Books for September

Just where did summer go??  I can’t believe it’s September already.  And references to Christmas are starting to pop up.  Ack.

BUT – I am really excited about these September releases, so I can’t complain too much about seeing summer in the rear-view mirror…

*

10184403Seanan McGuire‘s CHIMES AT MIDNIGHT (urban fantasy): It has been way too long since we last met up with Toby.  Way too long.

Things are starting to look up for October “Toby” Daye. She’s training her squire, doing her job, and has finally allowed herself to grow closer to the local King of Cats. It seems like her life may finally be settling down…at least until dead changelings start appearing in the alleys of San Francisco, killed by an overdose of goblin fruit.

Toby’s efforts to take the problem to the Queen of the Mists are met with harsh reprisals, leaving her under sentence of exile from her home and everyone she loves. Now Toby must find a way to reverse the Queens decree, get the goblin fruit off the streets–and, oh, yes, save her own life, since more than a few of her problems have once again followed her home. And then there’s the question of the Queen herself, who seems increasingly unlikely to have a valid claim to the throne….

To find the answers, October and her friends will have to travel from the legendary Library of Stars into the hidden depths of the Kingdom of the Mists–and they’ll have to do it fast, because time is running out. In faerie, some fates are worse than death.

October Daye is about to find out what they are.

Out Sept 3

*

18368204Eileen WilksRITUAL MAGIC (urban fantasy): I’ve always loved this series, but Chachic’s recent series glom (complete with Goodreads status updates) has whetted my appetite even more for this 10th installment in the series (which, based on the back cover blurb, sounds both intriguing and terrifying in equal measures).

 In Eileen Wilks’s new Novel of the Lupi, FBI agent Lily Yu is about to confront a power even darker than magic…

On her 57th birthday, Lily’s mother suddenly loses all memory beyond the age of twelve. Lily knows her mother was attacked by something more than magic. More . . . and darker.

When Lily and Rule discover that others suffered the same, mysterious loss—at the same time on the same night—their investigation into the darkness begins. Joining them is someone Lily never thought she’d see again: Al Drummond, who once tried to destroy her. He also happens to be dead. But the mysterious attacks were caused by a power strong enough to affect matters beyond the world of the living.

With some victims losing years of memory and others their lives, Lily must discover what on earth—or beyond—connects them.

Out Sept 3

*

18048366Tamora Pierce‘s BATTLE MAGIC (YA fantasy): Speaking of a long wait, the last new Tamora Pierce feels like ages ago.  She’s always an autobuy for me, and this excerpt has made me even more excited.  Boo to the fact no UK publishers picked this up though (seriously??!).

On their way to the first Circle temple in Gyongxi, mages Briar, Rosethorn, and Evvy pay a visit to the emperor’s summer palace. Although treated like royalty when they first arrive, the mages soon discover that the emperor plans to invade Gyongxi, posing a fatal threat to the home temple of the Living Circle religion. Accompanied by one of the emperor’s prize captives, the three mages rush to Gyongxi to warn its citizens of the impending attack. With the imperials hot on their trail, Briar, Rosethorn, and Evvy must quickly help the country prepare for battle. But even with the help of new allies, will their combined forces be enough to fight the imperial army and win the war?

Out Sept 24

*

17665110Sherry ThomasTHE BURNING SKY (YA fantasy): I’ve not read any Sherry Thomas novels before, though I’m pretty sure her debut historical romance novel is lurking in my TBR pile (okay, I know it is).  But her new YA fantasy sounds amazing – elemental mages, prophecies, and romance – what’s not to love?

It all began with a ruined elixir and an accidental bolt of lightning…

Iolanthe Seabourne is the greatest elemental mage of her generation—or so she’s being told. The one prophesied for years to be the savior of The Realm. It is her duty and destiny to face and defeat the Bane, the greatest mage tyrant the world has ever known. A suicide task for anyone let alone a sixteen-year-old girl with no training, facing a prophecy that foretells a fiery clash to the death.

Prince Titus of Elberon has sworn to protect Iolanthe at all costs but he’s also a powerful mage committed to obliterating the Bane to revenge the death of his family—even if he must sacrifice both Iolanthe and himself to achieve his goal.

But Titus makes the terrifying mistake of falling in love with the girl who should have been only a means to an end. Now, with the servants of the Bane closing in, he must choose between his mission and her life.

Out Sept 17

10 thoughts on “Books for September

    • Your updates have reminded me how much I enjoy the books – it’s funny that they’re somewhat under the radar (in the blogosphere, anyway!), maybe because the author isn’t very active online?

      It’s going to be a toss-up between this one and the new Toby Daye – can’t believe they’re being released on the same day! I’ve a sneaking suspicion I may go for Toby first however… 😉

      • The Lupi books really are under-the-radar! I have no idea why it’s not more well-known, I think it’s a good series. I don’t know if it’s a factor that Eileen Wilks isn’t very active online – some authors don’t have a strong online presence and yet they still have a good following.

        Ahh Toby Daye, I feel bad that I couldn’t really get into that one. So many blogging buddies love that series.

      • Yeah, I adore the Toby Daye books but I know they’re not universally loved 🙂 I’ve not been able to put my finger on why – apart from the fact Toby treads very close to the TSTL line in the first few books…

        I’m going to have to think about that online presence (or lack of) point a bit more – maybe we just don’t hang out in the right places!

  1. You have great books on your list. I’ve got all of them on my list, too, except for the Tamora Pierce book which was completely under my radar! I have a bunch more on my list, too, but I really need to limit what I buy or I will just be adding to my huge TBR list! 😉

    • Yay, another Tamora Pierce fan! Her Alanna quartet will probably always be my favourite, but I enjoy the Circle books too.

      Your list is way longer than mine – I love seeing the new releases everyone’s eyeing!

  2. I just received an ARC of The Burning Sky in the mail today! I can’t wait to read it. Also, between you and Chachic, I’m definitely giving the Lupi series a try.

  3. Seriously, the worst feeling is when you go to Costco in July and see Halloween costumes and when Christmas decorations start to pop up in September. Ugh LOL.

    I’ll wait for your take on The Burning Sky 🙂 I bet you already read Chimes at Midnight… HOw was it? 🙂

Leave a Reply

