A Collection of Links

I’m not quite sure how we’re in the last week of February – just where has the month gone?  I had a quick glance at my reading log for the month and it has a grand total of four books on it, with half of those (i.e. two) read this weekend (Brandon Sanderson‘s FIREFIGHT and KJ CharlesJACKDAW, if you’re curious).

It’s just been a really hectic month, so let’s wrap up February with links, shall we?

************

I always find Rachel Aaron/Bach‘s posts about the writing industry interesting – she compares the promotional benefits of Bookbub v. Amazon’s Kindle Big Deal in this one.  I subscribe to Bookbub and occasionally click through to purchase a cheap-ish book or get a free one, so I guess it works.  But I tend to see a lot of the Bookbub promos (or those that I’m interested in, anyway) also mentioned in daily deal posts/forums so I’m not convinced it reaches new audiences – then again, I’m probably not the average reader.

22162129I loved Kate Elliott‘s cover for her short story collection THE VERY BEST OF KATE ELLIOTT – so this sketch to final cover post @ A Dribble of Ink was a fun read.  Julie Dillon is an amazing artist, and her covers always make me take a second look.

Courtney Milan compares the research she does for her historicals v. her contemporaries.  Fascinating, and not something I’d have thought of before, but it does make a lot of sense.

An interview @ Time magazine with Rainbow Rowell, where she talks a bit about her upcoming novel CARRY ON (how many days is it until October again?).  I kind of think she’ll be spending the intervening months answering questions like this:

TIME: So what do you call a book like this?

Rainbow Rowell: I think it’s just straight-up fiction. Some people have said, “Oh, you’re writing fanfiction for your own book!” I don’t think it’s fanfiction, I think it’s more like canon! Because even though Simon Snow is fictional inside of Fangirl, I still had to make him up. He still feels like he’s my character.

And finally, a bit late, but this post at Smart Bitches, Trashy Books about their new Lady was fantastic – love the peek behind the scenes, and the amount of effort that went into making the image just right sounds incredible.

Leave a Reply

