Mini-Reviews, Anyone?

It’s been quite a while since I’ve last cross-posted my Goodreads reviews.  I stared at these ones for ages trying to figure out a theme, but none sprang to mind.  I should probably figure out how to curate these better.

Anyway – here’s a mix of historical mystery, YA SF, urban fantasy, m/m romance, and NA paranormal romance.

************

First up, two boxed sets of historical mysteries by Ashley Gardner a.k.a. Jennifer Ashley:

Captain Lacey Regency Mysteries Volume One (Captain Lacey Regency Mysteries, #1-3)Captain Lacey Regency Mysteries Volume One by Ashley Gardner (historical mystery)

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I feel as though I should love these books more than I did. Historical London + mystery whodunnits + a complicated nest of past relationships should be right up my alley… but the interpersonal side of things are not coming to life for me. I’m still not that invested in Lacey even when he’s playing for high stakes. But this is a decent boxset of historical mysteries (especially since I bought it on sale – around $1?), and I’ll continue with the series.

 

Captain Lacey Regency Mysteries Volume Two (Captain Lacey Regency Mysteries, #4-6)Captain Lacey Regency Mysteries Volume Two by Ashley Gardner (historical mystery)

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I feel as though these stories could be more, but they are fun whodunnits. The mysteries are satisfying, and the secondary characters grow more three-dimensional as the series progresses – I’ll definitely keep reading.

The best way to sum these up is probably that I wouldn’t be upset if I never ever read another Captain Lacey book, but they’re decent mysteries and I don’t regret buying/reading them.  They’re worth buying if you’re into historical-set mysteries, especially if you’ve a Kobo coupon or similar to use.

I think I’ve read a couple of the books written under her Jennifer Ashley pen-name ages ago, but don’t really remember much.

************

Steelheart (Reckoners, #1)Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson (YA SF)

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Trademark Brandon Sanderson writing, I thought – a really inventive magic system, combined with plot twists and lots of action. I didn’t care for the insta-love/lust/whatever, but I’ve never thought relationships were his strong point. I liked – while I wouldn’t run out to get the next book, I’m keeping this series on my to-read list.

Again, another author I enjoy reading but I don’t actively search out his books, though he obviously has a huge fan following. I think I bought this one when it was on sale.

************

IndexingIndexing by Seanan McGuire (urban fantasy)

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I thought this was a really fun read – loved the various twists on standard fairy tales. Probably could have done without the romance elements though. Also thought the two male secondary characters felt a bit more two-dimensional compared to Sloane, who was pretty amazing.

This was originally released as a Kindle serial in the US, but only as a single book in the UK.  She’s doing a follow-up next year, which I’d probably get at some point.  You could tell this was originally written as a serial (recapping at the start of each chapter, etc), but I thought the story flowed pretty well as a whole.

************

Inferno (Robert Langdon, #4)Inferno by Dan Brown (suspense)

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

This was painfully clunky – it felt as though the author was trying to cram in every single piece of related art history. The plot didn’t make sense at all, but the action scenes were relatively good in comparison. I should probably stop reading Dan Brown…

Uhhmmm.  In my defense, I read his books before The Da Vinci Code, and they were better.  Still predictable, yes, but there was plot. 

************

Slide (Roads, #1)Slide by Garrett Leigh (m/m romance)

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I thought there was too much “tell, not show” at the critical moments, and struggled to connect with the main characters. Considering the subject matter, I thought the romance was surprisingly quiet. In the end, the characters were just too much on the broken side for me, and I struggled to believe in a HEA, or even a HFN.

Rec’d by various reviewers, IIRC, but her writing didn’t work for me.

************

King Hall (Forever Evermore, #1)King Hall by Scarlett Dawn (NA paranormal romance)

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Mind candy, in a nutshell. But I did have fun reading it, eye-rolling scenes and all, and there is a good story buried inside once you make it past the first chapters. Everything is a bit too obvious, but there’s both friendship and romance, and the ending sets up the next book well.

 

King Cave (Forever Evermore, #2)King Cave by Scarlett Dawn (NA paranormal romance)

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I… am not convinced there was an actual plot here – it felt like everything, including the kitchen sink, was crammed into this one. Also can’t quite pinpoint exactly why, but it read slightly like fanfic – possibly because so many scenes felt like they were written specifically for wish-fulfilment? Having said that, I still want to read the conclusion to the trilogy – so, well.

The first one was a total impulse buy.  And it was kind of fun.  The second was a lot messier.  I try to stay away from saying a book needed editing, because I’ve no idea how many editing passes a book has had before it’s released, but it did feel like the author had free rein with the story in the second.  And I… still want to read the next book.  Help. 

2 thoughts on “Mini-Reviews, Anyone?

  1. I admit I consider Da Vinci code as one of my guilty pleasures. I LIKED that the cardinal and cop were were sure were corrupted were in fact trying to right a wrong. Something the movie completely screwed up. Oh, ya…spoiler alert. =)

    • Ha – I think the statute of limitations has expired on the Da Vinci Code spoilers 😉 I did prefer the book to the movie.

      The thing about his books is that he *always* uses the same twist…

Leave a Reply

