Books for February

Not a massive number of new releases on my list this month, which means I can ramble on a bit more?

*

17874997Suzanne Brockmann‘s DO OR DIE (romantic suspense): Pre-ebooks (yes, in those long ago days), the big decision when it came to new releases was whether I would (a) pre-order and get the online discount, but wait a bit longer to get my hands on them or (b) haunt my local bookstore on the off-chance they actually had them in on release date, and pay full price.

With Suzanne Brockmann’s Troubleshooter books, I usually went with option (b) – that was how much I loved them.  After the 16th (or so) book, she wrapped up that series (to be fair, it was probably about time) and ventured into a near-futuristic world, which was umm… a bust for me (to put it mildly), and I resigned myself to the fact that I was just not loving her books anymore.  And then she announced she was starting a Troubleshooters spin-off series – I guess I’m not the only one who didn’t love her new series?  So new protagonists etc but a (semi-)familiar world – I’m hoping this one has both the action-packed story, humour, and chemistry that her Troubleshooter books always brought to the table.

TL;DR version: I pre-ordered the ebook and am reading it right now.

Navy SEAL Ian Dunn went rogue in a big way when he turned his talents to a lawless life of jewel heists and con jobs. Or so the world has been led to believe. In reality, the former Special Ops warrior is still fighting for good, leading a small band of freelance covert operatives who take care of high-stakes business in highly unofficial ways. That makes Ian the hands-down choice when the U.S. government must breach a heavily guarded embassy and rescue a pair of children kidnapped by their own father, a sinister foreign national willing to turn his own kids into casualties. Shockingly, Ian passes on the mission… for reasons he will not–or cannot–reveal.

But saying no is not an option. Especially not to Phoebe Kruger, Ian’s bespectacled, beautiful, and unexpectedly brash new attorney. Determined to see the abducted children set free, she not only gets Ian on board but insists on riding shotgun on his Mission: Impossible-style operation, whether he likes it or not.

Though Phoebe has a valuable knack for getting out of tight spots, there’s no denying the intensely intimate feelings growing between Ian and Phoebe as the team gears up for combat. But these are feelings they both must fight to control as they face an array of cold-blooded adversaries, including a vindictive mob boss who’s got Ian at the top of his hit list and a wealthy psychopath who loves murder as much as money. As they dodge death squads and play lethal games of deception, Ian and Phoebe will do whatever it takes to save the innocent and vanquish the guilty.

Or die trying.

Out now

*

18143924Sharon Lee‘s CAROUSEL SUN (urban fantasy): Or small-town fantasy.  I mentioned this in my January new releases because Baen releases the ebook a month early, so although technically a February release, I’ve already read this.  I was looking forward to this follow-up to CAROUSEL TIDES – I had a couple of minor niggles around pacing and voice (which I mentioned in the comments to Laura’s GR review – and will get my own review up at some point…), but overall a decent read and I really like the unusual (for a UF) setting.

 A gripping contemporary fantasy thriller from master storyteller Sharon Lee, award-winning co-creator of the highly-popular Liaden Universe® saga.

When magic meets mundane, sparks fly: these are exciting times in Archers Beach, Maine! A unprecedented Early Season has united townies and carnies in an effort to expand into a twelve-month resort, recapturing the town’s former glory.

Kate Archer, owner-operator of the vintage wooden carousel, is caught up in the excitement—and is quite possibly the cause of it. Because Kate leads a double life, as carny, and as Guardian of the land. Her recent return to the home she had forsaken has changed the town’s luck—for the better—and energized the trenvay—earth and water spirits who are as much citizens of the Beach as their mundane counterparts.

But the town’s new energy isn’t the only change afoot. Joe Nemeier, the local drug lord, whose previous magical consultant was vanquished by Kate, has acquired a new ally—and this one plays with fire.

Out now

*

085286-fc222Diana Wynne Jones & Ursula JonesTHE ISLANDS OF CHALDEA (MG fantasy): I had to double-check the publication date on this as I think the US version is out later in April, but yes, the UK version looks to be pubbed end of February.  This is the book that Diana Wynne Jones was in the midst of writing when she passed away, and I believe her sister finished it.  So I’m not entirely sure it will be “proper” DWJ – but the plot sounds totally DWJ and I cannot wait to read it.

The brand new and final novel from the magical and whimsical pen of ‘the Godmother of Fantasy’, Diana Wynne Jones; co-authored with her sister Ursula Jones.

Aileen was supposed to grow up magical – just like the other women in her family. Unfortunately, she’s just found out that the magic seems to have skipped a generation… but that’s not her biggest problem right now.

In her world, there are four Islands of Chaldea. The largest and most magical island has been cut off from the other three for decades – and is slowly draining the magic from them.

But now a prophecy has come to light. Someone from Aileen’s island will gather a man from each of the three islands, bring down the magical barrier, and unite them with the fourth island again. And according to the king, that someone is Aileen’s Aunt – who insists on dragging Aileen along. AND the boy Aileen is sure she’ll marry (one day); AND the local boy with more brawn then brain. Someone seems to want to stop them too… someone with an interest in keeping the Islands apart. But still, with magic on their side, nothing can go wrong. Right?

Out Feb 27 (UK)

*

Other books I’m interested in:

Tell me about your February new releases list – any must-gets I’m missing?

11 thoughts on “Books for February

  1. All the books you have listed sound good–especially the Diana Wynne Jones, Deanna Raybourn, Anne Leonard and possibly the Suzanne Brockmann (haven’t read any of hers for a long time). I’ve bought both Carousel Sun and Black Dog. A good list, Li!

    • I am so on the fence about BLACK DOG! I was eyeing it when I was in the bookstore earlier today (but then again, I’d probably prefer the ebook version).

      I don’t think the more recent Brockmanns are as good as her older ones (and certainly not BORN TO DARKNESS…), but she’s one of the few romantic suspense authors I always check out.

  2. I forgot about the Diana Wynne Jones. I will want to get that at some point. I pre-ordered the new Charles de Lint and Cress by Marissa Meyer even though I haven’t read book 2 yet!

    • I’ve heard really good things about Marissa Meyer’s books. I’m not a massive fan of fairytale retellings so haven’t looked at them properly, but sounds as though I should…

      I’m not quite sure when the new DWJ is being released in Canada – not sure if you’ll be closer to the UK or US release date!

  3. That’s it, Li? LOL. Your list is much shorter than mine 🙂

    See, pre-ebooks time… they’d be a change that I’d pre-order the book to take advantage of the discount and if the book happened to arrive to the bookstore first, I might have bought it. Glad this is no longer an issue!

    I hope Do Or Die works for you.

    • I know, right – I’ve bookmarked your list for inspiration!

      Glad to know I wasn’t the only one with the online/bookstore dilemma – I like to think I never bought two copies, but I’ve a sneaking suspicion that I may have…

      DO OR DIE is a bit of a weird one – I flew through the first half or so, but suddenly lost interest and stalled, will continue reading but it’s feeling like a very looooong story at the moment.

    • Yes, she’s fond of the flashbacks device for the secondary storylines in this one, and they’re really not working for me here. Oh well. Am still reading, will probably finish by end of the week…

  4. Pingback: 2014 New Releases So Far… | Me and My Books

Leave a Reply

