Books for September

For whatever reason (stars aligning etc etc), there are a LOT of new releases in September that I want.  It’s going to be a good reading month…

*

22559338Sherwood Smith‘s RONDO ALLEGRO (historical romance): Sherwood Smith is better-known for her fantasy novels (CROWN DUEL is probably the gateway novel into her works), but I really liked her take on Regency romance in DANSE DE LA FOLIE, so I’m up for this.  I’m guessing this is a romance based on the blurb…

At the end of the eighteenth century, all of Europe is at war.

In Palermo, sixteen-year-old singer-in-training Anna Maria Ludovisi is married by her dying father to Captain Henry Duncannon, the Perennial Bachelor. Mere minutes after the wedding he sets sail.

The threat of French invasion causes Anna to flee to Paris. At the end of the Revolution, Napoleon Bonaparte is transforming France; Anna must transform herself into a professional singer in order to survive.

in 1805, Anna’s opera company is traveling through Spain when events bring the long-missing Captain Duncannon and his forgotten wife back together again, as the English, Spanish, and French fleets converge for battle off the Cape of Trafalgar.

For Henry Duncannon as well as Anna, everything changes: the demands of war, the obligation of family, the meaning of love, and the concept of home. Can they find a new life together?

Out Sept 9

*

22821635Patricia BriggsSHIFTING SHADOWS (urban fantasy): So not quite a new Mercy Thompson novel, more a collection of both old and new short stories (roughly half-and-half, I think, based on the info on her website).  I’ve read all the previously-released short stories, but I think there’s enough new content to persuade me to get this (though I may wait for a price drop).  Plus I’ve always liked the original Alpha & Omega novella.

Mercy Thompson’s world just got a whole lot bigger . . .

Including a number of original short stories, this stunning collection is set in the world of Mercy Thompson – mechanic, shapeshifter and fighter – and the characters she calls friends.

Out Sept 2

*

22392751Sarina Bowen‘s FALLING FROM THE SKY and Amy Jo Cousins‘ WHEN THE LIGHTS GO DOWN (contemporary romance):  Both of these are in the latest Harlequin E Contemporary Romance Box Set (together with two other stories), which makes it a no-brainer (the Harlequin E box set being a limited period e-bundle of four categories for a lower price).  If you’ve been reading my recent posts, you’ll know I’ve been really enjoying Sarina Bowen’s NA romance books, and while I haven’t mentioned it, I thought both these authors’ stories in the first Harlequin E box set had potential.

Four different men. Four unforgettable romances…

Falling from the Sky by Sarina Bowen

A brutal spinal cord injury robbed snowboarder Hank Lazarus of everything. But just as Hank gives up, Dr. Callie Anders shows him something that’s really worth fighting for….

Maid to Love by Rebecca M. Avery

Academic Courtney Wells has waited long enough and is going to have a baby on her own. But then she meets military-man-turned-maid Ian Hamilton….

When the Lights Go Down by Amy Jo Cousins

A new play could mean stage manager Maxie Tyler is finally Broadway-bound–as long as she can resist wickedly hot producer Nicholas Drake. Because getting involved with the “money” is a no-no…and this show must go on!

Start Me Up by Kristina Knight

When Hollywood hunk Chase MacIntyre proposes a faux relationship, disgraced L.A. matchmaker Nina Wright can’t refuse…until some serious sexiness makes “on paper” happen between the sheets!

Out Sept 1

*

15748529Seanan McGuire‘s THE WINTER LONG (urban fantasy): Under normal circumstances, I’d be counting down the days to this release.  However, through pure serendipity, I stumbled upon a copy at a bookstore, and yes, have already read it.  If you love Toby Daye (*raises hand*), you’ll like this one – I enjoyed revisiting Toby’s world, the usual suspects are all present and accounted for, and there are some rather interesting twists plot-wise, combined with a bit of emotional punch.  On the not-so-good side, there were bits that did feel repetitive (I know people who struggle with this series call this aspect out, and I could definitely see that in this book) and I kind of wanted more.

Short and straight-to-the-punch blurb:

 Toby thought she understood her own past; she thought she knew the score.

She was wrong.

It’s time to learn the truth.

Out Sept 2

*

18744715Juliet Marillier‘s THE CALLER (YA fantasy): While I had a couple of issues with the first book (still liked it, mind – just wasn’t up to the standards I set for a Marillier book), the second worked better for me, and I’m looking forward to the conclusion of this trilogy.

In the final book in this gripping, romantic fantasy trilogy perfect for fans of Robin McKinley, Kristin Cashore, and Shannon Hale, Neryn’s band of rebels reach their climactic confrontation with the king. The stunning conclusion to the story that began with Shadowfell and Raven Flight is full of romance, intrigue, magic, and adventure.

Just one year ago, Neryn had nothing but a canny skill she barely understood and a faint dream that the legendary rebel base of Shadowfell might be real. Now she is the rebels’ secret weapon, and their greatest hope for survival, in the fast-approaching ambush of King Keldec at Summerfort.

The fate of Alban itself is in her hands. But to be ready for the bloody battle that lies ahead, Neryn must first seek out two more fey Guardians to receive their tutelage. Meanwhile, her beloved, Flint, has been pushed to his breaking point as a spy in the king’s court—and is arousing suspicion in all the wrong quarters.

At stake lies freedom for the people of Alban, a life free from hiding for the Good Folk—and a chance for Flint and Neryn to finally be together.

Out Sept 9

*

22839846Nalini Singh‘s ROCK ADDICTION (contemporary romance): Nalini Singh’s surprise rock star book!  Are rock stars becoming one of those really specific romance subgenres, something like motorcycle clubs?  I’m wondering how her PNR writing will translate into contemporary, to be honest (I know she started off in category romance, but I haven’t read any of those books) – it could go either way.

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh stuns with a sizzling contemporary romance…

A bad boy wrapped in a sexy, muscled, grown-up package might be worth a little risk…

Molly Webster has always followed the rules. After an ugly scandal tore apart her childhood and made her the focus of the media’s harsh spotlight, she vowed to live an ordinary life. No fame. No impropriety. No pain. Then she meets Zachary Fox, a tattooed bad boy rocker with a voice like whiskey and sin, and a touch that could become an addiction.

A one-night stand with the hottest rock star on the planet, that’s all it was meant to be…

Fox promises scorching heat and dangerous pleasure, coaxing Molly to extend their one-night stand into a one-month fling. After that, he’ll be gone forever, his life never again intersecting with her own. Sex and sin and sensual indulgence, all with an expiration date. No ties, no regrets. Too late, Molly realizes it isn’t only her body that’s become addicted to Fox, but her heart…

Out Sept 9

*

20697444MONSTROUS AFFECTIONS, edited by Kelly Link and Gavin J Grant (YA fantasy): So I’ll be perfectly honest – I’m getting this purely for the Sarah Rees Brennan, because her contribution is set in the Turn of the Story universe (which she’s been serialising on her blog for free).  Or at least I think it is, so if it turns out to be a completely separate story, I’ll be horribly disappointed…

Fifteen top voices in speculative fiction explore the intersection of fear and love in a haunting, at times hilarious, darkly imaginative volume.

Predatory kraken that sing with – and for – their kin; band members and betrayed friends who happen to be demonic; harpies as likely to attract as to repel. Welcome to a world where humans live side-by-side with monsters, from vampires both nostalgic and bumbling, to an eight-legged alien who makes tea. Here you’ll find mercurial forms that burrow into warm fat, spectral boy toys, a Maori force of nature, a landform that claims lives, and an architect of hell on earth. Through these, and a few monsters that defy categorization, some of today’s top young-adult authors explore ambition and sacrifice, loneliness and rage, love requited and avenged, and the boundless potential for connection, even across extreme borders.

Out Sept 9

*

18309803Sarah Rees Brennan‘s UNMADE (YA urban fantasy): As we’re talking SRB, the final book in her Lynburn Legacy trilogy is out this month as well. I’ve liked the first two books (the first worked for me more than the second, however), so again I’m looking forward to reading the final book.

Fairly major spoilers for the first two books in the book blurb, so I’ll just link to the book’s Goodreads page.

Out Sept 23

*

20359719Sherry Thomas‘s THE PERILOUS SEA (YA fantasy): Moving on to a second book in a trilogy, Sherry Thomas is also releasing her follow-up to THE BURNING SKY, which I liked, but didn’t entirely love (you may have figured out by now that insta-love is really not my favourite thing in a book).  So potentially middle-book syndrome here, or possibly not…

After spending the summer away from each other, Titus and Iolanthe (still disguised as Archer Fairfax) are eager to return to Eton College to resume their training to fight the Bane. Although no longer bound to Titus by a blood oath, Iolanthe is more committed than ever to fulfilling her destiny—especially with the agents of Atlantis quickly closing in.

Soon after arriving at school, though, Titus makes a shocking discovery, one that makes him question everything he previously believed about their mission. Faced with this devastating realization, Iolanthe is forced to come to terms with her new role, while Titus must choose between following his mother’s prophecies—and forging a divergent path to an unknowable future.

Out Sept 16

*

BadBoys_Hunter_Final_medium-672x1024Kelly Hunter‘s SYMPATHY FOR THE DEVIL (contemporary romance): I like Kelly Hunter’s books so much that I actually added this to Goodreads so I could link it here (go easy on me if I’ve set up the page wrong please – I do this probably once in a blue moon).  More info plus prologue on Kelly Hunter’s blog – it’s related to her earlier book THE HONEYMOON TRAP (but setting up a GR series is beyond me, and I don’t think there’s an official series title anyway…).

Sympathy For The Devil is Caleb Jackson’s story. Dive master, charter boat operator, one third of Jackson’s boat building enterprises – you may have met him in The Honeymoon Trap. He played the good brother in that story, and he can be a good brother. He tries to be.

He just doesn’t always succeed.

Have you ever done something you shouldn’t have? Ever screwed someone over and vowed never to do it again?

Welcome to Caleb’s world.

Out Sept 23 (or thereabouts)

*

Well.  I did say it was a long list…

9 thoughts on “Books for September

  1. Li, Nalini Singh started out with Harlequin category romance, which you can still buy, by the way (mostly of the Sheikh romance variety) – so I don’t think she’ll have a problem with rock star contemporary romance ^^.

    • LOL – I’ve not read any of them though. I’ll have to keep an eye the next time there’s a sale on.

      What I really meant was that she has a tendency to write really alpha heroes, and that kind of works in PNR because you’ve to suspend disbelief anyway. I’m not sure how that translates into contemp, though I suppose the rock star romance is a kind of fantasy in itself.

  2. You have a good list of books, Li. Some of the same ones I have on my list! I already own, but haven’t read the first book in the Sarah Rees Brennan trilogy. I had forgotten about it so I’ve added it to my TBR list!

  3. From this grouping it is The Winter Long for me. I may give the Kelly Hunter a go since I also enjoy her books. I have this “block” and can’t seem to get myself to read Marrillier… don’t know why.

    • Oh, I took forever to read my first Marillier – I swear I had the (physical) book on my bookshelves for years. Once I picked it up, I think I devoured the entire Sevenwaters series.

      Look forward to reading your thoughts on the new Toby Daye 🙂

Leave a Reply

