New-to-me Authors and New Books

Most, if not all, of the books in my new releases posts tend to be by authors I’ve read previously – I’m boring that way.  But I’m always on the lookout for new-to-me authors, and obviously, the internet makes that too easy.

Here are three books by new-to-me authors that have caught my attention recently – any thoughts?

*

22668755Marshall Ryan Maresca‘s THE THORN OF DENTONHILL (fantasy): I saw this at the (unofficial?) DAW Books LJ – basically, magic university + secret identities = I have to read.  I’m easy like that.  The GR ratings are skewing high (4-ish at time of writing this post), but are mostly early reviews.

Veranix Calbert leads a double life. By day, he’s a struggling magic student at the University of Maradaine. At night, he spoils the drug trade of Willem Fenmere, crime boss of Dentonhill and murderer of Veranix’s father. He’s determined to shut Fenmere down.

With that goal in mind, Veranix disrupts the delivery of two magical artifacts meant for Fenmere’s clients, the mages of the Blue Hand Circle.  Using these power-filled objects in his fight, he quickly becomes a real thorn in Fenmere’s side.

So much so that soon not only Fenmere, but powerful mages, assassins, and street gangs all want a piece of “The Thorn.” And with professors and prefects on the verge of discovering his secrets, Veranix’s double life might just fall apart. Unless, of course, Fenmere puts an end to it first.

*

24504048Elle Kennedy‘s THE DEAL (NA romance): Okay, I’m cheating on this one – Elle Kennedy’s not exactly a new-to-me author, but I’ve not read any of her NAs before (has she written NAs before?).  I read one of her books a year or so ago, and have been meaning to explore more of her backlist, but never quite got around to it.  Jane and Kaetrin @ Dear Author really liked this one and it’ll probably be the next book I pick up when I’m in the mood for an NA romance.

She’s about to make a deal with the college bad boy…

Hannah Wells has finally found someone who turns her on. But while she might be confident in every other area of her life, she’s carting around a full set of baggage when it comes to sex and seduction. If she wants to get her crush’s attention, she’ll have to step out of her comfort zone and make him take notice…even if it means tutoring the annoying, childish, cocky captain of the hockey team in exchange for a pretend date.

…and it’s going to be oh so good.

All Garrett Graham has ever wanted is to play professional hockey after graduation, but his plummeting GPA is threatening everything he’s worked so hard for. If helping a sarcastic brunette make another guy jealous will help him secure his position on the team, he’s all for it. But when one unexpected kiss leads to the wildest sex of both their lives, it doesn’t take long for Garrett to realize that pretend isn’t going to cut it. Now he just has to convince Hannah that the man she wants looks a lot like him.

*

21996355Cori McCarthy‘s BREAKING SKY (YA SF): I spotted this one in tor.com’s March round-up of SF new releases – again, the blurb caught my attention because it sounds as though it could be good.  I haven’t had the best track record with YA SF, so we’ll see. GR reviews are mixed – again, early reviews as it’s a March release.

In this high-flying, adrenaline-fueled debut thriller, America’s best hope is the elite teen fighter pilots of the United Star Academy

Chase Harcourt, call sign “Nyx,” is one of only two pilots chosen to fly the experimental “Streaker” jets at the junior Air Force Academy in the year 2048. She’s tough and impulsive with lightning-fast reactions, but few know the pain and loneliness of her past or the dark secret about her father. All anyone cares about is that Chase aces the upcoming Streaker trials, proving the prototype jet can knock the enemy out of the sky.

But as the world tilts toward war, Chase cracks open a military secret. There’s a third Streaker jet, whose young hotshot pilot, Tristan, can match her on the ground and in the clouds. Chase doesn’t play well with others, but to save her country she may just have to put her life in the hands of the competition.

 

4 thoughts on “New-to-me Authors and New Books

  1. I liked The Deal, Li. I was suspicious going in, especially after the introduction to Garrett. But Chachic assured me I would get sucked in. And sucked in I got. It was a fun read.

  2. You need to share books that catch your attention more often, Li. I’m tempted by the first one, sounds fun 🙂 We’ll see.

    The Deal… I read it because everyone recommended it to me. And it wasn’t that it was bad or anything. But to me, it was a blend of The Hook Up by Kristen Callihan and The Ivy Years by Sarina Bowen. It’s very NA-ish that’s for sure. Most people who recommended it to me had read the other two books and still loved this one… so perhaps it’s just me.

    • Oh, do post if you read the first book. I saw it in the bookstore the other day, but didn’t buy it (yet!).

      So you think THE DEAL isn’t anything new, huh? The Kristen Callihan is the other NA I want to read – again because of positive reviews everywhere! I enjoyed the Sarina Bowen books – I thought they were slightly different to other NAs out there, and I liked that. Difficult for something to be really new/different in a popular genre and yet blow everyone away, I guess – if that makes sense!

Leave a Reply

