Books for August

A belated new releases post (and WordPress has changed their posts interface – help!).  Not that many new releases this month that I want, for a change…

*

9627755Stephanie Perkin‘s ISLA AND THE HAPPILY EVER AFTER (YA romance): I fell in love with ANNA when it was released way back when, so am thrilled that we are finally getting the final companion novel in this loosely-related trilogy of books.

From the glittering streets of Manhattan to the moonlit rooftops of Paris, falling in love is easy for hopeless dreamer Isla and introspective artist Josh. But as they begin their senior year in France, Isla and Josh are quickly forced to confront the heartbreaking reality that happily-ever-afters aren’t always forever.

Their romantic journey is skillfully intertwined with those of beloved couples Anna and Étienne and Lola and Cricket, whose paths are destined to collide in a sweeping finale certain to please fans old and new.

Out Aug 14

*

18398797Kelley Armstrong‘s VISIONS (UF): Her Otherworld books were auto-buys for me; I’ve been more on the fence about her recent releases, but I did like the first book in this series, OMENS, when I read it last year.  

As #1 New York Times bestselling author Kelley Armstrong’s new Cainsville series continues, Olivia’s power to read omens leads to the discovery of a gruesome crime with troubling connections to her new hometown.

Omens, the first installment in Kelley Armstrong’s exciting new series, introduced Olivia Taylor-Jones, daughter of notorious serial killers, and Gabriel Walsh, the self-serving, morally ambiguous lawyer who became her unlikely ally. Together, they chased down a devious killer and partially cleared her parents of their horrifying crimes.

Their success, however, is short-lived. While Olivia takes refuge in the old, secluded town of Cainsville, Gabriel’s past mistakes have come to light, creating a rift between the pair just when she needs his help the most.

Olivia finds a dead woman in her car, dressed to look like her, but the body vanishes before anyone else sees it. Olivia’s convinced it’s another omen, a sign of impending danger. But then she learns that a troubled young woman went missing just days ago—the same woman Olivia found dead in her car. Someone has gone to great lengths to kill and leave this young woman as a warning. But why? And what role has her new home played in this disturbing murder?

Olivia’s effort to uncover the truth places her in the crosshairs of old and powerful forces, forces that have their own agenda, and closely guarded secrets they don’t want revealed.

Out Aug 19

19186417Lee Child‘s PERSONAL (suspense): The latest Jack Reacher is always on my to-read list, so no surprises here.  But I admit to liking the city-based Reacher stories more (yes, total city girl at heart!) and it looks like both Paris AND London make an appearance in this book.

Jack Reacher walks alone. Once a go-to hard man in the US military police, now he’s a drifter of no fixed abode. But the army tracks him down. Because someone has taken a long-range shot at the French president.

Only one man could have done it. And Reacher is the one man who can find him.

This new heartstopping, nailbiting book in Lee Child’s number-one bestselling series takes Reacher across the Atlantic to Paris – and then to London. The stakes have never been higher – because this time, it’s personal.

Out Aug 28

*

20945757Ann Aguirre‘s I WANT IT THAT WAY (NA romance): It’s been a while since I’ve read an Aguirre, and the last one I read was her Sirantha Jax SFR series (which, come to think of it, I never ended up finishing).  But I like her writing, and this first book in her new series caught my eye. 

Nadia Conrad has big dreams, and she’s determined to make them come true—for her parents’ sake as well as her own. But between maintaining her college scholarship and working at the local day care to support herself, she barely has time to think, let alone date. Then she moves into a new apartment and meets the taciturn yet irresistible guy in 1B….

Daniel Tyler has grown up too fast. Becoming a single dad at twenty turned his life upside down—and brought him heartache he can’t risk again. Now, as he raises his four-year-old son while balancing a full-time construction management job and night classes, a social life is out of the question. The last thing he wants is for four noisy students to move into the apartment upstairs. But one night, Nadia’s and Ty’s paths cross, and soon they can’t stay away from each other.

The timing is all wrong—but love happens when it happens. And you can’t know what you truly need until you stand to lose it.

Out Aug 26

12 thoughts on “Books for August

  1. Li, I pre-ordered Visions by Armstrong. I really liked Omens last year too and I’m hoping the series just takes off with the second book. I’m really anticipating this book for some reason — love the atmosphere. I have the other book she released Sea and Shadows and read about 27% of it then left the rest unread and need to get back to it, but for some reason I’m not in any hurry to do so.

    And Lee Child! I have some of his Reacher books in my shelves and love them, but have one in my TBR that I haven’t read yet and I haven’t purchased a new one in ages! I don’t know why though… I love Lee Child. 😦

    • Jack Reacher is addictive reading, isn’t he? I skipped the movie though, couldn’t quite picture Tom Cruise as Reacher.

      I liked the atmosphere she created in OMENS – also thought she left just enough threads dangling for the next! Not sure if this is a trilogy or not though, because if it is, this could be a middle-book…

      • I watched the Reacher movie because my husband wanted to, it’s based on One Shot (one of my favorite books of the series), and no Cruise doesn’t resemble Reacher at all. But, as an action film etc… it was well done. The screenwriter did a great job following the book, and keeping the character’s best qualities.

        I don’t know if Cainsville is a trilogy or a series either, but I’m not sure at this point if everything that was introduced in Omens can be addressed in a trilogy. I guess we have to wait and see what KA does with Visions first? I prefer trilogies to long series, so maybe she will tie things up nicely.

      • Oh, sounds as though the movie was better than I thought it would be (I admit to totally ignoring the reviews). Maybe one of the UK freeview channels will show it at some point.

        I don’t mind longer series if it feels as though the author has a clear plan, but not all do 😉 Cainsville felt like a trilogy to me, but what do I know…!

  2. I bought Omens in July so I’ll have to try it. Knowing you like it will move it further up my TBR list! I haven’t read a KA book for a long time…

    I haven’t read any Lee Child books, I don’t read much suspense anymore, but I’ll have to look into these books.

    • It was different to her Otherworld books, but still read like a Kelley Armstrong book, if that makes sense.

      I don’t read much suspense either – Lee Child’s Jack Reacher series is probably the rare exception. Not sure why – think I glommed his books one summer and became hooked.

  3. I’ve also pre-ordered Visions. I know what you mean by being on the fence with her other releases. I kind of feel the same way, but she’s an auto-buy author and got to support them 🙂

    I haven’t read Lee Child in like forever. Perhaps I should give this series a go.

    • I think you’ve read more of Kelley Armstrong’s YA books than I have? Don’t think I ever finished the first Otherworlds YA trilogy, and skipped all the rest.

      I think the Jack Reacher books has both hits and misses – some of the more recent ones weren’t fantastic, but I did like last year’s release, IIRC. Good summer holiday reads!

      • Yeah, I read both of her YA series because they were connected to the Women of the Otherworld series. Yep, me pouring through the books to find connections and mentions ^_^; I liked the first trilogy better than the 2nd one… but for now, if her Otherworld world doesn’t intersect, well you’re fine 🙂

  4. Pingback: Books recommended to me . . . - Notes from a ReaderholicNotes from a Readerholic

  5. Pingback: 2014 New Releases So Far… | Me and My Books

Leave a Reply

