A Random Collection of Links

257028_originalPure eye candy, but I couldn’t resist – Martha Wells posted the cover for her upcoming STORIES OF THE RAKSURA: VOLUME 2 (click through for larger version).  Love it!  I only got around to reading the main fantasy trilogy last year, but am kind of addicted to any and all Raksura stories now.

Rachel Aaron did two posts about the money in trad publishing and self-publishing.  Fascinating stuff if you’re interested in numbers.  Also fascinating is that she made around $42k in four months from her self-pubbed UF NICE DRAGONS FINISH LAST (which I liked very much).  She says in her post that self-publishing isn’t purely a money decision though – you’ve got to be the sort of person who thrives on the self-publishing minutiae (paraphrasing horribly, but that was one of the messages I took away).

Juliet Marillier answers a few questions on her latest fantasy release, DREAMER’S POOL, including a bit on the next book, TOWER OF THORNS.  I’m looking forward to its cover reveal, because I’m shallow.

And major spoilers – AND I MEAN MAJOR – but Sarah Rees Brennan has a thought-provoking post about fridging and feminism in her latest release UNMADE, the conclusion to her Lynburn Legacy trilogy.  (I’m REALLY not kidding about the spoilers – they’re in the first paragraph.)

 

7 thoughts on “A Random Collection of Links

    • Oh, interesting. I don’t think I actually placed DREAMER’S POOL in a particular region when reading it, but I wasn’t surprised she said Ireland because of her Sevenwaters books (which I loved).

  1. I love the Raksura covers and books and will have to read what Juliet Marillier has to say about her series. Does Rachel Aaron say when her next book is coming? I always like the news you dig up, Li!

    • Ha – I’m impressed you manage to maintain two blogs!

      GR says Nov 2015 for the second Heartstrikers book, but I seem to remember her saying early 2015? I know it was meant to be late last year, then something cropped up.

Leave a Reply

