A Linkage Post…

…because it’s been a while since I’ve done one of this.

Maureen E @ By Singing Light did a lovely post titled “On Libraries”:

Here’s the thing about public libraries: they are so much messier and weirder and funnier than you think.

They are kids throwing up on the brand-new carpet; kids missing the toilet entirely; mysterious substances smeared on the covers of books, on the pages, on the inside of DVD cases. They are a full bag of poop tied shut and shoved into the book drop. They are left behind trash and bedbugs crawling out of books and used condoms in the bathroom trash.

161696202X.01._SCLZZZZZZZ_SL400_Tachyon Publications seem to be doing quite a few single-author short story collections, and now it’s the turn of Kelley Armstrongtable of contents @ SF Signal.  Two original stories, with the rest being reprints.  I suspect I have most of her existing short stories already, so I’ll have to figure out how much I want to read the two new ones…  Also, the cover’s not as striking as the Kate Elliott collection, but I suppose it does say UF.

Speaking of genre branding (well, kind of – I’m trying for a smooth transition here!), Kameron Hurley wrote an interesting post on the importance of book titles – her books are on my to-read list, but I’ve not managed to get around to them yet.

And to wrap up, I enjoyed Renay’s review of Sarah Rees Brennan‘s Lynburn Legacy trilogy @ Lady Business – it’s a great non-spoilery review if you haven’t yet read the books.  This summary list was pretty much the highlights of the books for me as well:

But I— liked it a lot? I was really entertained!

  • sassy teenagers
  • broody love interests! with different flavors of brood!
  • interesting parental relationships
  • badass team of ladies!
  • girls being friends!
  • kissing!
  • telepathy!
  • the complications of mind-reading powers!

I found this so delightful.

I liked the trilogy (it was full of SRB’s trademark humour, yet more epic in scope than her previous books), but think I’d have liked it better if I had been able to read all three books together.  Partly due to those dratted cliffhangers, but also it was very much a single story IMO – maybe that’s just the trilogy structure…

2 thoughts on “A Linkage Post…

Leave a Reply

