 Sept)

*

15801763Sarah Rees Brennan‘s UNTOLD (YA urban fantasy): I’m not a fan of the change in cover design (I loved the original UNSPOKEN cover, and the revised covers scream generic UF to me), but if it helps these books sell better…*shrugs* I liked a lot about UNSPOKEN, and I’m hoping UNTOLD delivers.

It’s time to choose sides… On the surface, Sorry-in-the-Vale is a sleepy English town. But Kami Glass knows the truth. Sorry-in-the-Vale is full of magic. In the old days, the Lynburn family ruled with fear, terrifying the people into submission in order to kill for blood and power. Now the Lynburns are back, and Rob Lynburn is gathering sorcerers so that the town can return to the old ways.

But Rob and his followers aren’t the only sorcerers in town. A decision must be made: pay the blood sacrifice, or fight. For Kami, this means more than just choosing between good and evil. With her link to Jared Lynburn severed, she’s now free to love anyone she chooses. But who should that be?’

Out Aug 29

*

17612868Lee Child‘s NEVER GO BACK (suspense): I’m a Jack Reacher fan, even if I’ve found the recent installments growing more formulaic and violence-heavy.  Intriguing blurb.

After an epic and interrupted journey all the way from the snows of South Dakota, former military cop Jack Reacher has finally made it to Virginia. His destination: a sturdy stone building a short bus ride from Washington D.C., the headquarters of his old unit, the 110th MP. It was the closest thing to a home he ever had.

Why? He wants to meet the new commanding officer, Major Susan Turner. He liked her voice on the phone. But the officer sitting behind his old desk isn’t a woman. Is Susan Turner dead? In Afghanistan? Or in a car wreck?

What Reacher doesn’t expect to hear is that Turner has just been fired from her command. Nor that he himself is in big trouble, accused of a sixteen-year-old homicide. And he certainly doesn’t expect to hear these words: ‘You’re back in the army, Major. And your ass is mine.’

Will he be sorry he went back? Or – will someone else?

Out Aug 29

*

16156292Naomi Novik‘s BLOOD OF TYRANTS (fantasy): This is the penultimate book in the Temeraire series according to Goodreads.  I do think it’s time this series is wrapped up – it’s starting to feel a bit unwieldy and rambling in places – but I’ll still probably get around to reading it soon.

Shipwrecked and cast ashore in Japan with no memory of Temeraire or his own experiences as an English aviator, Laurence finds himself tangled in deadly political intrigues that threaten not only his own life but England’s already precarious position in the Far East. Age-old enmities and suspicions have turned the entire region into a powder keg ready to erupt at the slightest spark—a spark that Laurence and Temeraire may unwittingly provide, leaving Britain faced with new enemies just when they most desperately need allies instead.

For to the west, another, wider conflagration looms. Napoleon has turned on his former ally, the emperor Alexander of Russia, and is even now leading the largest army the world has ever seen to add that country to his list of conquests. It is there, outside the gates of Moscow, that a reunited Laurence and Temeraire—along with some unexpected allies and old friends—will face their ultimate challenge…and learn whether or not there are stronger ties than memory.

Out Aug 13

*

12140024Kelley Armstrong‘s OMENS (UF): I can’t be the only one pleased that Kelley Armstrong is starting a new series.  I’ve skipped her newer MG/YA books, but I’ve high hopes for this one.

Twenty-four-year-old Olivia Taylor Jones has the perfect life. The only daughter of a wealthy, prominent Chicago family, she has an Ivy League education, pursues volunteerism and philanthropy, and is engaged to a handsome young tech firm CEO with political ambitions.

But Olivia’s world is shattered when she learns that she’s adopted. Her real parents? Todd and Pamela Larsen, notorious serial killers serving a life sentence. When the news brings a maelstrom of unwanted publicity to her adopted family and fiancé, Olivia decides to find out the truth about the Larsens.

Olivia ends up in the small town of Cainsville, Illinois, an old and cloistered community that takes a particular interest in both Olivia and her efforts to uncover her birth parents’ past.

Aided by her mother’s former lawyer, Gabriel Walsh, Olivia focuses on the Larsens’ last crime, the one her birth mother swears will prove their innocence. But as she and Gabriel start investigating the case, Olivia finds herself drawing on abilities that have remained hidden since her childhood, gifts that make her both a valuable addition to Cainsville and deeply vulnerable to unknown enemies. Because there are darker secrets behind her new home, and powers lurking in the shadows that have their own plans for her.

Out Aug 20

 

12 thoughts on “Books for August

  1. Ugh, I’m not a fan of the SRB cover redesign either. The original was much more striking and original. But I’m excited for Untold, since we were left on that horrible cliffhanger.

    I didn’t like the first Rae Carson book either, but maybe I shouldn’t kept going.

    And I forgot that you preferred Between th Lines! I haven’t read that. I think I will now.

    • LOL – I wish WP.com offered a comment editing function, I’ve been there!

      I was prepared for the UNSPOKEN cliffhanger because everyone was talking about *the* ending, but I’d have hated it otherwise. I don’t get on with cliffhangers in general – I think of them as a cheap ploy to get the reader to buy the next book.

      I’ve seen really positive reviews for the Rae Carson, so I was disappointed that I didn’t love it – though I admit that may have been that darned expectations thing.

      Yep, I did prefer BTL to EASY, but I think I was in the minority – EASY was on everyone’s Best Of lists… I’ll be keen to see your thoughts on it. Less real-life, more escapism, I think, but I loved the romance.

    • Oooh, it’ll be interesting to get your take on it then! I actually thought they read like very different stories – the first was more of an adventure/coming-of-age IIRC, while the second struck me as more of a romance.

  2. Question, when you say “penultimate,” does that mean the last book?! Really?! I’m curious now LOL.

    It’s sad how generic YA covers can be. Like Bitter Kingdom, the UK cover is so much better. but oh well, it’s all about marketing. I guess that’s why we cannot hope for no more bare chest and man titties in romance. sigh. I know how much you enjoy Sarah Rees Brennan. Looking forward to your review.

    Yay for the new Kelley Armstrong! I’m curious 🙂 Did you also know that she has a new Nadia Stafford book coming out in November? Plus, a new YA series in April 2014. New books are good 🙂

    • Ha – penultimate = next to last! So I may just wait until the final Temeraire book comes out and then read both back-to-back, thinking about it.

      Totally agree it’s about marketing when it comes to covers. It’s not the die-hard fans they’re trying to attract with the revised covers, it’s the casual browser.

      I didn’t realise the Nadia Stafford had a release date! FINALLY. It’s been ages since the last one came out.

  3. Pingback: Sunday Thoughts | Me and My Books

  4. Li, from this bunch, for me it’s Omens! I’ve been dying to try a book by Kelly Armstrong but did NOT want to read her looong, already established series. This is my chance! I can’t wait!

    You’re a Reacher fan? I love Lee Child and this series too! But, I haven’t read any for a long time… I have one in my TBR from about two years ago still unread because I decided to take a break from him.

    I also like Robert Crais’s Elvis Cole and now his Joe Pike series. I’m still following the Joe Pike books because they come out slow.

    • Hey Hils – I can’t believe you haven’t read any of Kelley Armstrong’s books before! I totally understand about long-running series and not wanting to jump in though. OMENS sounds really different to her Otherworld series, but it’s been getting pretty positive early reviews, so fingers crossed it’s a good one.

      I’ve read every single Reacher book (but haven’t bothered with the movie – Tom Cruise… really??) – I don’t think you’ve missed anything with the last couple of books though, the early ones were much better, IMO. I’ve not read any Robert Crais before – thank you for the rec, I’ll have to check them out now.

  5. You found some books which I hadn’t even heard of so I’ll have to go and check them out. The Rae Carson series is definitely one I plan to try.

    • I think most of the YA fantasy series tend to be urban/dystopian fantasy, which is why the Rae Carson books stand out a bit. I’m really interested in seeing what she decides to write next.

Leave a Reply

