A Few Book-ish Links

Happy November!  It was a bit of an October, wasn’t it?

A few links to kick off the month:

20344635Martha Wells talks a bit about her Raksura fantasy books @ SF Signal.

I mentioned in passing that I recently raced through those Raksura books, right?  That would be the original trilogy, plus the first collection of two (new) novellas and short stories, which came out fairly recently.  I was hooked pretty much from the first chapter of THE CLOUD ROADS – loved how she created this completely alien world, which is so very accessible at the same time.  And humour!  I was not expecting that, but there were some one-liners which made me laugh.  Basically, if you’re in the mood for adventure fantasy, give this series a go.

************

I really enjoyed this Dear Author post about Betty Neels and her books.  I was one of those romance readers who grew up reading M&Bs, and Betty Neels, with her Dutch surgeon romances, was one of those reliable authors – you always knew what you were getting.  I’ve bookmarked that post for some Neels recommendations when I’m next in the right mood.

************

Two Reddit author AMAs: Robin McKinley and Ilona Andrews  & Jocelynn Drake.

I haven’t yet read the latter, as I was reading the new Ilona Andrews’s BURN FOR ME, and didn’t want to be spoiled.  I’ve now finished the book – thought it was a promising start to a new series, and I’m looking forward to the next.  Also liking the comments/discussion following Janine’s DA review, where I add my (horribly ungrammatical – I was in a rush, really!) take on the book.

************

Tor.com announced that they’re doing a re-read of Mercedes Lackey‘s Arrows of the Queen trilogy. *dies*  I can’t remember when I read this now, though I was very definitely an impressionable teen. I had a whole shelf of Lackey’s Valdemar books, and every single one of them was probably dog-eared and falling apart.  I loved those books… and still do.  White talking horses, anyone?

4 thoughts on “A Few Book-ish Links

  1. I KNOW I read the Arrows books in middle school, because I can vividly remember sobbing in the lunch line while reading the last one.

Leave a Reply

