Some Scattered Thoughts (and Links)

ARed_Rose_ChainI’m feeling slightly brain-dead at the moment, so you get some rambling.

First, some cover squee – I don’t think I’ll ever not be excited about a new October Daye cover.  Chris McGrath always gives good cover. A RED-ROSE CHAIN is out in September, and I’m looking forward to it – I only hope Toby doesn’t end up half-dead again.

Speaking of covers, I feel that we’re living in a golden age when it comes to cover art.  Ginger @ GReads posted a Top Ten list the other day (books recently added to the TBR pile) and there’s not one bad cover in the whole lot.  Seriously.  When did covers get so good?

There’s been some conversation recently around the (romance) blogging community and if there’s still such a thing (I paraphrase horribly, but bear with me).  Hils @ Impressions of a Reader had a great related post about why she prefers small blogs.  I’ve had this blog now for around eight(!) years – every now and then I wonder if I should put more effort into blogging, and then realise I’m really way too lazy.  This blog is my personal outlet for book-ish stuff and treating it as anything more than a hobby is very likely to backfire on me.

But I digress.  Going back to the romance online community question, my view is that things always evolve.  Remember when everyone just hung out at message boards?  Then blogs started taking off – I could be mistaken, but I’m pretty sure some posters at message boards got upset when people started linking to blogs, because they saw blogs as a threat to their message board communities.  And now there’s Twitter and Goodreads and Tumblr and Facebook and Instagram and well, a hundred and one other places to interact online.  I think it makes sense that communities become a bit more disparate because there’s so many places to hang out, and different people are spending their time at different places (or even offline…).  I’ve had conversations that started on blogs and continued on Goodreads, and I see that played out a lot across different social media platforms.

I’m most active at Goodreads after this blog (err… please treat “active” in a relative sense) – GR gets a lot of bad press, but I like it a lot.  I can quickly skim through and see what people in my “friends” list are reading, it’s really easy for me to comment on people’s reviews or status updates, or like a post – all without having to spend much time.  You could argue that’s a downside and that interactions there don’t have as much depth as elsewhere – I think that’s fair comment, but bearing in mind time pressures, it’s a bonus for me.  And I’ve also had some really interesting conversations there, so it’s more about the who and not the where for me.

Don’t get me wrong – I still love blogs, especially the more personal ones.  I’d say that I feel a lot of blogs have a more impersonal feel to them nowadays – though I don’t know, which way do you think my blog leans?  I like to think it reflects my reading personality pretty accurately, but I tend to keep things here to book-related bits on purpose so I’m aware it may feel a bit one-dimensional.

And so… I’m not actually sure what my point is, or even if I had one.  But that’s the whole beauty of having a blog – I can post whatever I like 😉

2 thoughts on “Some Scattered Thoughts (and Links)

  1. The covers are so good now because they’ve realized that it sells!!

    I don’t think Chris McGrath has produced a bad cover so far as I know LOL. This one is indeed pretty good and i like the mood that it gives off. Toby being half-dead is a given. I wish it wasn’t though.

    I think your blog leans towards personal. we get a pretty good feel of who you are, even though you don’t flooded it with really personal stuff 🙂

    • Ha! I also think YA covers tend to be a bit more adventurous, design-wise. They’re less constrained by genre branding.

      Chris McGrath’s covers are really distinctive. This one has a bit more of a contemplative feel to it, IMO. But then there’s the blood…

      I have a definite preference for the more personal blogs, so it’s good to know you think I avoid the impersonal! It’s probably a YMMV thing – some blogs are purely a stream of promo material, and that’s what some people are after, but I agree with Hils that there’ll always be a space for personal reader blogs.

Leave a Reply

