Books for January

New year, new releases?  Kind of.  January tends to be a bit quiet in terms of new releases that catch my eye, and 2015 isn’t really an exception.  Here are the ones that I’m interested in:

*

22522026Julie Hyzy‘s ALL THE PRESIDENT’S MENUS (mystery): I’ve started to associate January with a new White House Chef cosy mystery from Julie Hyzy, and she’s not let me down. It’ll be eight books into the series this year, and I’m still finding Ollie’s adventures fun.

It’s an old adage that too many cooks spoil the broth. But when a tour of the White House kitchen by a group of foreign chefs ends in murder, it’s Olivia Paras who finds herself in the soup…

Due to a government sequester, entertaining at the White House has been severely curtailed. So executive chef Olivia Paras is delighted to hear that plans are still on to welcome a presidential candidate from the country of Saardisca—the first woman to run for office—and four of that nation’s top chefs.

But while leading the chefs on a kitchen tour, pastry chef Marcel passes out suddenly—and later claims he was drugged. When one of the visiting chefs collapses and dies, it’s clear someone has infiltrated the White House with ill intent. Could it be an anti-Saardiscan zealot? Is the candidate a target? Are the foreign chefs keeping more than their recipes a secret? Once again, Olivia must make sleuthing the special of the day…

Out Jan 6

*

23566506Courtney Milan‘s TRADE ME (contemporary romance): Courtney Milan does contemporary!  I’m very excited.  I’ve liked her historicals well enough, but I’ve never really clicked with them – there is something very clean and precise about her prose that makes me feel like a contemporary would suit her voice well?  We’ll see.

Tina Chen just wants a degree and a job, so her parents never have to worry about making rent again. She has no time for Blake Reynolds, the sexy billionaire who stands to inherit Cyclone Technology. But when he makes an off-hand comment about what it means to be poor, she loses her cool and tells him he couldn’t last a month living her life.

To her shock, Blake offers her a trade: She’ll get his income, his house, his car. In exchange, he’ll work her hours and send money home to her family. No expectations; no future obligations.

But before long, they’re trading not just lives, but secrets, kisses, and heated nights together. No expectations might break Tina’s heart…but Blake’s secrets could ruin her life.

Out Jan 20

*

And to finish off, a couple of novella/short stories which are being released for free this month:

  • KJ Charles“A Case of Spirits” is a short story set in her Charm of Magpies series (a blend of historical M/M romance/fantasy that really works), coming out Jan 6.
  • And Viv Daniels (a.k.a. Diana Peterfreund) has a series prequel coming out Jan 20 (“Island Escape”) – note I’m guessing it’s a short and a prequel purely based on the fact it’s in Goodreads as #0.5 in the Island series.  I don’t actually know very much about this series – it may be a serial release?  It will most probably be a NA romance.

Oh, I probably should mention Sharon Lee‘s CAROUSEL SEAS hits physical bookstores this month (Baen releases the ebook version a few weeks earlier, so I’ve finished this already).  A solid urban rural contemporary fantasy – I could have done without the incursions into the wider political machinations of the fae, but it was good conclusion to the trilogy.

So slim pickings for January new releases, but it just means I can work on my TBR pile, which somehow managed to grow exponentially over December.

Are you eyeing any more?

9 thoughts on “Books for January

    • It is fun – I love the White House bits especially! I got a bit frustrated with some of the characters midway through the series, but it’s one of the very few cosy mystery series I still read.

  1. Ugh, I just hate December to February period. It’s like dead time for new releases. At least, the ones I read!

    Do you think I could just pick the most recent White House Chef book?

    • Ditto – however, I always read your Breezing Through and Jan @ Notes of a Readerholic’s Jan releases posts as well, you both normally have mile-long lists!

      I think you’d be best off starting the series from the start as Ollie has been through quite a bit – they are probably standalone mysteries, but various relationships have evolved quite a bit over the course of the series.

  2. I’ve been meaning to read one of the White House Chef mysteries, I’ll have to see if I can get to it. And I had no idea Courtney Milan was writing a contemporary. I’ve really liked her historical and will have to see how I like her contemporary.

  3. Pingback: A Few Links for a Monday | Me and My Books

Leave a Reply

