Samantha Ann King’s WAITING FOR TY

I don’t really pay much attention to traditional publishers (I could not tell you whether an author was published by NAL or St Martin’s Press or Berkley, say), but when it comes to digital-first publishers?  I pay a lot more attention to the publisher – maybe because I use that as a (very) rough gauge as to quality.  Not so much quality of writing (that’s all down to the author, IMO), but of editing.  It may be all in my mind, but I have the impression that certain digital-first publishers are more consistent in terms of their output compared to others.

18053974So – that was a very long-winded (and slightly off-tangent) way to ease into saying that I’ve liked (and even loved) a lot of the Carina Press books I’ve read, so when offered the chance to read new-to-me author Samantha Ann King‘s m/m romance WAITING FOR TY, I read the hinting-at-so-much-more excerpt and accepted a review copy.

Let’s face it, I’m a sucker for a good friends-to-lovers story, especially if it’s all about suppressed feelings and denial.

Tyler Coil doesn’t do men. But it’s harder to remember that each time he visits his best friend, gorgeous Landon Burke. As a political reporter, Ty is good at reading people, and he can tell the lust is mutual. But giving in to it could mean alienating his ultra-conservative family.

Landon never desired a man badly enough to explore that side of his sexuality—until he met Ty. He’s waited four long years for a sign that Ty wants him too, and he can’t deny his needs much longer. So when a career opportunity arises out-of-state, Landon wonders if maybe it’s time to move on.

Then Ty crashes at Landon’s while working on a story—and a searing kiss ignites a night of mind-blowing sex that’s better than their most erotic fantasies. Forced to face his feelings, Ty must decide if love is worth the risk after all—before he loses Landon forever.

Unfortunately, WAITING FOR TY never quite got off the ground for me.  It started well, with Ty and Landon’s full-of-awkwardness reunion, but then turned into more of a tell-not-show kind of story.  The plot itself felt a bit bumpy, with several plotlines that had to be resolved within a relatively short word count.  We ended up whizzing through Ty and Landon’s and their respective coming outs to their families very quickly, and as a result, I felt a bit short-changed on the emotional connection front.  I’m wondering if I would have had more of an appreciation for Ty and Landon’s backstory had I read the first book in the series (Hilcia @ Impressions of a Reader thought that one worked better), but I did get the impression it was a fairly self-contained read.

So pleasant enough, but the promising setup didn’t quite live up to my expectations.

Review based on an ARC courtesy of the publisher 

Leave a Reply

